Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Contemplating riding the camino route? Essential reading
There are better books for those walking the Camino de Santiago but if you are to ride a bike on the route this guide is a very useful. One has to deviate from the walkers route from time to time and the author has shown the alternative safe routes. Riding the entire walking route is possible, but there is occasional conflict with walkers at narrow sections and the...
Published 15 months ago by Mr P T Roberts

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Out of date and poorly written
I recently used this guide (May/June 2011) for the pilgrimage between St Jean Pied de Port and Santiago.
The guide was written in 2007 and is out of date (mainly due to a massive road building program by the Spanish); roads have been turned into motorways (which don't allow bicycles) or re-named due to the new roads.
There is a question mark on the mileages...
Published on 11 Jun 2011 by Garrett


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Out of date and poorly written, 11 Jun 2011
This review is from: Way of St James Cyclist Guide: A Cyclists' Guide from Le Puy En Velay to Santiago De Compostela: Le Puy to Santiago - A Cyclist's Guide (Cicerone Cycling) (Paperback)
I recently used this guide (May/June 2011) for the pilgrimage between St Jean Pied de Port and Santiago.
The guide was written in 2007 and is out of date (mainly due to a massive road building program by the Spanish); roads have been turned into motorways (which don't allow bicycles) or re-named due to the new roads.
There is a question mark on the mileages given in the guide; the author states that the mileages are plus or minus 5 km, which is unacceptable in my opinion.
The guide does not give any idea of the size of towns or villages on the route which was unhelpful.
The guide also does not include street plans of the larger towns or cities like Pamplona or Leon; all it says is find the tourist office for a local map - it actually acknowledges that the Pamplona tourist office is impossible to find (it's currently in a porta-cabin in front of the cathedral)!! Would it have been so difficult to add city street plans?
I met another couple who had the same guide and they commented on the general negative tone of the author.
I eventually did not trust this guide and treated all information with suspicion, which certainly added a bit of adventure to the pilgrimage.
The authors route descriptions could be mis-leading ie not very clearly written - which caused me one day to go 6 or 7 km in completely the wrong direction, luckily a local saw I was way off and corrected me.
I have given this guide two stars as it does give the outline of the route.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Contemplating riding the camino route? Essential reading, 25 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Way of St James Cyclist Guide: A Cyclists' Guide from Le Puy En Velay to Santiago De Compostela: Le Puy to Santiago - A Cyclist's Guide (Cicerone Cycling) (Paperback)
There are better books for those walking the Camino de Santiago but if you are to ride a bike on the route this guide is a very useful. One has to deviate from the walkers route from time to time and the author has shown the alternative safe routes. Riding the entire walking route is possible, but there is occasional conflict with walkers at narrow sections and the writers route is a very enjoyable alternative for those on two wheels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good guide, 9 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good guide. Well written and I really enjoyed. Very fast delivered and well packed. Looking forwh for my trip next year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Camino trail, 24 July 2010
This review is from: Way of St James Cyclist Guide: A Cyclists' Guide from Le Puy En Velay to Santiago De Compostela: Le Puy to Santiago - A Cyclist's Guide (Cicerone Cycling) (Paperback)
Good basic guide for the route. Will need more detailed - Michelin type - maps to go with it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Your guide to cycling the Camino, 3 Mar 2012
This review is from: Way of St James Cyclist Guide: A Cyclists' Guide from Le Puy En Velay to Santiago De Compostela: Le Puy to Santiago - A Cyclist's Guide (Cicerone Cycling) (Paperback)
I am currently getting ready to cycle the camino and this book has been a brilliant place to start planning. I will also be bringing it with me. It has all the basic information even down to where to get off your bike and walk as the road is dangerous. Places to stay and things to look out for on the road and in all the villages you pass. It has basic maps of the routes and the route is broken down into stages. It also has a list of things you will need.It is without doubt a brilliant book for the first timer and makes it all manageable. The book is also small enough to pop into your bag to bring with you. I am really excited about my upcoming trip after reading this book. If your cycling the camino get your hands on this book its a must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews