Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A climbing guide for real people, 24 May 2007
This review is from: Scotland's Mountain Ridges: Scrambling, Mountaineering and Climbing - the Best Routes for Summer and Winter (Cicerone Guides) (Paperback)
I really like the way Dan presents some of Scotland's most spectacular ridges. He provides invaluable information and shares his experience in a way that is inviting, not intimidating. He breaks down each section into approach, climb, continuation, and descent - really useful stuff. As a climber who started climbing Munros at age 50, I find some guides geared towards the super-fit or professional climbers. Dan's book is full of sound advice and the pictures are of ordinary people - not the professionals. I simply love Scotland's high and wild places, and Dan's book is the one I'll keep in my rucksack. Even if you don't climb at all, you'll enjoy the pictures and his vivid descriptions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 24 April 2008
By 
Mr. Ross Maynard (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Scotland's Mountain Ridges: Scrambling, Mountaineering and Climbing - the Best Routes for Summer and Winter (Cicerone Guides) (Paperback)
It's a great idea to collect the best ridges in Scotland into one book and it turns out there isn't space for them all in this one book - the appendix lists another 40 odd (mainly climbs). The book is written with a marvelous energy and joie de vivre that really draws you in; the maps are great and the photos too. It's a lovely book. I am a walker, not a climber, and, despite the subtitle, there are many routes in here suitable for reasonably experienced hillwalkers with a good head for heights. Do the winter routes as summer walks and Creise, Ring of Steall, Aonach Eagach, Liathach and many others become accessible to us mortals. Some additional route planning to cut out short climbing sections also opens up a number of the other routes given. Of course a good number of the routes are serious climbs. You'll never find me on Tower Ridge Ben Nevis, but, in summer, you might find me on the adjoining Ledge Route. Fantastic book, highly recommended to all who love the Scottish highlands.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More than just a climbing guidebook, 24 May 2011
This review is from: Scotland's Mountain Ridges: Scrambling, Mountaineering and Climbing - the Best Routes for Summer and Winter (Cicerone Guides) (Paperback)
This is a top notch guide which is both informative and pleasing to read. The format and style of the book is excellently presented with a good use of well annotated, maps, diagrams and topos as well as more 'aesthetic' photography. Really a lesson to other guidebook authors.

The guidebook focuses on the entire outing of completing a particular route, not just in the technicality and route finding of the pitches/route themselves.

If I had one criticism (and it's more of an observation really) it's that because it's so comprehensively written and illustrated, in some ways it removes some of the uncertainty you get in planning an expedition from scratch yourself - probably why so many people seem to like it!

Overall recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mountaineering Inspiration, 28 Sept. 2009
By 
T. S. Rimmington (Sheffield) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Scotland's Mountain Ridges: Scrambling, Mountaineering and Climbing - the Best Routes for Summer and Winter (Cicerone Guides) (Paperback)
Just browsing this book makes you want to head for the mountains without delay. It has all the classic routes you would expect plus some lesser known but worthy routes (I've ticked off a few of them already). The book covers all the practicalities well, but is also made an enjoyable reading experience through the authors humour. His love and enthusiasm for the mountains is infectious. Even if you had no intension of climbing a single mountain it would still be worth having this book for some of the photos alone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you love ridges, this is for you, 1 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scotland's Mountain Ridges: Scrambling, Mountaineering and Climbing - the Best Routes for Summer and Winter (Cicerone Guides) (Paperback)
All the best ridges in Scotland collected into one volume - makes weekend planning a breeze. Good route descriptions and great photos. Highly recommended. Buy it, do it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic book, 20 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scotland's Mountain Ridges: Scrambling, Mountaineering and Climbing - the Best Routes for Summer and Winter (Cicerone Guides) (Paperback)
the book is really great and I'm really glad I bought it as it covers everything i'd hoped it would
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars a must for the climber, 1 Sept. 2010
This review is from: Scotland's Mountain Ridges: Scrambling, Mountaineering and Climbing - the Best Routes for Summer and Winter (Cicerone Guides) (Paperback)
wish ide seen this book when i first started in the mountains would have advanced my climbing by years.
will help any novice to get the best out of the best ridges in scotland,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scotland's Mountain Ridges: Scrambling, Mountaineering and Climbing - the Best Routes for Summer and Winter (Cicerone Guides) (Paperback)
Good selection of the various routes avalible in Scotland
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Feed your mountain enthusiasm, 11 Jan. 2010
By 
T. PEARSON "Tom" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Scotland's Mountain Ridges: Scrambling, Mountaineering and Climbing - the Best Routes for Summer and Winter (Cicerone Guides) (Paperback)
I don't really like the `bagging' that drives people to the hills. There is so much amazing climbing on offer in Scotland it seems criminal that something as mundane as a spot height should dictate how someone spends a day in the hills. This book is spot on in that it focuses on great lines up great hills, no matter how high they are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars lovely inforamtive book, 24 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scotland's Mountain Ridges: Scrambling, Mountaineering and Climbing - the Best Routes for Summer and Winter (Cicerone Guides) (Paperback)
lovely informative book made an excellent gift
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews