Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Prime Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars29
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

This is a well written and illustrated selective guide to walking in the English Lake District. It is well produced, with good quality of photographs and printing. The accurate maps from Harvey's are a significant strength-it's good to get the route description and the detailed map side by side. The route profiles are also helpful. The guide is a modern one taking advantage of the potential from modern digital maps.

I have been walking the fells for about the last thirty years. I have enjoyed using earlier guide books such as Poucher, Wainwright and Bob Allen. Also the FRCC's guide.

It's great to be able to welcome a new guide, that is well written, with a sensible selection of walks, and which adds to what has gone before by taking full advantage of modern production methods.

The Fells remain...and this book will get you wanting to get out amongst them.

I would recommend it as a good introduction for newcomers to Lakeland walking, and as a worthwhile addition to the library of experienced walkers.
11 comment|30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2009
Not a book to take on the fells, as its quite large (and frankly too good to risk getting damaged) but very useful for planning a serious days walking in the Lakes from the comfort of your armchair. Whilst most of the walks and all of the fells are obviously covered in other books, clear instructions, good maps and excellent photographs still makes this worth buying as it is a very pleasant (and addictive) read.
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2011
I've been a fan of Mark Richards for a long while now, starting with his High Peak Walks, he inspired me to go off path. This new publication offers tantalising day expeditions in the lakes and is perfect for beginners and old lags who need reinvigoration to explore. I've used the walks a few times now and have customised some. Mark also covers less visited areas of the National Park, which many guides avoid. And when you're back home, it has some great photography so you can relive your experiences.
Mark Richards is a devoted supporter of maintaining the beauty of the Park and broadcasts regularly on Radio Cumbria.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2009
I recently bought this book in preparation for a summer of trips to the Lake District for walking. The content LOOKS great and should provide an excellent basis for walks. I look forward to trying it in anger. Be aware that these walks are challenging and are graded "energetic", "strenuous" and "arduous"! If you are up for it then I would say buy the book. I'm off to try Sike Pike next weekend.

I always find that Cicerone books are excellent. They are very readable in addition to their practicality.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2013
I originally borrowed this book from the library and used it so much that I had to buy a copy. Each walk is detailed on how to start etc but comes too with little snippets of information in relation to the walks. I haven't gone wrong on any of the walks (as yet), the instructions are clear. My only critiscism is that the book is not smaller. Rather bulky to carry in back pack and would suggest you photocopy the walk sheets. A good buy though...great pictures too.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2011
An excellent and informative book, packed with maps, well written commentary and pictures which make you want to put your walking boots on then and there!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2012
Once more I find a Cicerone guide that manages to be heavy in weight but light on detail. There's an obvious reason in this case. It is the fault of the author's clunky and cumbersome writing style. Here you will find a "variably apparent path" and a fell summit described as "a loose affiliation surmounted with a more concerted cairn". You are invited "to regain the wooded environs..." after passing "the tumultuous permanently shady hydro-sanctuary" Read that again. Does it mean anything?

The author is excessively fond of explaining placenames but these interpretations often appear speculative and some are so far-fetched, you wonder if the author put them in for a bet, or to see if anyone is still awake. Ravenfold Crag - the elevated peak where the black-clad bird of prey gloats over his sacrificial carrion besides the enclosure for gathering sheep - is my invention in the style of the author.

He never misses the chance to point out a tautological toponym, although most adults realise that these are fairly common in England and therefore not especially noteworthy. His zeal does not however, prevent a reference to "Gatesgarthdale valley", which is, since dale means valley, of course, a tautology. Equally schoolboy-ish are his cack-handed forays into alliterative prose - on Scafell Pike, it seems, "resident ravens take their pick of residual refreshment". Elsewhere, watch out for "mischievous mist" and classically, Roman remains are alluded to as a "Celt-calming communication network". Did roads really have a calming effect on the Celts, or was it only the amateurish author's awful addiction to assonance?

"Climb the ensuing paddock to a gate and stile beside the open Thirlmere supplementary water channel, which appears to slip beneath a giant roche moutonnée - a French term describing ice-sculpted rock." Tortuous prose like this typically verbose comment seem much harder to negotiate and surmount than any Lakeland fell or rock-face. Or how about "As the ridge steepens, a grooved path works down the outcropped nose, with pitching in its latter stages serving the inevitable increased attention from visitors provided by the hause-top car park."?

Trying to be positive, the photographs are excellent and the suggested walks are an interesting and varied introduction to the different regions and landscapes of the Lake District but to summarise this book, I can only quote the author and say "excitement... must be tempered by the severity of the fall and attention given to its nuances." whatever that means!
33 comments|31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2010
I saw this book in a B&B in Ambleside. It includes loads of great walks in the Lakes, both challenging and easier walks. Good maps and route details.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2010
This book is has great walks usually up famous hills / mountains but shows different routes of getting up there. Of the 4 walks I completed I found the timings were exagerated. The book itself is quite big so its not the type to put in your pocket - I tore out the pages and restuck them in later. I recommend that the route is transferred to a large scale OS map before setting out as I found the instructions were general and not step by step. I gave the book 5 stars as I am an experienced walker and the routes were great the poor timings and lack of instructions were not material to me
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2015
The book is great! I bought it for my husband and he was really pleased with it. Another addition to his collection of walking books.
There are loads of walks that you don't really find in many other books. Instructions are simply and easy to follow and with alternative routes for novice walkers.
The delivery was on time. Excellent over all!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)