Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very well presented walking guide with wide-range of 41 routes to suit all abilities
As a keen walker and regular visitor to Pembrokeshire for the last 26 years, I was very keen to accept the invitation from Cicerone to review their range of walking guides, especially as I have previously written walk routes myself and know Pembrokeshire and its footpaths well.

The index lists each numbered route together with the starting point and distance...
Published 7 months ago by K Wren

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting to read but difficult to follow the directions
This book is more that just a book telling you how to navigate circular walks. There is a lot of information on the local history and various places of interest. Just as well really because it was often difficult to follow the directions. The map extracts were quite small and the OS map was required too. We got lost completely on the Kilgetty walk. It also involved trying...
Published on 23 May 2010 by R. J. Hole


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting to read but difficult to follow the directions, 23 May 2010
By 
R. J. Hole (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walking in Pembrokeshire: 41 Circular Walks in the National Park (Cicerone British Walking) (Paperback)
This book is more that just a book telling you how to navigate circular walks. There is a lot of information on the local history and various places of interest. Just as well really because it was often difficult to follow the directions. The map extracts were quite small and the OS map was required too. We got lost completely on the Kilgetty walk. It also involved trying to find the way through a farm and the farmer was not very friendly. The path was not signed very well even though it was supposed to be a main walking route. It made me wonder whether the signs had been tampered with. However, having managed to find our way through the farm we got lost further on. It involved crossing a stream (which my wife was not happy about!) and the next instruction was that it swept to the right so we turned right when coming across a track. It should have been left and that was the end of the planned walk because by the time we realised it had gone wrong we were miles away.

The book is better as reading material than the landranger book but was sometimes difficult to follow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very well presented walking guide with wide-range of 41 routes to suit all abilities, 4 Dec. 2014
By 
K Wren "K Wren" (Wye Valley (England/Wales border)) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
As a keen walker and regular visitor to Pembrokeshire for the last 26 years, I was very keen to accept the invitation from Cicerone to review their range of walking guides, especially as I have previously written walk routes myself and know Pembrokeshire and its footpaths well.

The index lists each numbered route together with the starting point and distance and these are shown clearly on an area map dotted with icons marking the starting point making it easy to choose which area from which to start a walk and there's a good mix of both coastal and inland walks throughout the county. Following this is an introduction to Pembrokeshire, its Celtic history and past, wildlife and coastal path.

The walk routes each feature a short list of bullet points giving essential information for the walker including the start point, distance, approximate time to allow, any ascents and the height gain, OS maps covering the route, nearby parking, public transport, refreshment availability and the location of any public toilets, ie all essential basic information for any walker yet often missed from other guides.

Each route is accompanied by an overview of the natural history and heritage of each area, landmarks and general observations on the route eg 'the path can be muddy', 'floods at high tide but a bus service is available'.... A strength of this book is the photography with beautiful shots depicting the county's stunning rugged coastline and browsing through the guide is giving me very restless feet.

I'm familiar with about half the routes in the book having already followed sections of the routes without forming them into the themed circular routes the authors have devised. Those I'm familiar with are accurately described and attractively photographed and those I haven't yet tried sound tempting from their authors' descriptions and attractive photography. With 41 routes to choose from with varying levels of difficulty, there is a route for every fitness level from a gentle 30 minute/1.25 mile stroll by Carew Castle to a 5 hour/9.75 miles exploration of the Angle Peninsular.

This is a most enjoyable and enticing walking guide to browse through but is also interesting and attractive in its own right as an area guide to learn more about Pembrokeshire, its heritage and new sights to see.

A recommended book attractively presented which should appeal to everyone who likes Pembrokeshire and enjoys walking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent choice of walks let down by some vague instructions ..., 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walking in Pembrokeshire: 41 Circular Walks in the National Park (Cicerone British Walking) (Paperback)
Excellent choice of walks let down by some vague instructions or lack of detail on where to park to start the walks!
As with other reviews for this book, I recommend using a separate OS map for clarity because the yellow outline used in maps sometimes obscures differences between paths (for walkers) and tracks (for walkers and other users).
Walk 1, circular Amroth walk, is a great start. The initial steep ascent is aided by steps but the coastal views are well worth it. There is a camp shop at Wisesmans Bridge that sells multi-flavoured ice creams. There is a pleasant walk along an old tramway line followed by typical countryside walking. The return to Amroth passes through Colby Woodland Gardens run by the NT. The tearoom here is a great place to stop for refreshments.
Walk 29 Kilgetty is a varied walk, woodland and countryside. We missed a style on the main road close to Folly Farm due to overgrown vegetation. We later found that there is a style there. In our case we walked passed Folly Farm walking on the road through Broom and re-joining the track at Thomas Chapel. Nice pub, Begelly Arms, at the end of the walk.
Walk 30, Canaston Wood, is a nice woodland walk, the instructions are vague in places but the path is pretty straightforward.
Walk 36 Cwm Gwaun is another lovely woodland walk. We took the B4313 from Fishguard following signs to Cwm Gwaun. The road from the B4113 is a fairly steep decline but it leads to a car park opposite a telephone box. The car park sits very close to Cilrhedyn Bridge but is called Allt Clun, not Cilrhedyn Car Park! You walk through a farmyard just after the bridge to start the walk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Helpful walking guide, 13 Sept. 2010
This review is from: Walking in Pembrokeshire: 41 Circular Walks in the National Park (Cicerone British Walking) (Paperback)
A good selection of walks of various lengths in this picturesque part of Wales. Very well researched and illustrated and the inclusion of local history notes for each walk is a useful addition. Detail good but maps small so a separate OS map is useful, particularly for longer walks. However the book is a handy size, fitting comfortably into a rucksack or coat pocket. I found it to be a good introduction to the area for walkers of all abilities.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best way to explore!, 5 Oct. 2011
This review is from: Walking in Pembrokeshire: 41 Circular Walks in the National Park (Cicerone British Walking) (Paperback)
This book is great. I recently worked part time in a tourist information centre in Pembrokeshire and regularly referred visitors to this book.

It has walks of varying length and in different parts of the county so you can see the diverse landscape. The book tells you where to start your walk and has a small map accompanied with descriptive text and points of interest.

Great for money-its like having a guide in your pocket!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Walk descriptions and details, 10 Sept. 2011
This review is from: Walking in Pembrokeshire: 41 Circular Walks in the National Park (Cicerone British Walking) (Paperback)
This book gives you a good selection of walk lengths within Pembrokeshire - not just coastal path walks.

The mileages given for each walk are understated (we used GPS to get exact distances) but the timings are pretty accurate.

The book was updated in 2010 and there have clearly been some changes in footpath routes recently, but for the most part it's easy to follow. The descriptions sometimes are a bit ambiguous, so would recommend you also have an OS map or GPS to support the book.

We liked the extra information bits (history/interesting things to divert off to see etc)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pembrokeshire Walks, 14 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walking in Pembrokeshire: 41 Circular Walks in the National Park (Cicerone British Walking) (Paperback)
This book does exactly like it says in the blurb. It draws attention to the best walks in the area, coast and inland. There is a variety of landscapes and distances - something to satisfy most people.the directions are as good as could be expected. the scale of the maps is not always helpful to sort out the occasional problem/puzzlement! Having the 1:25000 map along with you is a sensible precaution. having said that, I would recommend this guide book to enhance youe enjoyment of the area.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Practical but not inspirational, 29 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walking in Pembrokeshire: 41 Circular Walks in the National Park (Cicerone British Walking) (Paperback)
I have just bought it and haven't followed a walk yet using this book, but on first glance it's not the most user friendly. There is no difficulty rating for the walks, and you have read through all the info to find what the highlights are on each one and even then, it's not that obvious. I'm finding myself doing searches on the internet and cross referencing with the book to find the best ones for a three day visit to Pembrokeshire.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not good, 18 May 2012
By 
Kathryn Broadway (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Walking in Pembrokeshire: 41 Circular Walks in the National Park (Cicerone British Walking) (Paperback)
All but impossible to find the start locations of these walks. We tried a couple then gave up. Big disappointment
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great guide, 28 May 2014
By 
Mrs. J. Marsh (Haverigg, Cumbria, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walking in Pembrokeshire: 41 Circular Walks in the National Park (Cicerone British Walking) (Paperback)
This guide was very useful along with the accompanying maps. All walks are clearly described with lots of useful and interesting information to accompany them. A clear route in the form of a section of the relevant OS map accompanies each walk. Written by people who really know the area - highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews