Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best beer in the World - Best guide to it...!
If you like good beer you will love Belgium and you will love this book...! This 2014 edition is the 7th and this edition sees editor Tim Webb, at the helm since the first edition, team up with Joe Stange, co-editor of Around Brussels in 80 Bars. The Good Beer Guide gives you so much more than just a list of. Belgian beers, it gives a detailed account of the country,...
Published 13 months ago by sixze65

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars good as a reference but take his opinions of the beers with a truck load of salt!
A great reference guide to let you know what beers are out there and where to get them. Lots of useful info on the breweries themselves, different regions, and events in the Belgium calender.

Sadly what spoils this book for me, is the ratings given to the different beers. I can't help but feel writer Tim Webb's taste buds are not what they used to be. I am a...
Published 16 days ago by Dan the Man


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best beer in the World - Best guide to it...!, 22 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Good Beer Guide Belgium (Good Beer Guides) (Paperback)
If you like good beer you will love Belgium and you will love this book...! This 2014 edition is the 7th and this edition sees editor Tim Webb, at the helm since the first edition, team up with Joe Stange, co-editor of Around Brussels in 80 Bars. The Good Beer Guide gives you so much more than just a list of. Belgian beers, it gives a detailed account of the country, it's history, areas, geography, people and more - but the information on the bars, cafés, beers and breweries in the best beer producing country in the world is absolutely first class. The guide is split into sections covering the breweries and beers and also lists bars/cafés in the various regions in Belgium that sell a range of 'class' Belgian beers, the selection is selective and will point any beer hunter in the right direction to find Belgium's Best Bars. The descriptions are informative and interesting and quite often quirky and amusing, all meticulously researched. All in all, a wonderful book, a travel guide, pub guide, beer guide and an invaluable guide for anyone wanting to visit this somewhat understated and perhaps even under estimated country. If you want to drink some of the best beers in the world and drink in the best places in the world to drink them, then buy the Good Beer Guide to Belgium. It gets better with every edition - I particularly like the many cafe bar interior photos in this edition. Go there, take this guide and Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential guide for the beer lover in Belguim, 1 Jun. 2014
By 
C. Parcell - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Good Beer Guide Belgium (Good Beer Guides) (Paperback)
To me the bible. A real beer drinker should not go to Belgium without. It informs you on the many styles of beer and the best bars to drink it. I update every release of a new addition as over the years bars are changing and like England some classic drinking places and breweries vanish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The bar/pub recommendations were varied but good - obviously particular people will have particular favourites according ..., 13 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Good Beer Guide Belgium (Good Beer Guides) (Paperback)
Very well compiled book for the beer-inclined visitor to Belgium. A bit of reading prior to your visit (or on the train) will be repaid later.

The bar/pub recommendations were varied but good - obviously particular people will have particular favourites according to likes/dislikes. These recommendations are based on bars having a big beer list rather than being great pubs per se but no complaint on the ones I went to.

In fact, the book downplays two Brussels classics, A La Becasse and A La Mort Subite: IMHO, having gone to both, quite rightly.

I really like the star system applied to beers and breweries: this sort of getting off the fence is exactly what is required when confronted by a vast beer list, most of which you have never heard, and again IMHO, right on the money.

So, as far as I'm concerned, an essential guide and well worth the investment. Really looking forward to my next visit to Belgium
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars good as a reference but take his opinions of the beers with a truck load of salt!, 1 April 2015
This review is from: Good Beer Guide Belgium (Good Beer Guides) (Paperback)
A great reference guide to let you know what beers are out there and where to get them. Lots of useful info on the breweries themselves, different regions, and events in the Belgium calender.

Sadly what spoils this book for me, is the ratings given to the different beers. I can't help but feel writer Tim Webb's taste buds are not what they used to be. I am a keen visitor to Belgium, having sampled in excess of 50 beers on my last trip, and someone who is soon to be in the business of Belgian beers, so I feel I can speak with some authority on the subject.

Many beers that my family, friends and I rate extremely highly are given a poultry 3/5.5, others which we consider very bland, poor examples are elevated to 4.5/5.5. Of course its only natural that everybody has different opinions, however when the famous multi-award winning Westvleteren 12, widely regarded to be THE best beer in the world, scored a mere 4.5/5.5, lower than numerous other much more forgettable beers, one must surely question the validity of his entire scoring system. For a much more well rounded opinion on taste, check out websites like ratebeer.com
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For real belgian beers lovers., 6 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Good Beer Guide Belgium (Good Beer Guides) (Paperback)
Well done and very detailed. For real belgian beer lovers. The chapter about wild fermenting beers is very intereresting. All the most important blegian beers and breweries are reviewed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 9 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Good Beer Guide Belgium (Good Beer Guides) (Paperback)
I bought the previous edition and thoroughly enjoyed it. This one is even better. I use it as a guide book to find great bars selling both great beer and great food. Although primarily and obviously a book on Belgian beer a dozen pages are devoted to Belgian food. To be honest the descriptions of these bars has never let me down. In addition the book has led me to a brewery that does accomodation and has a fantastic bistro and led me to villages that I didn't know existed. A thoroughly reasearched and well written book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Informative and well-researched. An essential accompaniment for all beer lovers visiting Belgium., 19 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Good Beer Guide Belgium (Good Beer Guides) (Paperback)
A must for any beer lover / beer tourist heading to Belgium. In depth and easy to use. The definitive guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must have guide, 10 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Good Beer Guide Belgium (Good Beer Guides) (Paperback)
This is quite simply the ultimate guide for Belgian beer. As a regular (but not regular enough) visitor to Belgium this guide has to come too. All the best bars are listed with plenty of detail to ensure you find the right place. Full brewery/beer listings with a handy section on where to get Belgian beer around the world. Make full use of Tim Webb's knowledge and buy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well written informative and independent, 29 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Good Beer Guide Belgium (Good Beer Guides) (Paperback)
Whether you have a passing or more intense interest in the mysteries of Belgium beer this book is a joy.

Easily navigated and referenced it covers all beers with a spirited independence of mind, they even question the hype surrounding "the world's greatest beer" Westvleteren which is refreshing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Belgian guide for beer and breweries, 23 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Good Beer Guide Belgium (Good Beer Guides) (Paperback)
A really good guide to beer and bars in Belgium. Although guides are out of date as soon as the are published this gives a good grounding in beer styles and culture as well as some background on general culture, sightseeing and food. If you are new to the Belgian beer scene there's no better guide
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Good Beer Guide Belgium (Good Beer Guides)
Good Beer Guide Belgium (Good Beer Guides) by Joe Stange (Paperback - 27 Mar. 2014)
£13.48
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews