Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Guide to the GR20, 15 July 2010
This review is from: GR20: Corsica: The High Level Route (Cicerone Guides) (Paperback)
I took this guide with me to Corsica in July 2009. You can't go wrong with Paddy Dillon and his trail descriptions. It was indispensable on those long days. The most important landmarks were noted and his recommendations never steered us wrong. I cannot recommend it more highly--a great guide for a great trail!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars tired and happy, 27 Sep 2011
This review is from: GR20: Corsica: The High Level Route (Cicerone Guides) (Paperback)
Excellent guide for walking the route, selected to accompany me from the three I had bought. I did tear out the pages I didn't need before I set out, to reduce the weight, but kept the low level options in case of bad weather. No other maps needed with this book and excellent advice on preparing for the walk. Needs updating again with regard to costs and the improvement in hotels and some other facilities (Sept 2011) although most refuges are still "spartan".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars nice book gives me a good insight to walking in ..., 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: GR20: Corsica: The High Level Route (Cicerone Guides) (Paperback)
nice book gives me a good insight to walking in corsica and the (toughest walk in europe....)
have used other books by the same publishers and they are really good ( the gr10 trail ),,,but l wont know untill l get there .but it will give me the confedence to go and do the walk ...and chalenge myself ...happy camping...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars As expected, 15 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Paddy Dillon is clear and detailed in his writing, If you are even thinking of doing the GR20 start here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The GR20 Bible, 18 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: GR20: Corsica: The High Level Route (Cicerone Guides) (Paperback)
What could be better if you are attempting the GR20? This guide has it all. It is worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great planning tool, 9 Oct 2013
This review is from: GR20: Corsica: The High Level Route (Cicerone Guides) (Paperback)
Just what was required for planning the walk, though too heavy to take on the walk, I purchased to 60,000 maps and took them although I hardly need them during the two weeks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars GR20 South to North, 30 Sep 2013
This review is from: GR20: Corsica: The High Level Route (Cicerone Guides) (Paperback)
This book was super helpful for getting a general sense of elevation and distance for each day on the GR20 as well as helpful tips on where to find food and refuge along the way. It also gives a good sense of how long the route takes in reverse (south to north), which was helpful as this is the direction I went. Check out https://jamieroselevin.squarespace.com/adventure/2013/9/20/gr20-day-1 as well for a detailed trip report South to North. I suggest this direction and this book is great for planning and for once you are on the trail!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GR20, 3 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: GR20: Corsica: The High Level Route (Cicerone Guides) (Paperback)
very informative, handy pocket size too, details of accommodation and walk times between each point, if you're doing the GR20 this is definitely the guide to take!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Confident and comprehensive., 15 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: GR20: Corsica: The High Level Route (Cicerone Guides) (Paperback)
Having walked the GR20 some 23 years ago, when there were hardly any food stops en route, it was a pleasant surprise to see that walkers of this epic route are well catered for these days. There is even beer on sale at the refuges!
Paddy Dillon's excellent book is well worth the 302 grams it will cost you to carry it.
I was happy to find that the Amazon associate was selling the latest edition of the Guide, because even on a classic walk like the GR20, refuges and routes are changed and the walker needs to have the latest information to hand.
The text is well laid out in sensible daily tranches, with good small scale maps and height diagrams.
The only thing I found lacking was the absence of any credit for the cartographic designer, who has done such a good job of the topographical diagrams.
I have already started arduous training with two of my children for this fabulous hike in three months time. Dillon's overview is comprehensive and useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

GR20: Corsica: The High Level Route (Cicerone Guides)
GR20: Corsica: The High Level Route (Cicerone Guides) by Paddy Dillon (Paperback - 1 April 2006)
11.96
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews