Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great journey
My girlfriend and I cycled from Passau to Budapest in 2006. We took only this book, the Bikeline map, a tent, and hired bikes in Vienna. The route is very flat and well maintained (on the Austrian side), suitable for all levels of cyclist. We had a great time and would recommend it to anyone.

Mr Higginson has done a fine job of covering the journey. Every...
Published on 14 Mar 2007 by Mr. C. J. Bainbridge

versus
15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good in parts
I have just cycled from Vienna to Budapest using this book as my only guide. This is not enough! As in fairness the author does point out. A decent set of maps of the region will save you from the kind of navigational error that can cause morale to drop on a days touring.

The sections on border crossings are now out of date. Much of the route is now signed as...
Published on 20 Oct 2008 by Mr. S. F. Besley


Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great journey, 14 Mar 2007
This review is from: The Danube Cycle Way: Donaueschingen to Budapest (Cicerone International Cycling) (Paperback)
My girlfriend and I cycled from Passau to Budapest in 2006. We took only this book, the Bikeline map, a tent, and hired bikes in Vienna. The route is very flat and well maintained (on the Austrian side), suitable for all levels of cyclist. We had a great time and would recommend it to anyone.

Mr Higginson has done a fine job of covering the journey. Every village you pass through on the way has at least a couple of paragraphs dedicated to it, briefly describing the history of the town, sites to see, places to stay and eat, and maps for the larger towns. There are many interesting things to see along the route, so pace yourself - you could easily spend a whole week in Vienna alone!

There are a few minor inaccuracies in the book due to recent changes. Currency isn't a big problem - Euros and credit cards are usable in Austria and Bratislava, and there are plenty of ATMs. After crossing the border into Hungary the book warns that you will have no opportunity to get Hungarian Forints; the first town you pass through now has an ATM. The exit from Gyor is described as being unsignposted - now someone has helpfully slapped navigation arrows along a series of lampposts. The route into Budapest is described as being a "nightmare" through dangerous roads filled with busy traffic - now there is now a pleasant cycle route from Obuda into the heart of Budapest, which conveniently passes the Obuda campsite.

I only have minor criticisms of the book itself. The photos are too dark (cloudy/poor lighting). The focus is often on the local church and other historical attractions; it misses some of the more exciting attractions like outdoor water parks that may be interesting to younger cyclists. Maybe something for the 2nd edition!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good in parts, 20 Oct 2008
By 
Mr. S. F. Besley "Stephen Besley" (Suffolk, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Danube Cycle Way: Donaueschingen to Budapest (Cicerone International Cycling) (Paperback)
I have just cycled from Vienna to Budapest using this book as my only guide. This is not enough! As in fairness the author does point out. A decent set of maps of the region will save you from the kind of navigational error that can cause morale to drop on a days touring.

The sections on border crossings are now out of date. Much of the route is now signed as European long distance route 6. No mention of this is made in the text.

The two main deficiencies I found were the lack of anything other than the most basic of maps and the habit in the text of referring to to a navigational point on the route without giving any context. The reader is left wondering if the vital left turn is 1 mile, 5 miles to 10 miles up the road. Perhaps the photographs of churches and rural scenes could have been replaced by some aerial images from Google earth showing the route.

Despite this it is a good little book. Some nice descriptive touches and generally good route and accommodation advice. Its modest size being a bonus, as one can cycle with it a pocket and with the odd wobble refer to it on the fly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Take it, but with a pinch of salt, 8 Jun 2010
By 
S. Shehade (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Danube Cycle Way: Donaueschingen to Budapest (Cicerone International Cycling) (Paperback)
I recently cycled this route from the start of the Danube to Budapest using this book as a guide. I agree entirely with the 2 previous reviews comments. The book sorely needs an update and could be a much more complete guide if it included some simple miscellaneous information, such as pictures of the signs to look out for (they change frequently along the route) and a translation of the most common cycle signs (e.g. cyclists dismount).

A decent map (Bikeline's 'The Danube Cycleway' pt's 1-3 ideally) is a must, the book describes the route and gives some navigational help, but if you have strayed from the route or are not sure exactly where you are it is largely useless. The Danube cycleway seems to have been re-signed and re-directed since the book, it can be very misleading to try and follow the book sometimes. Many times when using the book to plan a days cycling it was annoying to find en route that the next town was 10km further away than the book states. The route is well paved (with some exceptions) and well signed in Germany and Austria, but there will always be temporary obstructions which the book can't anticipate. Entering and leaving large towns along the whole route is generally tricky too.

I found the places the book suggested stopping at overnight and the daily distances suggested to be ridiculous. The first 2 days are only ~40km and then later on two ~100km days are next to a 79km day that starts with 'climbing severely for several kilometres' (on a detour, from Weltenberg to Kelheim. Locals and tourist info stressed that this was madness and the road was too busy to be safe so I gave this a miss, visiting Weltenberg by boat as the book recommends and returning the same way).

Overnight stops where the book recommended were unfeasible as the author favours guesthouses in tiny communities which weren't open when I passed through in May. I also couldnt see the value in stopping in the middle of nowhere when larger (emphasis on the 'er') towns nearby had better facilities and more to investigate during the evening.

The book is good for a description of towns and points of interest along the route, suggesting places to visit, although if you stopped at every church it mentions the trip would take twice as long. It is important to note that the book does not actually follow the signed Danube cycleway for the whole route either. There are a couple of short detours (under 15k) where the author prefers one town to another, and also a long detour (~3 days cycling) to follow the Altmuhl river at one stage. Following these suggestions can be rewarding but leaves you at the mercy of the books accuracy, as you will be cycling without signs and in areas not covered by your maps.

For all the books very frustrating faults, I still recommend reading it as a guide to the route and for some of the authors insights. Just don't rely on it for navigation, the Bikeline maps are much better for this. Lastly, the book states that the Bikeline maps pt1 and pt3 are not available in english, only pt2. They are all available in english now and pt's 2 and 3 can be bought in english at tourist info and book shops near their respective beginnings. There is now also a part 4 covering Budapest to the Black Sea, although the roads in Hungary were so badly kept, dangerous and poorly signed that I would have to think seriously about doing that trip anytime soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Start Again, Cicerone., 13 Feb 2011
This review is from: The Danube Cycle Way: Donaueschingen to Budapest (Cicerone International Cycling) (Paperback)
I cycled the Danube Way from Donaueschingen to Budapest during September / October 2010. Like other reviewers, I found this book rather out of date. The Danube cycleway is now very comprehensively signposted throughout its entire length, but Cicerone books usually add that extra bit of information and background which can be really helpful and interesting. Sadly, this book does not. As an example, the author's information on getting to Donaueschingen is of little value and he dismisses air transport based on tittle tattle rather than the experience we should expect of an author of a cycle guide.
Throughout this book, the author declines the opportunity to provide anything but the most basic assistance to the cyclist. By stage 6 I had lost confidence in the book and declined its invitation to leave the well signed Danube Trail to pursue a 120Km deviation which the author confusingly refers to as if it is, if fact, the Danube Trail.
In one area the book appears admirable. Its descriptions of the religious buildings along the trail are, I suspect, comprehensive and well researched. The author's enthusiasm is clear long before he directs you away from the trail to the Abbey perched atop a rather impressive hill some kilometres away.
I cannot imagine what has possessed Cicerone to regard such obsession as appropriate to a cycling guide.
This book does not reach the standards usually met by Cicerone Guides. It is woefully out of date and should be re-written as a guide to the Danube Trail to help cyclists rather than souls.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Chocolate Fireguard, 8 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Danube Cycle Way: Donaueschingen to Budapest (Cicerone International Cycling) (Paperback)
This book is useful in providing an overall view of the route and for providing inspiration to give it a try. As a guidebook it is sadly lacking. We recently cycled the 600kms of the German Danube and I decided that the guide wasn't even worth the effort of carrying the additional weight. The choice of overnight stops and the length of each section is bizarre. Information about accommodation is minimal.The maps could have been taken from the back of a fag packet.
I agree with the previous reviewer that the choice of route along Altmuhl might be interesting, but the author doesn't provide any information about the route along the Danube if you don't want to follow his route. The decision to get the boat from Kelheim to Weltenburg and then cycle along a busy main road is inexplicable.
We used the Bikeline Guide throughout which is accurate, up-to-date and with plenty of information about each town you pass through. The maps is that guide are also excellent ( we didn't use a separate map)and it's possible to easily calculate intermediate distances should you choose to lengthen or shorten your day. Until the Cicerone guide receives an extensive update and revision, don't buy it. Buy the Bikeline guide instead.Danube Bike Trail: German Danube from Donaueschingen to Passau - BIKE.121.E v. 1
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars terrible. Having just cycled from Donaueschingen to Budapest the ..., 5 Aug 2014
This review is from: The Danube Cycle Way: Donaueschingen to Budapest (Cicerone International Cycling) (Paperback)
In a word; terrible. Having just cycled from Donaueschingen to Budapest the only useful information in this guide for me was that it states which towns have campsites ( although some were outdated). The author insists on deviating from the route several times for no apparent reason and the only thing he seems interested in along the route are churches , and other sites of Christian worship. This book should not be called the danube cycle way but John Higginson's preferred route of cycling from Donaueschingen to Budapest visiting as many churches as possible. The actual route itself is well signposted and tourist information posts along the way provide better guides than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Useful starting off point, 21 July 2013
By 
geoffers (Sussex, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Danube Cycle Way: Donaueschingen to Budapest (Cicerone International Cycling) (Paperback)
I needed to get a view of the whole thing in one place. Loads of web sites of course, but I find they're useful to add to a basic level of knowledge. So - I didn't expect to find everything I needed to know, but I did expect a basic grounding in the route. And I think I got that. I'm in the planning stage so can't 'road test' it. I doubt whether I'd take the book with me - preferring to have a good map and rely on local info along the way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just what I needed, 13 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Danube Cycle Way: Donaueschingen to Budapest (Cicerone International Cycling) (Paperback)
Came promptly - no problems at all.
The book was just as described.
It prompted me to look at other nooks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Don't buy this guide, 2 Aug 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Danube Cycle Way: Donaueschingen to Budapest (Cicerone International Cycling) (Paperback)
When you read about armed border guards it is quite clear that this guide is hopelessly out of date. Not so much with the main attractions as many of them are old churches.

There are many more cycle paths than the guide suggests - but the roads are still heavily pot holed in Hungary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Danube Cycle Way: Donaueschingen to Budapest (Cicerone International Cycling)
£10.36
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews