Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars8
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
1
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£13.46+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 December 2011
first things first, this is not a guide to the set walks of the lakes. this is an excellent book for planning 'your' route. the background to the fell names and varied paths add meaning, history and a sense of belonging to your walk.
I bought this book in January and have used it to plot various routes across the fells. The diagrams are accurate and well drawn and easily transferable to O.S. maps
I recommend these books for those wanting to 'know' the fells rather than just 'do' them.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2014
Great series of books of mountains etc to walk in the Lake District. Good text and 3D diagrams (like Wainwright), but with the added bonus of OS map extracts, photographs and lots of colour.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2013
Being a very long time Wainwright enthusiast I purchased these books confident that nothing could ever approach the excellence of that series. How happily wrong I was. The books are absolute gems from someone who knows his Lake District and is able to lead you through it in knowledgeable style. Each peak is clearly mapped and the several ascents confidently defined. What impressed me most of all was the clarity of the photographs. No mist clad slopes, no pre dawn shadows, no artistic evening haze but beautiful images of what is there to see and recognise. I love these beautiful books. Buy them all.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2009
If you like the fells and get enjoyment out of browsing through Wainwrights, walking mags.and maps, then you should like these 'Lakeland Fellranger' guide books by Mark Richards.Reviewers of his 'Central Fells' book I feel have been overcritcal. This book gives superb panoramic views of the individual walks, which I think in a guide book of this nature would be a good reason to purchase. All the information is there if you look,it is well set out and informative.At the beginning of each chapter the author supplies you with height and distance of each walk, which should give you some idea as to how long it will take.He does not suggest how long it may take, as we do not all go at the same pace, so correctly as far as I am concerned, he leaves this to your own judgement.If it has a slight fault, it is that the author describes the routes too offhand, as if he is rushing through the directions that you begin to feel lost before you have started.I would say that if you are going to do a walk using one of these books you definately need an OS map in front of you.
Overall I like the 'Lakeland Fellranger' series and believe me they are worth it just for the photographs!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2013
Mark Richards books are a must for anyone who loves walking the fells. Great maps and directions along with great photos.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2013
The diagrams in this guide are very clear and easy to follow. I now have bought five of these guide books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2012
For exploring the lakes in more detail rather than a 'nice day out walking' this book is excellent. These Fellranger guides gives some of the best information, both written and pictorially, on the many variations on achieving whichever peak you wish to tackle. Of course an OS map and compass are an invaluable the addition to this, especially when the weather decides to play games ! Happy scrambling !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2011
This man cannot spell! He badly, badly needs the services of a proof-reader! He's taking the pass, as he would write it!
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)