Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars8
4.3 out of 5 stars
5 star
5
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
1
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£13.46+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 June 2003
An excellent book, clearly written with just about everything the touring cyclist needs to know: before he leaves home. The routes are well detailed including maps and, most importantly, very accurate contour information - vital for anyone setting out to cycle in the mountains.
The routes chosen are challenging but not too daunting for the weekend cyclist. They offer splendid views and the opportunity to meet local people and enjoy their way of life.
Places to stay and/or eat are detailed along with points of interest along the way.
A thorough guide (and a great read) to cycling in this very velo-friendly country.
0Comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2003
This is an extremely useful book: the content is excellent and it's small enough to slip into your cycling-top pocket.
The introduction contains everything you'll need to know when contemplating and planning a cycling trip abroad, from preparing / packing your bike to the best local cakes to eat 'en route'.
The routes are very well described with height gains, distance covered and valuable meteorological information included as well. Where and when to stay information is comprehensive, with accurate budgetary prices included. The photos are inspirational and have convinced me to book next year.
In short, an excellent, comprehensive book. You need take no other.
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2008
Used for a tour round Madrid last month, book is very good and useful but the detail is getting a bit dated. Roads now becoming motorways with no bike allowed and no alternative route being a problem.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2014
This is a great guide to help plan a cycling holiday in Spain. I did route 5 (a loop out of Madrid) which included some breathtaking scenery as well as interesting towns and cities. The distance each day suggested by the author was about right for me. You'll need detailed maps too, but it's a great place to start.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2013
This an inspiring, extremely informative and fabulous read for anyone who likes travelling or cycling especially traveling on a bicycle.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2015
Very useful detailed route desctiptions.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2014
spain is huge and this is useful
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2015
I purchased this book on the strength of the reviews but can't honestly understand why it is rated so highly.To me I found it difficult to follow as well as hard to read due to the small text it didn't seam to me to be written by someone who cycles.This man talks about gear ratios but doesn't convert them into inches which is all I understand.He mentions how much a loaded tourer with rider would weigh being around 100 KG which is ridiculous considering the average man weighs 85 KG.So there's noway you could have a fully loaded touring bike for the other 15 Kilograms I myself weigh 15 stone which is about 95KG so this seams impossible unless you are a very small skinny man with an unloaded racing bike.There are many other things I don't like about this book but cannot be bothered to go into.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)