Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars71
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£15.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 October 2013
Visiting a place you are not familiar with, fancy a decent pint to wash down some tasty pub grub in a comfortable ambiance...then you will be well advised to have a copy of the "Good Beer Guide" to hand. This is really well constructed, easy to use and tells you pretty much everything you may want to know about a hostelry...where it is, whether it has B&B, do they serve food and on what days...one thing you can be sure of if it is in the guide is that it will have decent beer! An excellent guide and one that I can honestly think of no way of improving...so definitely five stars!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2013
I have never been pointed in the wrong direction by the GBG; the pubs are selected by those who know best - the locals. An invaluable piece of kit if you are exploring pastures new. Descriptions are invariably spot on and the pubs range from backstreet boozers to swankier gastropubs - the one thing they share is great beer!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2013
This is undoubtedly the best beer book in the world. Well until the 2015 edition comes out. Lists some of the best pubs for real ale in the UK in detail covering food, opening hours, type of pub and facilities as well as beers sold. Also lists all real ale breweries in the UK and the beers they produce complete with tasting notes when these are available.

The pub information is supplied by local CAMRA groups throughout the country and of course they are only human so your favourite pub may not be in there. Also the book lasts for a year and pubs can change in that time so it is never perfect but what guide is?.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2013
As always, the latest version of this Guide is thorough, meticulously researched, and a mine of information and facts for the beer and pub fanatic. It is the best way of locating a decent pub serving high quality ale in strange environs - and may even lead you to some excellent local gems previously unknown. The strength of this Guide is that it is researched by CAMRA's members (no doubt extremely thoroughly!), and that, in contrast to other guides, such as the Good Pub Guide, no payment is made for an entry. Whilst the 'GPG 2014' has been given a good slagging off by some, I am sure that it has its uses if you are after a pleasant environment in which to consume a glass or two of Sancerre with some 'gastro' type food. The key difference from the 'GPG' or USP of the the 'GBG 2014' is that pubs are in there primarily because of the QUALITY OF THE ALE served. This means that some of the hostelries featured may not be of the type looked for by the posy middle-classes.

The entries are organised on a county basis, and larger cities are split down into constituent areas or zones within these sections. Each pub entry has info about beers served, facilities and services, opening hours, and a description of the character that is, I have found, unerringly accurate and apposite. There is an exhaustive section covering breweries, which have exploded in number and in the bewildering variety of ales on offer. The same can not be said for pubs, which are closing at a frightening rate. This is partly down to supermarkets flogging ridiculously cheap booze, and partly down to rapacious asset-stripping allied to onerous tenancy conditions by some pub owning companies. The authors of the GPG rightly were criticised for their rather unhelpful comments about British pubs, seeming to applaud some sort of neo-Darwinian shake-out, and showing a complete lack of understanding of many of the real problems faced by honest and hard-working publicans. CAMRA and the editors of the GBG are very much in favour of giving greater protection in planning legislation to British pubs, and want to support pubs, even those deemed 'unviable' by pub companies. There have been cases of such pubs being saved and run successfully as community enterprises.

Buy this Guide if you appreciate the enormous variety and quality of British ale and love the British pub in all its guises, and especially if you need a way of finding this in unfamiliar parts of the country. Support British pubs!
22 comments|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2014
Nothing much changes with this guide.I have always found camras guides to be reasonably reliable, yes there are entries that are biased in one way or another (ex-camra member writing!) but still a reliable guide on the whole (as long as it is used as such ie. a guide). Like most guides there is going to be information that people may wish to know that isn't contained and other information that they may think 'i don't need to know that'. not a bad place to start for real ale officionados though.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2013
Excellent review good breweries and pubs we worth the purchase interesting document/ book captivating reading interesting to find new breweries and drink there beers
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2013
used this back in 2012 and bought the 2014 version for kindle now; however use is limited as was 2012 version which is why I vowed never to buy for kindle again. I use the maps a lot and on the kindle version they are useless as they are illegible and cannot be enlarged and trust me I tried on 2014 version just as much as 2012 version. I would get the proper book to use properly not this kindle version.

I use the kindle version when out cycling but I need to plan on proper book before I leave home so kindle does not replace the book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2014
I am very happy with deciding to purchase this book. If you are a beer lover then should definitely be considered. Packed with information on pubs and beers across the land. This purchase has come at the right time for me as I have recently moved to a different part of the UK and it has also helped me settle in to the new surroundings after all its the pubs that make the place for me.

There is also a useful section at the back of the book about microbreweries.

Well worth the investment!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2013
As usual, Roger Pretz edits a worthwhile guide to pobs who serve real ale. Unlike other other books, there is a brewery section
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2013
Just what it said it is. A useful guide to pubs as a start to where to find good beer in unknown towns
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)