Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The cowards guide to Torridon - ( in a good way!!!)
I purchased this book after experiencing a fantastic Cicerone guide (Great mountain days out in the Lake District - highly recommended!)Which showed excellent 3d views of the routes and lots of alternatives to the treadmill tourist tracks. After a fantastic week spent based at Langdale my partner and I thought - let's explore some of the other cicerone guides for our...
Published on 26 April 2011 by steggaz

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A difficult book to use
This book groups the walks by type, e.g "easy" , "mountain ascents" etc rather than by location. This would be fine if you already know the area well but there is no overall map in the book giving the location of each walk. Thus you have to go first to the type of walk that you want, e.g. "easy" and select something that looks interesting. Unless...
Published 1 month ago by M. J. Esten


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The cowards guide to Torridon - ( in a good way!!!), 26 April 2011
This review is from: Walking in Torridon: A Walker's Guide (British Mountains) (Cicerone Guides) (Paperback)
I purchased this book after experiencing a fantastic Cicerone guide (Great mountain days out in the Lake District - highly recommended!)Which showed excellent 3d views of the routes and lots of alternatives to the treadmill tourist tracks. After a fantastic week spent based at Langdale my partner and I thought - let's explore some of the other cicerone guides for our bi-annual walking trips up to Scotland. We have been wandering in various hill ranges of Scotland for the last 10 years and mostly get inspiration from Ralph Storer or Cameron Mcneish guides before we plan a route and set out - but this guide enabled us both to explore some of the 'scarier' hills which my partner had been avoiding (mostly due to myth, legend and the odd pure fact!). This book managed to put the Torridon hills into a realistic context and has no shame ( if you want to )'avoiding' the Horns of Alligin, or alternative routes to the legendary precipitous paths of Liathach - much to the delight of my partner(serious vertigo issues) - yet still gives fantastic walks - bags the munros and keeps everyone happy (rather than the usual coaxing,reassurance and panic tantrums)! Well written constructive advice - which made for some great dawn till dusk days on the hills. There are 3d sketches in this book also - not as good as the Lake District guide we used before - but still useful. The book is a pocket guide - with a plastic cover so durable & easy to take with you - along with the usual map and compass.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Walking Guide to Torridon, 5 Jan 2011
By 
Mr. Ross Maynard (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Walking in Torridon: A Walker's Guide (British Mountains) (Cicerone Guides) (Paperback)
Peter Barton's brilliant original guide to walking in Torridon has been sensitively updated - by leaving much of the text unchanged. OS maps have been added and some additional general notes (plus some route amendments where necessary), but if you already have the original guide there is little need to update with this one.

This book is by far the best guide to walking in that amazing wilderness that is Torridon. It contains about 50 walks, most of them serious undertakings - all the Munros and Corbetts are included. Even some of the walks labelled "easy" are pretty heavy duty - for example the low level circuit of Beinn Alligin takes you into some very remote country: not for the inexperienced; compass skills definitely a good idea. Torridon offers some of the most beautiful hills and the most remarkable country in Scotland. Beinn Alligin, the corrie in Beinn Eighe, and Liathach, are probably the most wonderful walks I have ever done - and there are many more fine hills there. This book is the best guide to the area you can get. Remember also your boots, rain gear, compass, map, food and water. Torridon is a desolate and lonely wilderness: take care out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A difficult book to use, 27 May 2014
By 
M. J. Esten - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walking in Torridon: A Walker's Guide (British Mountains) (Cicerone Guides) (Paperback)
This book groups the walks by type, e.g "easy" , "mountain ascents" etc rather than by location. This would be fine if you already know the area well but there is no overall map in the book giving the location of each walk. Thus you have to go first to the type of walk that you want, e.g. "easy" and select something that looks interesting. Unless you happen to know where that walk is you then have to get out a map and look for the Grid Ref of the starting point in order to see where it is. It would be much better if there were a double page in the book indicating roughly the start of each walk - the map given on pages 8 & 9 is pretty useless in this respect. The point is that if, for example, you are staying at Loch Carron in the South, and if you do not want to have to drive a long way, you will be looking for walks in the South as well as walks which are, say, "easy". You cannot make such a selection easily out of this book without spending extra time with the map. The author tries to help by including a list of walks of type and, after the name of each walk in the list, often adding in brackets a place name helping to define roughly where the walk is .... but an overall map would be far better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lots of detail in this booklet, 8 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walking in Torridon: A Walker's Guide (British Mountains) (Cicerone Guides) (Paperback)
Slightly more aimed at the 'serious walker' than the gentle strollers. Lots of detail about the history of the area. Many of the walks are quite serious high-level challenges. Comprehensive and nicely presented.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Walking in Torridon, 30 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walking in Torridon: A Walker's Guide (British Mountains) (Cicerone Guides) (Paperback)
A wonderful, amusing, informative book that provides hours of entertainment. The book covers everything from short, easy low level walks right to Munro level.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book, 21 Feb 2013
By 
D. Henderson "Dotzzz" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walking in Torridon: A Walker's Guide (British Mountains) (Cicerone Guides) (Paperback)
This is a super book - plan to walk in Torridon later in the year so this is a great book forplanning our walks. Very speedy delivery. A+
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Walking in Torridon: A Walker's Guide (British Mountains) (Cicerone Guides)
9.06
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews