Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply superb., 30 Oct 2013
By 
Mrs. M. P. Parsons "Lorien" (Ullswater, English Lake District) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 8000m: Climbing the World's Highest Mountains: All 14 Summits (Hardcover)
This is Alan's first book, but he is already a well-known contributor to climbing magazines and to many publications such as the Alpine Journal. He has developed a narrative style that is essentially accessible and easy to read, without being at all condescending or verbose. He has the knack of making us sweat with fear at the seeming certainty of a horrible death, and then cheer out loud at the incredible achievement of not only summiting, but most importantly descending safely, against all the odds.
He is totally underrated as a photographer and high-altitude film-maker, but he will now hopefully receive the acclaim he deserves, as the illustrations are superb. Many would be suited to a larger format to bring out all the details. (He does generally have poster-sized prints to sell at his live presentations.) I am stunned that he managed to take such photographs at an altitude where most climbers are desperately concentrating on just trying to breathe, and to put one foot in front of the other, without plummeting to their doom. Taking shots of himself often involved balancing the camera on a rock, downclimbing again, then re-ascending, painstakingly checking the shots each time, and repeating as necessary: an arduous task in often dangerous and difficult conditions. 'Gnarly'!
Paragraphs about specific subjects of interest, including such widely varied topics as 'Dealing with Death' and 'Roseberry Topping' are inserted between the chapters describing the ascents, and this design feature makes it, perhaps, a book to dip into rather than devour instantly from cover to cover - though actually it can be rather hard to put down. In a nutshell, a beautiful book by an amazing guy, don't know why he hasn't received a knighthood for his achievement, why has he not had more recognition: but as he says, he's most proud of being a Yorkshireman!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awesome, 10 Oct 2013
This review is from: 8000m: Climbing the World's Highest Mountains: All 14 Summits (Hardcover)
I received this book this morning which is a gift for my alpinist boyfriend. I want to say not only was it delivered earlier than expected and well boxed, it is also after browsing through a beautifully written book with stunning photography and I know he is going to be thrilled with it. Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful book!, 31 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 8000m: Climbing the World's Highest Mountains: All 14 Summits (Hardcover)
A superb book - awesome photographs and a personal story of Alan's experiences on each mountain. A book for all who love high places in the mountains. Alan describes how he overcame the challenges on each of the 14 8,000m peaks (and lived to tell the tale!). This large-format book is definitely not for the coffee table but one you will want to read again and again.

Very much recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bring the picnic hamper Archibald we're off to find a mountain., 17 July 2014
By 
Shelley Wood "shelleybirduk" (Blackpool) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: 8000m: Climbing the World's Highest Mountains: All 14 Summits (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I don't climb mountains. I'd like to but to be honest the thought of climbing the stairs is more than enough for me. I would love to climb mountains but living in coastal Britain they are a bit of an endangered species really. Instead I had the opportunity to see the top of the worlds highest mountains from the comfort of my own sofa with Alan's beautiful book.

The photographs in this book are simply stunning, the one on the cover that's not even one of the best. Gorgeous blues, whites and pinks are expertly captured to create beautiful images which draw you in. Often I found myself not concentrating on the text as my eyes were continuously drawn to the photograph again and again. When I did manage to tear my eyes away the text was as engrossing as the pictures.

The book charts Alan's quest to become the first British climber to climb the 14 highest summits in the world in possibly the worlds most impressive Peak bagging escapade. As a non climber it was great to be able to read the book without having to stop and Google technical jargon every few sentences. The book is designed as a coffee table type publication but the excellence of his writing and the subject matter make it a book you want to read from cover to cover. This led to an unfortunate incident whilst attempting to read in bed which led to a black eye and concerned friends asking me if everything is ok "at home"...

The book now graces our coffee table and never fails to merit being picked up and read by any visitors we have. I can only surmise that this book would be an absolute must read for those interested in climbing and an eye opening journey into a world most of us will never have the privilege to see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 10 Feb 2014
By 
Big Jim "Big Jim" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 8000m: Climbing the World's Highest Mountains: All 14 Summits (Hardcover)
I can only add to the consistent praise for this book, it is a superb read as well as containing some of the best, and best presented, mountain photography I've ever seen. What I particularly like about the prose is that it isn't full of jargon but takes time out to explain some of the technicalities of high altitude climbing which I suppose is fitting in a book such as this, which is surely aimed at an audience consisting of more than the mountaineering cogniscenti. If anything the excellence of the prose is a drawback in a strange way as it is so well written and quite frankly rivetting that it is a bit clumsy trying to read it in such a large format book. You are hardly going to take this with you on your daily commute after all yet unlike most "coffee table" books the story is as important as the amazing pictures so i would only wonder if the are any plans to release a perhaps expanded text only edition. I for one would buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magnificent!!!, 26 Jan 2014
By 
Peter Munn (Chambery, France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 8000m: Climbing the World's Highest Mountains: All 14 Summits (Hardcover)
What a tremendous book with fantastic large size photos from the highest mountains in the world. He tells the story of each climb in down to earth terms. He has great climbing skill, enormous stamina and will power and a lot of luck!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Climb Every Mountain, 1 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 8000m: Climbing the World's Highest Mountains: All 14 Summits (Hardcover)
Recommend it to all hill/fell walkers as inspiration. Heard him as speaker at Wainwright society lecture 2012. Superb photography. Well worth the read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Alan Hinkes 8000 Metres, 14 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 8000m: Climbing the World's Highest Mountains: All 14 Summits (Hardcover)
I have read the preliminaries and the first Himalayan chapter on Shisha Pangma and am enthralled. The seriousness of what Mr Hinkes has achieved is punctuated with a genuineness and outstanding understanding of the high Himalaya. Having met Mr Hinkes when he gave a talk in Scotland after he had summited Kangchenjunga a few years ago I am very much looking forward to reading the rest of his recollections on all the 8000m mountains.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, 31 Oct 2013
This review is from: 8000m: Climbing the World's Highest Mountains: All 14 Summits (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I am a lover of climbing books and over the years I have have read of many them books and so was very pleased when I was able to get this one. Opening the box up the immediate reaction is that this is a stunning book. One of only a handful of climbers to reach the top of all the 8000 metre peaks Alan Hinkes is one of the foremost British climbers. A number of the ascents here are solo and some are first on new routes. It is a great introduction to the 8000 metre collection a number of which I really knew little about before reading this. In addition to the stories of the climbs there are one page "articles" on individual climbers and climbing related subjects. This is a coffee table book rather than a real climbing story so that may affect some peoples decision on whether to buy this stunning book - Hinkes is a highly accomplished photographer as well as a climber. The number of pages in the book mean that not much space can be dedicated to any one summit attempt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 19 Jun 2014
By 
Sean Murphy (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 8000m: Climbing the World's Highest Mountains: All 14 Summits (Hardcover)
The descriptions by Alan Hinkes are informative and the photographs are stunning. A great buy for anyone interested in mountaineering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

8000m: Climbing the World's Highest Mountains: All 14 Summits
17.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews