Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Setting the record straight
After P G Harris's review in 2007 I have been waiting for further reviews in the hope of a better press so that it didn't look as though what I will say was just sour grapes - then out of the blue two 5 star reviews come virtually together (is there some phrase about buses or policemen here?)
I do take issue with some of the statements made by P.G. Harris. I concede...
Published on 18 Aug 2011 by bikechap

versus
17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Llyn deserves a better guide
I have just finished walking the Llyn and it is a fabulous path which deserves an excellent guide. Unfortunately this book is not it. Now you should never rely on a guide when walking and should always have a map and compass/GPS. However, on other long distance paths I have found it possible to use a well written guide without using anything else. If you try to rely on...
Published on 2 Jun 2007 by P. G. Harris


Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Llyn deserves a better guide, 2 Jun 2007
By 
P. G. Harris - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Lleyn Peninsula Coastal Path: A Walking and Cycle Touring Guide (Paperback)
I have just finished walking the Llyn and it is a fabulous path which deserves an excellent guide. Unfortunately this book is not it. Now you should never rely on a guide when walking and should always have a map and compass/GPS. However, on other long distance paths I have found it possible to use a well written guide without using anything else. If you try to rely on this guide alone on the Llyn, you will get lost. The layout is poor, by trying to combine a long distance path, a cycle guide and day walks, the guide becomes confusing; maps and the descriptions to which they relate are several pages apart; some of the descriptions are incredibly detailed when they don't need to be, and then when detailed instructions are required its a case of "head out across the mountainside for 6 miles". Finally, it is in severe need of an update, for example there are plenty of stiles which have been built since the last revision. So, its OK if you have a map as well, but the Llyn deserves a much better guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointingly out of date, 20 April 2012
By 
S. Bristow - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lleyn Peninsula Coastal Path: A Walking and Cycle Touring Guide (Paperback)
The Lleyn Peninsula Coastal Path: A Walking and Cycle Touring Guide I have recently purchased this Guide. Initially it appeared to be just what I wanted and the information looks interesting. However I then went to the Gwynedd Council website looking for maps of the route which could be printed. There I discovered that in 2011 the route was changed. Although I have yet to walk the route it seems the alterations are quite extensive and mean that much of the route description in the guide book is out of date. It is very disappointing to find that this book is still on sale a year after the route has changed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Setting the record straight, 18 Aug 2011
This review is from: The Lleyn Peninsula Coastal Path: A Walking and Cycle Touring Guide (Paperback)
After P G Harris's review in 2007 I have been waiting for further reviews in the hope of a better press so that it didn't look as though what I will say was just sour grapes - then out of the blue two 5 star reviews come virtually together (is there some phrase about buses or policemen here?)
I do take issue with some of the statements made by P.G. Harris. I concede it is difficult to combine a long distance path description with day walks, but as I say in the introduction not everyone has the time or energy to to a long walk in one go. Each chapter takes the long distance walk about 10 to 12 miles. At the end of each chapter there are 2 or 3 day walks, and the cycle route, so if you are doing the long distance walk you just skip to the next chapter - not too difficult really!! Also on each double page there is a page heading which states whether the page is dealing with the main walk, the cycle route or a day walk.

The directions are four fold:- 1) The whole route is shown on 1:50,000 OS maps within the text.... 2) At places of particular difficulty (farmyards, old quarries etc) there are large scale sketch maps.....3) There are many photographs overlaid digitally with the line of the route.... 4)There is the description in the narrative and the fonts and margin spacing are different depending on whether the text is dealing with the route description or the many historical facts and legends described. I agree that not all photos or sketch maps are on the same page as the narrative but in all cases the narrative states which picture/map it is referring to.

However I do take great exception to Mr Harris' comment re "head out across the mountainside for six miles" particularly as it is in inverted commas making it look like an actual comment direct from the book. There is no such instruction. I do note at one point (in a passing comment not the main narrative) that navigation for some distance could be restricted to keeping the sea about 50 yards to the right - but this is such an obvious tongue in cheek comment I cannot believe anyone really thinks it is the basis of a guide book, particularly as I then go on to describe landmarks, stiles and so on as the walk progresses.

I accept the comments concerning new stiles changes to buildings etc. Such changes are the bane of any writer of guides, but the book is updated - the 2nd edition was 2006 and there was a reprint with updates in 2010, so both the publisher and I do try to keep things reasonably up to date.

My final concern about Mr Harris review is the complete lack of any comments about the history described within the book. There are lots of stories about the towns and villages that the route passes as well as legends about Bardsey and its pilgrims and other Welsh legends including some about King Arthur who is reputed to have spent time in the area. Thankfully the two more recent reviews do mention this major aspect of the book.

If you walk the path and have problems, or, better still, if you enjoy it you can always contact Cicerone Press who forward any comments to me and you can be assured (as several previous correspondents have discovered) of a personal response from me.

John Cantrell - Author
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brief review, 8 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lleyn Peninsula Coastal Path: A Walking and Cycle Touring Guide (Paperback)
If you want to walk this route, you will need a guide, I've tried without it and failed. It hardly surprising that not everyone along parts of the route wants walkers and cyclists ad nauseum which might explain why the route on the fround is not always apparant.
However, this pocket sized book is really all you need, it was cheap and does its job very well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars very confusing, 12 Jun 2013
By 
J. Barnett "JeanyB" (Cumbria, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lleyn Peninsula Coastal Path: A Walking and Cycle Touring Guide (Paperback)
Finished this walk with 5 other ladies, the lay out is very confusing, I often didn’t know which section/page we are on, I have walked Dales way and West Highland Way previously with help of good guide book and occasionally map, I decided to ditch the book just use map from day 2. Never knew this part of coastal so beautiful, hope a better easy follow guide book can help more people to enjoy the walk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Handy Reference, 5 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As someone who has just moved to Wales this year this book will be an ideal companion as I start to explore the coastline of Wales. I hope over the next few years to cover all 876 miles of the Welsh coastline
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A little gem, 3 Feb 2012
By 
Mr. M. Ozanne "Artymac" (N.Wales UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Lleyn Peninsula Coastal Path: A Walking and Cycle Touring Guide (Paperback)
A little gem of a book. The descriptive text and illustrations enhance the walker's experience of this wonderful, remote coastline of Wales.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Little Gem, 27 Jun 2011
This review is from: The Lleyn Peninsula Coastal Path: A Walking and Cycle Touring Guide (Paperback)
This is a little gem of a guide book, well written and produced.
There is no need for another guide if you're planning to do the Lleyn Coastal Path, it has some great local "knowledge" titbits and in reality there is no need to carry OS maps as the route is well described cartographicaly, carrying the OS maps to the area would only be an added advantage on the walk as with any other guide book to LDP's in the UK.
John has detailed plenty of information into this little book and I highly recommend it has a place in your rucksack if you intend to head to the LLeyn
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best Llyn Peninsula guide., 27 Jun 2011
This review is from: The Lleyn Peninsula Coastal Path: A Walking and Cycle Touring Guide (Paperback)
This is a really good walking guide! What sets it apart is the depth of local knowledge and folklore contained in it. This additional information really makes you want to go and visit the Llyn Peninsula and sample all what the area has to offer. Great stuff!
The Lleyn Peninsula Coastal Path: A Walking and Cycle Touring Guide
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Lleyn Peninsula Coastal Path: A Walking and Cycle Touring Guide
9.06
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews