Customer Reviews


7 Reviews


3 star
0

2 star
0

1 star
0

 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wainright for Kids, 3 Dec. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Rocky Rambler's Wild Walks (Spiral-bound)
In a world where the Playstation is king, Rocky Rambler uses good old cartoon fun to encourage kids from the couch.
This is a well thought-out book that lets the children guide you along the walks, so they feel it's their day out (which it should be). Brightly coloured cartoons replace Wainwright's sketches and points of interest to kids are included, along with the odd mystery question.
The three grades of walk used in the book allow you to estimate the physical strain that may be involved. The split is about a third each. Don't think just cos it's a kids book that these walks are all easy - the "mountain goat" rating is there for a reason.
There is nothing else like it that I've found on the market, so if you like walking, and want to do it with the kids, then this book is well worth considering.
The only down side is that there are only ten walks, but when you consider the effort put into making the book, this seems reasonable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rock on Rocky!!!, 26 July 2010
By 
Mrs. S. K. Prew "Princessplain" (Surrey U K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rocky Rambler's Wild Walks (Spiral-bound)
We bought this book when our kids were younger, and have done all the walks in it during various trips on holiday to The Lake District. The walks are all graded in difficulty, and are accurate and easy to follow. The 'game-board' styling is great as it breaks the walk down into manageable chunks for more reluctant walkers, and there are fun facts throughout that keep the kids interested. We have discovered new places with his book, such as 'Orrest Head' and my personal favourite 'Tilberthwaite' as well as seeing old favourites represented like 'Tarn Hows'. My only gripe is that there isn't a second volume with new walks in it! My children who are now 'Tweenies', are still keen on the format, and it's been a really useful resource in getting our family out and about in the stunning countryside of this beautiful part of the world. 5 Stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Childrens walks in the Lake district, 16 April 2006
This is a really fun book for all the family - makes walking in the Lake District more interesting and these are walks that are suitable for families. We use this time and time again year after year. Some of the instructions - like start points were a bit ambiguous. Really colourful with great illustrations and ideas of what to see and do. Spiral bound makes it easy to use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It is still accurate and great fun - exactly as I remembered it, 10 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I had this book 20 years ago as a child. I bought it for my daughter and she loves it!...
It is still accurate and great fun - exactly as I remembered it.
Wish they could publish these books for everywhere in the UK.
I can't recommend it enough...
Great outdoor family healthy living...
Delivered as expected...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great book for children visiting the Lakes, 8 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rocky Rambler's Wild Walks (Spiral-bound)
a good book for getting children interested in walking with their parents whilst walking in the Lake District. Gives ideas of how difficult a walk is using goats etcetera and provides things for children to look out for

prevented my daughter from wanting to go home every five minutes whilst walking around Rydal Water
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great for all ages!, 21 Jun. 2013
By 
F. Fisher "Fozzie" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rocky Rambler's Wild Walks (Spiral-bound)
Had this asa child, had to buy another one.
Great for people of all ages, a fun way to have a walk.
Lovely picture guides for children too.

Is a MUST for walkers with children.
Or encouraging children with becoming more independent- taking charge of the routes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book. They should write more., 28 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rocky Rambler's Wild Walks (Spiral-bound)
Have used this book and my 5 year old had a great time playing the leader. She was holding it most of the time.
It's a great book and knows how to engage. The Illustrations are just right! Improvements: make each sheet removable and water resistant; write books for other areas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rocky Rambler's Wild Walks
Rocky Rambler's Wild Walks by Iain Peters (Spiral-bound - 17 Aug. 2007)
£8.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews