Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good guide to effective skills for the outdoors
Before giving this book a five-star rating, I tried to find fault with it. I could not. It is just what I need.

Clearly and precisely, with plenty of illustrations from Ordnance Survey maps, the book teaches the skills of navigating with a map and compass, including more advanced techniques such as aiming off and using back bearings, and then shows how a GPS...
Published on 1 May 2009 by D. Watson

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cicerone GPS minigude
Bought this at the same time as the Landranger GPS guide, and although it is adequate (& cheap) it is really not a patch on the Landranger manual. OK as a supplement, but for a complete beginner like myself it would not have been sufficient on its own to give me a good basis for learning how to use my new Etrex properly.
Published on 12 Feb 2012 by johnevs


Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good guide to effective skills for the outdoors, 1 May 2009
By 
D. Watson (Devon, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Navigating with a GPS: Getting the Best from Your GPS (Cicerone Mini-guides) (Paperback)
Before giving this book a five-star rating, I tried to find fault with it. I could not. It is just what I need.

Clearly and precisely, with plenty of illustrations from Ordnance Survey maps, the book teaches the skills of navigating with a map and compass, including more advanced techniques such as aiming off and using back bearings, and then shows how a GPS can be used to make navigation more effective, whether or not you have a mapping receiver. If you do have one, a chapter on mapping software shows how your GPS can communicate with your computer. Finally, it teaches you how to get out of trouble -- even if your batteries go flat or the Americans switch the satellites off.

The book is small and light enough to fit into a rucksack and has a plastic cover which should help to protect it from the elements. It also comes with a bonus: a transparent plastic "navigation aid" on which is a compass rose, a couple of romer scales, and a list of things to do if your GPS fails .

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cicerone GPS minigude, 12 Feb 2012
This review is from: Navigating with a GPS: Getting the Best from Your GPS (Cicerone Mini-guides) (Paperback)
Bought this at the same time as the Landranger GPS guide, and although it is adequate (& cheap) it is really not a patch on the Landranger manual. OK as a supplement, but for a complete beginner like myself it would not have been sufficient on its own to give me a good basis for learning how to use my new Etrex properly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An interesting read, 6 July 2010
By 
Ted (Hertfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Navigating with a GPS: Getting the Best from Your GPS (Cicerone Mini-guides) (Paperback)
I bought this book as a companion to a Garmin Etrex H that I had just bought. It covers the essentials and also gives you the basics of compass navigation, which I found very intesting. It brought back memories of map reading lessons in O Level Geography!

The book is quite small in size, about 16x10cm, which was a bit of a let down for me. Although it will fit in a rucksack without any problems I would not give much for trying to read it by the light of a torch on a windswept hillside, especially with ageing eyes... The moral is read it and understand it - before you need it.

Ted
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great introduction, 28 Mar 2010
By 
J. W. Rose (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Navigating with a GPS: Getting the Best from Your GPS (Cicerone Mini-guides) (Paperback)
This is a great introduction for anyone (like me) who is unfamiliar with using a gps device. It also gives useful tips on map reading and navigational skills. It is very basic and very clear. It was just what I neeed to get me going with my gps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 July 2014
By 
Dr. N. WOODRUFF (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Navigating with a GPS: Getting the Best from Your GPS (Cicerone Mini-guides) (Paperback)
Very easy to use and instructive
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars informative, 6 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Navigating with a GPS: Getting the Best from Your GPS (Cicerone Mini-guides) (Paperback)
nice and easy to understand its a shame the device I brought was not [GARMIN DAKOTA 10 } thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars helpfull item, 16 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Navigating with a GPS: Getting the Best from Your GPS (Cicerone Mini-guides) (Paperback)
helpful item depending on how much you know already small price to pay for utilizing your gps device to the full
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 24 July 2014
By 
M. Mc Grath "McG." (Ireland.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Navigating with a GPS: Getting the Best from Your GPS (Cicerone Mini-guides) (Paperback)
Excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Navigating with a GPS: Getting the Best from Your GPS (Cicerone Mini-guides)
6.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews