Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:    (0)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nearly all you need
Good book for carrying with you on the camino. Well written and easy to read. Misses though on listing all the Albergues along the way, and takes too much space giving directions that are not needed on the Camino.
Published on 5 Aug 2006 by Leslie Gilmour

versus
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars More useful publications available
My partner and I used this guide while completing the camino in May 2007 and August 2008. The limitations of the guide were obvious last year but as it did contain some useful information, e.g. the distances between vilages we took it with us again this year supplemented by the Confraternity of St James 2008 acommodation guide. From observing other publications while we...
Published on 17 Aug 2008 by Jane A


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars More useful publications available, 17 Aug 2008
This review is from: Way of St James - Spain: Pyrenees-Santiago-Finisterre: Camino De Santiago (Cicerone International Walking): Camino De Santiago - Pyrenees-Santiago-Finesterre: Camino De Santiago No. 1 (Paperback)
My partner and I used this guide while completing the camino in May 2007 and August 2008. The limitations of the guide were obvious last year but as it did contain some useful information, e.g. the distances between vilages we took it with us again this year supplemented by the Confraternity of St James 2008 acommodation guide. From observing other publications while we were there and also research on the net it seems as if there are a lot more useful guides out there. One crucial ommission relates to contour levels and hence level of difficulty and timings between vilages. The pilgrim office at St Jean Pied de Port gives out a useful sheet with this information which many people use. As the previous reviewer says too much space is used giving unnecessary route directions and the information about places to stay is hopelessly out of date. I also think that saying that the average person could complete the route comfortably in 4 or 5 weeks with days off at various places is misleading and could cause people to pack to much walking into their days resulting in injury.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nearly all you need, 5 Aug 2006
By 
Leslie Gilmour "Lesboss" (Dublin) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Way of St James - Spain: Pyrenees-Santiago-Finisterre: Camino De Santiago (Cicerone International Walking): Camino De Santiago - Pyrenees-Santiago-Finesterre: Camino De Santiago No. 1 (Paperback)
Good book for carrying with you on the camino. Well written and easy to read. Misses though on listing all the Albergues along the way, and takes too much space giving directions that are not needed on the Camino.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Getting older, 6 Jun 2011
This review is from: Way of St James - Spain: Pyrenees-Santiago-Finisterre: Camino De Santiago (Cicerone International Walking): Camino De Santiago - Pyrenees-Santiago-Finesterre: Camino De Santiago No. 1 (Paperback)
Alison Raju's pocket-size guide to the Camino scores on a number of points. It is small and really pocket-sized; the maps are excellent (considering the size); the directions are clear; the extra info is well-chosen. My only very slight gripe is that in the 3 years since the updates were added, clearly things have changed quite a lot but I realise that any printed item is by necessity out-of date as soon as it is printed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good for walkers doing the pilgrimage, 13 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Way of St James - Spain: Pyrenees-Santiago-Finisterre: Camino De Santiago (Cicerone International Walking): Camino De Santiago - Pyrenees-Santiago-Finesterre: Camino De Santiago No. 1 (Paperback)
Excellent if you are doing the walk but little detail regarding tourist information of the cities en route.
Well priced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good to planify the trip...only decent on history and current details, 25 Nov 2014
By 
F. J. A. Lopez (UNITED KINGDOM) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Way of St James - Spain: Pyrenees-Santiago-Finisterre: Camino De Santiago (Cicerone International Walking): Camino De Santiago - Pyrenees-Santiago-Finesterre: Camino De Santiago No. 1 (Paperback)
Notable book although would need more local details (on the towns and village) and less geographic bore.

Is really good to planify the trip...less good to know historical or current details on the towns and cities.

Still a good purchase!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Way of St James - Spain: Pyrenees-Santiago-Finisterre: Camino De Santiago (Cicerone International Walking): Camino De Santiago - Pyrenees-Santiago-Finesterre: Camino De Santiago No. 1
Way of St James - Spain: Pyrenees-Santiago-Fini
sterre:
by Alison Raju (Paperback - 1 Nov 2003)
£13.46
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews