Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic !! Buy it..., 17 Aug 2009
By 
J. B. Mcdonald "macca" (Stoke on Trent. England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Archie and the Listers: The heroic story of Archie Scott Brown and the racing marque he made famous (Hardcover)
An absolutely superb read. Pick this up and you won't put it down !!! Archie Scott Brown ... what a star !! Born with horrendous birth defects did he sit on his backside and feel sorry for himself ? No.. he went motor racing and was damn good at it. Tired easily, short of breath, stunted legs, no shinbones (!!!) deformed feet, missing toes and no right hand and he still put the wind up Moss, Fangio and the rest !! Makes todays F1 stars look a bit antiseptic !!
As usual the good always die young but this was in the days of no safety regs when racing drivers were the gladiators of their day and death was pretty inevitable in a 180 mph Lister Jaguar.
The Lister story ? Brian Lister taking on the big guys Ferrari, Maserati, Jaguar etc and winning before computer aided design and big money snuffed out the small dedicated teams who were doing it on a shoestring.
Can't recommend this book more highly. It's well written, factual, funny, heroic, poignant and absolutely rivetting. Enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Archie - A fitting Memorial, 26 July 2004
By 
Mr. S. J. Whittaker (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Archie and the Listers: The heroic story of Archie Scott Brown and the racing marque he made famous (Hardcover)
Archie and the Listers was a spellbinding read. An emotional account of 50's Motorsport. This book delves into the characters and relationships rather than just race statistics. The story unfolds literaly from Archies birth until his untimely death at Spa and is a moving account of triumph in adversity and the conquering of the finest racers despite the challenges of his disabilities. I could not put this book down. The finest Motor Sport read for years!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superb book!, 14 Jan 2004
By 
J E Patchett (CARSHALTON, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Archie and the Listers: The heroic story of Archie Scott Brown and the racing marque he made famous (Hardcover)
Robert Edwards clearly is very interested in his subject and his thorough research shows in the detail included in this comprehensive history of Archie's life and motor racing exploits. Before reading this book I had only read a brief article in Motor Sport [later 1970's I think] but the book includes all aspects of Archie's life and sets them in the context of the 1950's, the attitudes to motor racing at the time and how the garagistes were able to hold their own against the big name drivers and factory cars. The ending of the book is sad but the author treats the sad events at Spa with respect and compassion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You've never heard of him, but a real sporting hero, 7 Jan 2005
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Archie and the Listers: The heroic story of Archie Scott Brown and the racing marque he made famous (Hardcover)
Step back into the 1950s and a world of Moss, Fangio, fast cars, dashing rogues et al. Surely a one armed man with calipers can't drive in Forumla One!
Makes today's multi millionaire'legends' look pathetic.
If you want to know what it was like to live on the edge in the fifties, start here.
Fantastic book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Gem about a Forgotten Hero, 13 April 2012
This review is from: Archie and the Listers: The heroic story of Archie Scott Brown and the racing marque he made famous (Hardcover)
I was not quite nine years old in 1958 when Archie Scott-Brown died at Spa . My knowledge of him was therefore limited to his mention in race reports in my collection of aged 'Motor Sport ' magazines .What I did know from that source was that he had one arm and was often more than the equal of Stirling Moss , whenever they met in sportscars . This book has proved excellent reading ,it has bought this long forgotten hero back to life for me . More than that , it has given me insights into the bond between Archie and Brian Lister , and a good history of Lister cars . An excellent read .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Small in stature, big heart, great driver, 21 Jun 2011
This review is from: Archie and the Listers: The heroic story of Archie Scott Brown and the racing marque he made famous (Hardcover)
I met Archie at Goodwood in about 1956,so it was good to read such a well researched book about him and the Listers. The sporting spirit of 50's motorsport is illustrated well in contrast to the "business" of Motor Racing today. However the book also shows the increasing commercial aspect of motor sport in to the 60's. I recommend this book to all motoring enthusiasts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Archie, the Listers and Don Moore, 29 Aug 2010
This review is from: Archie and the Listers: The heroic story of Archie Scott Brown and the racing marque he made famous (Hardcover)
Superb book bringing to life an extraordinary character, Archie Scott-Brown. You have to wonder whether he would be allowed to drive an ordinary road car today with all our wonderful H&S, let alone the F1 and Sports cars of his day. What a great pleasure to read this. Can I also say that it was also a delight to learn something of the life of a personal hero, Don Moore. This engine and tuning wizard was the architypical quiet gentleman, unflappable, and without vice, and also one of the reasons why Listers were so successful. I had the good fortune to meet Don when he prepared racing engines for me in the 70's and 80's and was struck by his most honourable and decent manner. A true Englishman of the old school.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A terrific biography of one of my heroes, 4 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Archie and the Listers: The heroic story of Archie Scott Brown and the racing marque he made famous (Hardcover)
Bought to replace a copy which I foolishly lent and lost. I couldn't manage without another copy and I'll take good care of this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars When a skilled man is partnered by the correct equipment success follows, 19 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Archie and the Listers: The heroic story of Archie Scott Brown and the racing marque he made famous (Hardcover)
This is an informative reminder of the enormous skill of Archie Scott Brown and the Listers who built him competitive cars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really good., 30 Jun 2013
By 
Sue Simmons "Doodles" (Basingstoke, Hampshire UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Archie and the Listers: The heroic story of Archie Scott Brown and the racing marque he made famous (Hardcover)
A very well written book on a fascinating subject, a very determined, skilful driver,. Good on the technical detail also.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Archie and the Listers: The heroic story of Archie Scott Brown and the racing marque he made famous
Used & New from: £123.81
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews