Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Best Book on 5S I've Seen
5S lies at the heart of lean and, yet, there are only three books dedicated to the subject on Amazon. Perhaps that is because it is more of a practical than a intellectual skill. Nonetheless, 5S provides an excellent grounding for building a team that can progress to lean improvement. 5S provides the discipline to identify and map flow, calculate takt time, define metrics...
Published on 14 May 2010 by Mr. Ross Maynard

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Only text. No images
Schemes, drawings, pictures are not appeared in the book, in onder to clarify the concepts or show real examples.
Published 1 month ago by Antoni Viladomat


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Best Book on 5S I've Seen, 14 May 2010
By 
Mr. Ross Maynard (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 5S Kaizen in 90 Minutes (Paperback)
5S lies at the heart of lean and, yet, there are only three books dedicated to the subject on Amazon. Perhaps that is because it is more of a practical than a intellectual skill. Nonetheless, 5S provides an excellent grounding for building a team that can progress to lean improvement. 5S provides the discipline to identify and map flow, calculate takt time, define metrics and standard work, and understand capacity. "5S in 90 Minutes" is the best of the books I have read on 5S, setting the topic in the broader lean context and providing some really good insights into the purpose of 5S. I spent much more than 90 minutes on it and the book deserves that attention. I've taken a star off my rating for the author's occasional rambling, and there could also be some more templates or checklists, but overall this is the best book on 5S I've seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Concise & practical, 17 Jun 2014
By 
Concretecow (Buckinghamshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 5S Kaizen in 90 Minutes (Paperback)
Generally, the book is good value for just under £7.

It is quick to read, and well organised into chapters dealing with each of the 5 "S's". It's clear layout and approach makes 5S easily comprehensible to the reader, particularly those with little or no experience who I would guess are the main target audience.

The thing that lets it down, however, is that it contains a number of grammatical errors. These look like they are largely the result of spelling mistakes, or "auto correct" errors that are not picked up by spell checker because they are actual words eg. "that" instead of "than". One of Ohno's 7 wastes (waste of overproduction) is also repeated in the list on page 64.

There may be those who think I am being picky, but this is, after all, a book about quality and I would expect a higher standard of proof reading. This loses it the 5th star, but otherwise, apart from the slightly irritating errors, I would recommend this to anyone wanting a simple and practical explanation of how to implement 5S Kaizen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very well written, 6 Jun 2009
This review is from: 5S Kaizen in 90 Minutes (Paperback)
A very good introduction in Kaizen though further reading will be required (the author does submit further links in the appendix)
If you feel as though your office, shop floor or own business requires continuous process improvement then this book will start you on your way. I have taken bits for from this book to try and get the ball rolling within my environment; the book is very practical in the way its written and yes i did read it in under 90 minutes. give it a go!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 16 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 5S Kaizen in 90 Minutes (Paperback)
The book was in excellent condition and the contents are what I expected. should make interesting reading. Many thanks for supplying in good time also.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 29 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 5S Kaizen in 90 Minutes (Paperback)
This book does exactly what it says on the tin, it is a quick read that helps to explain the 5s kaizen for beginners
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Easy to digest, 17 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 5S Kaizen in 90 Minutes (Paperback)
This is a good overview of the 5S principles and is clearly written and you don't need to be a rocket scientist to understand it which means that it's a good book to pass around a department to refer too and read

It's written about UK factories as well which helps

I am just looking for that 5S reference book with a load of scenarios and ideas if this book had some more of those it would be really, really good - I find it easy to understand the principle but need some scenarios to get the ball rolling in the real world
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good, 28 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 5S Kaizen in 90 Minutes (Paperback)
Book received in good conditions, as described and after transacton. No necessery any comunication. I recommend this book to any who wants a new perspectiv on theme
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Read, 7 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 5S Kaizen in 90 Minutes (Paperback)
Excellent read. Keeps the concept very simple and easy to understand. Very easy to apply. But it will take you longer than 90 minutes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Only text. No images, 12 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 5S Kaizen in 90 Minutes (Paperback)
Schemes, drawings, pictures are not appeared in the book, in onder to clarify the concepts or show real examples.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 7 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 5S Kaizen in 90 Minutes (Paperback)
Provided a very good summary of 5S technique
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

5S Kaizen in 90 Minutes
5S Kaizen in 90 Minutes by Andrew Scotchmer (Paperback - 22 Feb 2008)
£9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews