Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good guide
I used this book on a recent holiday to Corvara. It is very well written and gives excellent information on a range of via feratta options whether you are new to it (like me) or more experienced. There are also some good photos and maps in the book. If you are looking for a guide book on this type of holiday then I thoroughly recommend this book.
Published on 28 Sep 2011 by Kindle Customer

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Good book spoilt
This is an excellent book unfortunately marred by some defective printing on some pages. The printing was smudged and the text unreadable.
Published on 2 Dec 2010 by Michael W. Axe


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good guide, 28 Sep 2011
This review is from: Via Ferratas of the Italian Dolomites: North, Central and East Dolomites v. 1 (Cicerone Guides) (Paperback)
I used this book on a recent holiday to Corvara. It is very well written and gives excellent information on a range of via feratta options whether you are new to it (like me) or more experienced. There are also some good photos and maps in the book. If you are looking for a guide book on this type of holiday then I thoroughly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, Well researched guides., 19 Nov 2011
This review is from: Via Ferratas of the Italian Dolomites: North, Central and East Dolomites v. 1 (Cicerone Guides) (Paperback)
I have done dozens of the ferratas described in this and its sister guide and consider them amongst the very best guides produced by Cicerone. The authors must have put in a tremendous amount of effort to produce such comprehensive guides. My only niggle is that the difficulty of some of the routes is often overstated, this has occasionally put me off, but VFs can be dangerous and the authors have to err on the side of caution.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Review from a novice, 19 Oct 2010
This review is from: Via Ferratas of the Italian Dolomites: North, Central and East Dolomites v. 1 (Cicerone Guides) (Paperback)
You can use the book and follow the via ferratas without any further maps (though they are always useful) as foot paths are very well marked in the area. Be wary, within a given grade there is quite a lot of variation. Read the descriptions carefully rather than just rely on the grading.

We went out of season and thus most of the cable cars weren't running, this limits the choices (if you are a novice like me and have to stick to the simpler ones).

Only managed to do 3 routes (poor weather) but the book was accurate on the ones I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars excellent guide, 15 Sep 2010
This review is from: Via Ferratas of the Italian Dolomites: North, Central and East Dolomites v. 1 (Cicerone Guides) (Paperback)
This is an informative and clearly written guide. The introduction tells you everything you need to know about preparing for a trip to the Dolomites. There is a useful section on the kit needed for safe via ferrata climbing and useful maps to show access and parking for all the routes. Above all, the grading system and route descriptions were accurate so it was easy to decide which routes were suitable for our mixed ability (and age) party. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Via Ferratas of the Italian Dolomites: North, Central and East Dolomites v. 1 (Cicerone Guides) (Paperback)
Did some routes in the Dolomites in the summer. Timings were spot on. Descriptions spot on.

I had originally planned to do some vias around Misurina. Bad weather pushed us away. I just took the guide, and was able to move to another location and do vias without any preparation. The guide is enough!

Cicerone quality!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant guide, 26 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Gives good clear descriptions of routes and gives you a clear expectation of what's to come. Timings are all sensible and the grading is solid: You can't really ask for more; with a map this book will get you there and back without any head scratching so you can get on and have fun in the mountains.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Book, 2 Aug 2013
Bought this prior to a trip to the Dolomites to plan some routes. I used it in conjuction with the relevent 1:25,000 Tobacco maps. The routes are well explained and easy to follow on the map. It has some good images and information about the history of the via ferrata routes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Your only choice, but a good one, 16 Aug 2011
This review is from: Via Ferratas of the Italian Dolomites: North, Central and East Dolomites v. 1 (Cicerone Guides) (Paperback)
The only English guide available that I could find. However it was extremely comprehensive. The descriptions are very accurate, and you won't get lost.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hedonist, 14 Sep 2010
By 
This review is from: Via Ferratas of the Italian Dolomites: North, Central and East Dolomites v. 1 (Cicerone Guides) (Paperback)
I bought the book after using it last summer while on a Via Ferrata holiday with Colletts Mountain Holidays.

I found it of great help on the 3 or 4 VF routes which I climbed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Good book spoilt, 2 Dec 2010
By 
This review is from: Via Ferratas of the Italian Dolomites: North, Central and East Dolomites v. 1 (Cicerone Guides) (Paperback)
This is an excellent book unfortunately marred by some defective printing on some pages. The printing was smudged and the text unreadable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews