Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars cicerone thames path
I wish I'd had this book when I walked the Thames Path. Lots of extra description to liven up the duller bits of the walk: an OS map shows the ruined Godstow Abbey but this guide manages to bring it to life with the story of a king's mistress poisoned by a queen, and references to Inspector Morse, President Clinton and Lewis Carroll. There are details about bridges and...
Published on 23 Jan 2011 by catrina

versus
29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A pleasant little book lacking detail
The author, Leigh Hatts comes with impeccable credentials having been involved with the Thames walk feasibility study and written plenty of other walking books. But if you are expecting any great insight into the Thames path you will be disappointed.

Although the book has 217 pages they are tiny - approx 12 X 17 cm so why the publisher decided to put a 3.5cm...
Published on 6 Oct 2007 by Perky Duck


Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A pleasant little book lacking detail, 6 Oct 2007
By 
Perky Duck (Wirral, Merseyside, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Thames Path: From the Sea to the Source (Cicerone Mountain Walking) (Paperback)
The author, Leigh Hatts comes with impeccable credentials having been involved with the Thames walk feasibility study and written plenty of other walking books. But if you are expecting any great insight into the Thames path you will be disappointed.

Although the book has 217 pages they are tiny - approx 12 X 17 cm so why the publisher decided to put a 3.5cm margin on most of the pages is beyond me. The book equates to just 36 pages of A4 which means that there is little room for any detailed information. What you get is a short description of the route and pen pictures of the towns and villages en route plus tourist attractions.

For the most part, the 2 - 4 cm wide selections taken from the 1 -50000 Ordnance Survey Explorer series are adequate, but only if you stick closely to the route. They let me down on several occasions!.

I mainly followed the route from London Bridge to Goring and was left with the uncharitable impression that the author hadn't actually walked the path but maybe had written the book from the Internet. I don't have any problem with what is said - it is what is left out that bothers me! For example, at Goring the book says "cross the bridge to leave Oxfordshire ......." The book neglects to say that just 100 yards to the right of the bridge there is a hotel called `The Miller of Mansfield' that welcomes dogs. There is also a good shopping area including a chemist and several other pubs, and another pub on the other side of the river.

Overall, this is not a bad little book, but if you are a long distance walker you might like to consider 'The Thames Path (National Trail Guides) by David Sharp' and/or 'The Thames Path National Trail Companion: A Guide for Walkers to Accommodation, Facilities and Services by Jos Joslin.'

The author of this review is an experienced walker having successfully walked many long distance trails including Coast to Coast (Southport to Hull) and the West Highland Way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars cicerone thames path, 23 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Thames Path: From the Sea to the Source (Cicerone Mountain Walking) (Paperback)
I wish I'd had this book when I walked the Thames Path. Lots of extra description to liven up the duller bits of the walk: an OS map shows the ruined Godstow Abbey but this guide manages to bring it to life with the story of a king's mistress poisoned by a queen, and references to Inspector Morse, President Clinton and Lewis Carroll. There are details about bridges and toll systems, and lots of incidental information which add an extra dimension to what you see. I've always enjoyed the London section of the Thames - from Kingston to the Thames barrier - and there is a wealth of interesting detail to make these walks even better. My only niggle is that there's no index, so if you want to find out where GM Hopkins was inspired to write Binsey Poplars, you have to get to p.176 to find out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Compact & useful book, 6 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Thames Path: From the Sea to the Source (Cicerone Mountain Walking) (Paperback)
This is a great little book if you are walking from the Barrier to the Source, but very difficult to use if you are doing the walk in the opposite direction! I like the historical and local notes which give a lot of information about the areas you are walking through. It is useful to have the AZ of the Thames path as well in case you are diverted from path because of floods or building works etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great helpful book, 20 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Thames Path: From the Sea to the Source (Cicerone Mountain Walking) (Paperback)
This book gives the walker a good guide to walking the Thames path, it gave us some helpful hints regarding routes, facilities nearby etc.
Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not what I wanted, 12 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Thames Path: From the Sea to the Source (Cicerone Mountain Walking) (Paperback)
I assumed this book would provide help in directions as well as give useful information on passing features. It does both but not to the depth I wanted. It's rather superficial.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very complete, 2 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Thames Path: From the Sea to the Source (Cicerone Mountain Walking) (Paperback)
very complete this will form the basis of family walks for many years to come - highly recommended very well written .....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic little guide, 24 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Thames Path: From the Sea to the Source (Cicerone Mountain Walking) (Paperback)
Have completed the first section of the walk but really looking forward to finding time for the next stage.
Compact little guide with just enough information to ensure you get maximum enjoyment from the walk.
So far so good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thames Path, 16 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Thames Path: From the Sea to the Source (Cicerone Mountain Walking) (Paperback)
This book is full of little anecdotes about points of interest on the walk, making a terrific walk even more interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaef50d68)

This product

The Thames Path: From the Sea to the Source (Cicerone Mountain Walking)
9.07
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews