Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars12
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
10
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 September 2009
This book does exactly what it says on the cover. A guide to GOOD beer - and it's also a guide to the BAD beer so you're not left wondering. Brewers, individual beers, how beer is made, and Belgian beer styles are all covered in this book and there's a great province-by-province section on the best beer bars and restaurants to visit. Maps and good photographs, not only of the beer, give a real flavour of the country as does the guide to food in the early part of the book. Towards the end, there's a guide to the best take-home beer shops in Belgium, and places to buy Belgian beer in Britain, which is useful for those of us who can't travel all that often. There are other sections, about travelling to Belgium, accommodation and getting around, the culture(s) and a brief history of Belgium and articles on various aspects of craft brewing, by the brewers themselves. A great "dip-into" book, very entertaining but which also manages to impart a lot of knowledge and information without being pompous, snobbish or obscure. I'd recommend it to any real ale fan.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2009
This book is a must have for all interested in getting the best out of Belgium's fantastic beer heritage. Worth every penny.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2010
If you are visiting Belgium and you are a fan of interesting beer, then this book is your essential guide.
Well written and comprehensive.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2009
An excellent book, full of information, incite and detailed reviews. The book is pretty much split in two, first half on places to visit, drink and buy Belgium beer with the second half on information and reviews of the Belgium beer, but is has so much more than that. I bought this book a few weeks before going off to Brussels on a short trip, not just did in contain all the info on beer I needed but also a lot of great tips and information on visiting Belgium. I found myself using it more than my travel guide! This book is simply fabulous and a worthy addition too all beers lovers libraries.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2009
expansive detail of beer history/syles/breweries etc of Belgium. went on holiday to Antwerp, Bruges and Brussels with friends and all of the pubs recommended in the guide were fantastic. I'd recommend this guide as essential to take on any holiday to Belgium as well as 100 Belgian beers to try before you die by Tim Webb (we tried 27 of them in 5 days!)
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2016
have had two versions of this guide and the information does change (updating very good)
with the newer copies.Tim Webb and his army of helpers finding the fabulous Belgium biers
will save you lots of time and stop you buying some bad examples of belgium beers(mainly im sorry to say
in UK supermarkets,Booths up in lancashire an exception).even if you were not looking for these beer
the book has a very interesting slant on big global beer companies,none of them looking to make
their beers better ,just cheaper! Tim Webb explains in clear ordinary langauge some of the ways they
have tried (and succeded in some cases) to curtail ingredients from the smaller breweries.that is unforgivable.
So to sum up areally good book on Belgium biers and the way they are brewed by the experts.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2009
After ordering this book three times, it finally arrived! And, it is everything I hoped it would be. Planning our beer tour of Belgium will be so much easier. This book has everything you want to know. I'm excited and ready to go!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2009
I found the recently updated guide far more comprehensive and easy to use then the 2 earlier versions I own. I can only recommend this to the casual drinker and hardened conisoir alike.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2009
this is a great book - the product of a true love for beer. If you have an interest in beer and an inclination to go to belgium, this is a fantastic purchase.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2009
If you like Belgian beer then you need this book. If you like Belgian beer AND you travel (like I do), to buy it and drink it, then this book is a must. It's not just about the beer as it is now, there's background history as well, where to go to buy it and even info. on how to organise your trip - a must for any serious (or not so serious) Begian beer lover!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)