Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

102 of 103 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An ideal guide for anyone wishing to improve their hillcraft, 2 Aug 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Map and Compass: The Art of Navigation (Cicerone Techniques) (Paperback)
At last - a straightforward and well-illustrated guide to map and compass. Like a good long guided walk in the hills, this book takes the reader from simple beginnings such as why we need to learn navigation skills, to more challenging areas such as route planning and GPS. It's approach is to ask questions of the reader at all stages, making us focus on the many excellent illustrations (photos, map extracts, sketches) that are the great strength of the book. With many of us now walking abroad, it is pleasing to see the author compare maps from different countries. This is an ideal guide for anyone starting out on the hills - Duke of Edinburgh schemers, casual weekend roamers, etc. - and for the more experienced who are interested in improving their mountain navigation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says on the cover, 31 May 2009
By 
Paul Dunkley (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Map and Compass: The Art of Navigation (Cicerone Techniques) (Paperback)
An excellent and clearly written guide to using a compass and in
understanding how to verify course and heading.
A little humour in the
text helps understanding and to highlight that even experts can make mistakes.
It is based on the UK cartography but does discuss the quality
and availability of maps here and abroad.
It also discusses GPS and gives good advice
on its use.
I have no hesitation in recommending this book for reference or beginners.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Easy Read, 3 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Map and Compass: The Art of Navigation (Cicerone Techniques) (Paperback)
Having previously tried to learn the art of navigation from web articles etc. and failed miserably, I decided that I needed a book that could explain the basics without going into too much jargon and switching me off. I flicked through the Navigation book reviews on Amazon and decided to give this a try. Was I disappointed, not in the slightest. It starts with the introduction of the map, how to read it, care for it, scales, symbols etc., then it progresses to grid lines, references and contours. There's a section on planning walks, before the compass is finally introduced and where it all comes together.
Might be a little basic for people who know a bit already about navigating, but it ticked all the right boxes as far as I'm concerned and it's given me the confidence to get out there and explore the great outdoors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great purchase, 1 May 2009
This review is from: Map and Compass: The Art of Navigation (Cicerone Techniques) (Paperback)
great book. it is a very easy and useful reading. full of tips and simple mistakes to avoid when reading a compass. I definitely recommend to buy this book if you want to learn to read a compass and navigate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 30 April 2009
This review is from: Map and Compass: The Art of Navigation (Cicerone Techniques) (Paperback)
I was looking for a book to refresh and improve my basic map/compass work before a Lake District holiday. Main need was an explanation of magnetic variation in a way that was easy to follow (unlike some websites that talk about declination and from a N.America perspective). It did the job - as well as included a number of other useful bits of navigation info which helped improve my navigational confidence. It did what I needed it to do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 17 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Map and Compass: The Art of Navigation (Cicerone Techniques) (Paperback)
Very clear, concise instruction on map reading. Also lighthearted and at times amusing. Would suit complete beginner, but also those who need their map reading skills refreshing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really good, 8 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Map and Compass: The Art of Navigation (Cicerone Techniques) (Paperback)
Being a keen walker it really helps to know where you are and where you are heading so good navigation skills are essential
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential for map reading, 26 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Map and Compass: The Art of Navigation (Cicerone Techniques) (Paperback)
Simple and easy to follow, excellent tips. If you want to learn about map reading in an understanable way this is the book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Full small guide to map reading a compass, using a map and navigation, 17 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Map and Compass: The Art of Navigation (Cicerone Techniques) (Paperback)
Excellent read and great for learning the art of map reading, compass reading and navigation. As I am not the biggest reader I find this book is excellent as it is split into nicely laid out chapters each of which is dedicated to 1 part which is essential to the above, highly recommended if you are new to map, compass and navigation but also great for if you want to get rid of bad habits and learn the right way of using each of these techniques, just what I was after.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Navigating for beginner and experienced., 14 May 2010
By 
E. Hulme - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Map and Compass: The Art of Navigation (Cicerone Techniques) (Paperback)
I wanted to refresh and increased my navigating skills and this little book did just that - in spades. Full useful tips that most of us
might never think of for ourselves and a touch of humour makes it all very readable. Where I used to make fairly educated guesses at gradients
by just looking at contours lines, I now achieve accuracy and can make a pencil sketch in a minute or so. A skill that has saved me aching leg
muscles a few times whilst ensuring my arrival at my aiming point without problems.
Makes map reading a pleasure instead of a chore.
Eric Hulme.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Map and Compass: The Art of Navigation (Cicerone Techniques)
Map and Compass: The Art of Navigation (Cicerone Techniques) by Pete Hawkins (Paperback - 1 Nov 2003)
Used & New from: 15.11
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews