Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best way to explore!
This book is great. I recently worked part time in a tourist information centre in Pembrokeshire and regularly referred visitors to this book.

It has walks of varying length and in different parts of the county so you can see the diverse landscape. The book tells you where to start your walk and has a small map accompanied with descriptive text and points of...
Published on 5 Oct 2011 by HarrietJRees

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting to read but difficult to follow the directions
This book is more that just a book telling you how to navigate circular walks. There is a lot of information on the local history and various places of interest. Just as well really because it was often difficult to follow the directions. The map extracts were quite small and the OS map was required too. We got lost completely on the Kilgetty walk. It also involved trying...
Published on 23 May 2010 by R. J. Hole


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting to read but difficult to follow the directions, 23 May 2010
By 
R. J. Hole (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walking in Pembrokeshire: 41 Circular Walks in the National Park (Cicerone British Walking) (Paperback)
This book is more that just a book telling you how to navigate circular walks. There is a lot of information on the local history and various places of interest. Just as well really because it was often difficult to follow the directions. The map extracts were quite small and the OS map was required too. We got lost completely on the Kilgetty walk. It also involved trying to find the way through a farm and the farmer was not very friendly. The path was not signed very well even though it was supposed to be a main walking route. It made me wonder whether the signs had been tampered with. However, having managed to find our way through the farm we got lost further on. It involved crossing a stream (which my wife was not happy about!) and the next instruction was that it swept to the right so we turned right when coming across a track. It should have been left and that was the end of the planned walk because by the time we realised it had gone wrong we were miles away.

The book is better as reading material than the landranger book but was sometimes difficult to follow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best way to explore!, 5 Oct 2011
This review is from: Walking in Pembrokeshire: 41 Circular Walks in the National Park (Cicerone British Walking) (Paperback)
This book is great. I recently worked part time in a tourist information centre in Pembrokeshire and regularly referred visitors to this book.

It has walks of varying length and in different parts of the county so you can see the diverse landscape. The book tells you where to start your walk and has a small map accompanied with descriptive text and points of interest.

Great for money-its like having a guide in your pocket!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Helpful walking guide, 13 Sep 2010
This review is from: Walking in Pembrokeshire: 41 Circular Walks in the National Park (Cicerone British Walking) (Paperback)
A good selection of walks of various lengths in this picturesque part of Wales. Very well researched and illustrated and the inclusion of local history notes for each walk is a useful addition. Detail good but maps small so a separate OS map is useful, particularly for longer walks. However the book is a handy size, fitting comfortably into a rucksack or coat pocket. I found it to be a good introduction to the area for walkers of all abilities.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not good, 18 May 2012
By 
Kathryn Broadway (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Walking in Pembrokeshire: 41 Circular Walks in the National Park (Cicerone British Walking) (Paperback)
All but impossible to find the start locations of these walks. We tried a couple then gave up. Big disappointment
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Walk descriptions and details, 10 Sep 2011
This review is from: Walking in Pembrokeshire: 41 Circular Walks in the National Park (Cicerone British Walking) (Paperback)
This book gives you a good selection of walk lengths within Pembrokeshire - not just coastal path walks.

The mileages given for each walk are understated (we used GPS to get exact distances) but the timings are pretty accurate.

The book was updated in 2010 and there have clearly been some changes in footpath routes recently, but for the most part it's easy to follow. The descriptions sometimes are a bit ambiguous, so would recommend you also have an OS map or GPS to support the book.

We liked the extra information bits (history/interesting things to divert off to see etc)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent choice of walks let down by some vague instructions ..., 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walking in Pembrokeshire: 41 Circular Walks in the National Park (Cicerone British Walking) (Paperback)
Excellent choice of walks let down by some vague instructions or lack of detail on where to park to start the walks!
As with other reviews for this book, I recommend using a separate OS map for clarity because the yellow outline used in maps sometimes obscures differences between paths (for walkers) and tracks (for walkers and other users).
Walk 1, circular Amroth walk, is a great start. The initial steep ascent is aided by steps but the coastal views are well worth it. There is a camp shop at Wisesmans Bridge that sells multi-flavoured ice creams. There is a pleasant walk along an old tramway line followed by typical countryside walking. The return to Amroth passes through Colby Woodland Gardens run by the NT. The tearoom here is a great place to stop for refreshments.
Walk 29 Kilgetty is a varied walk, woodland and countryside. We missed a style on the main road close to Folly Farm due to overgrown vegetation. We later found that there is a style there. In our case we walked passed Folly Farm walking on the road through Broom and re-joining the track at Thomas Chapel. Nice pub, Begelly Arms, at the end of the walk.
Walk 30, Canaston Wood, is a nice woodland walk, the instructions are vague in places but the path is pretty straightforward.
Walk 36 Cwm Gwaun is another lovely woodland walk. We took the B4313 from Fishguard following signs to Cwm Gwaun. The road from the B4113 is a fairly steep decline but it leads to a car park opposite a telephone box. The car park sits very close to Cilrhedyn Bridge but is called Allt Clun, not Cilrhedyn Car Park! You walk through a farmyard just after the bridge to start the walk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walking in Pembrokeshire: 41 Circular Walks in the National Park (Cicerone British Walking) (Paperback)
very helpfull really good walks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great guide, 28 May 2014
By 
Mrs. J. Marsh (Haverigg, Cumbria, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walking in Pembrokeshire: 41 Circular Walks in the National Park (Cicerone British Walking) (Paperback)
This guide was very useful along with the accompanying maps. All walks are clearly described with lots of useful and interesting information to accompany them. A clear route in the form of a section of the relevant OS map accompanies each walk. Written by people who really know the area - highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Circular walks around Pembrokeshire, 28 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walking in Pembrokeshire: 41 Circular Walks in the National Park (Cicerone British Walking) (Paperback)
Handy size, information of the surrounding area good, and route easy to follow. Will use it lots I'm sure and will also recommend it to friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Walking, 31 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walking in Pembrokeshire: 41 Circular Walks in the National Park (Cicerone British Walking) (Paperback)
It was very interesting and informative That is all I have time to say at this moment in time, Thankyou
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews