Customer Reviews


67 Reviews
5 star:
 (50)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


48 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent and informative
Being a book about Real Ale, you won't find any lager recipes in here. Just as well, as properly brewed lagers are more dificult to brew at home. This makes the book an excellent entry into home brewing, having instructions for extract, partial mash and full mash brewing. The recipes are clear and easy to understand and make a good basis for creating your own beers once...
Published on 5 Aug. 2001

versus
10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok - Not Great
I've changed this from a 2 star (poor) to a 3 star (satisfactory)
This book is ok...not great...(just)!!!!!

There are worse books out there (but there are a lot of much better ones too)!!

A lot of the award (?) winning recipes use sugars in the grist, and don't even think of reading about any American, New Zealand or Australian Hop (surley with...
Published on 28 Aug. 2012 by Hugh Jorgen


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

48 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent and informative, 5 Aug. 2001
By A Customer
Being a book about Real Ale, you won't find any lager recipes in here. Just as well, as properly brewed lagers are more dificult to brew at home. This makes the book an excellent entry into home brewing, having instructions for extract, partial mash and full mash brewing. The recipes are clear and easy to understand and make a good basis for creating your own beers once you've gained a bit more confidence. The anecdotes about the history of different types of beers make this book more interesting than a straight instruction book. I would also recommend the CAMRA Guide to Hoembrewing and Brew Classic European Beers at Home by the same author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clear and Concise, 28 April 2009
This review is from: Brew Your Own British Real Ale (Camra) (Paperback)
I have been home brewing ale for over 25 years and there is always something new to learn. This book had some new tips which certainly made my latest brew one of my best. The CAMRA seal of approval gives this book serious authenticity and I would recommend it to anyone who is used to brewing from raw ingredients.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best buy, 18 Mar. 2010
By 
This review is from: Brew Your Own British Real Ale (Camra) (Paperback)
this book is a must for anyone thinking of going over to malt extract or full mash brewing .full of very usefull info will realy improve your brewing technic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 12 Nov. 2009
By 
N. Rowntree (Gloucester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brew Your Own British Real Ale (Camra) (Paperback)
This is an excellent book for those who are first starting off in the world of homebrew. It covers the absolute basics from what equipment to purchase through to more complex matters like formulas for calculating the differences in hop bitterness values.

The book includes brewing from kits, the extract brewing method and explores the more advanced full mash brewing. This book is up to date with techniques and ingredients and in written in an easy to understand way. It also has a large range of recipes for both extract and full mash beers.

Once you have mastered the recipes and techniques in this book I'd recommend How to Brew: Everything You Need to Know to Brew Beer Right for the First Time for intermediate to advanced brewers. This covers a lot more of the chemistry behind beers and is truly a great reference guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, good new recipes, 16 July 2009
This review is from: Brew Your Own British Real Ale (Camra) (Paperback)
I've got the old edition of this book and was worried that the new edition would not add much information other than the new recipes (my main reason for buying it). However, I was pleasantly pleased to find that the majority of the book has been updated. It's certainly the best book for a beginner as it keeps things fairly simple in terms of water treatment etc, but at the same time shows the areas that can be gone into further if desired. For a novice brewer I'd recommend this book follwed by the hefty How to Brew: Everything You Need to Know to Brew Beer Right for the First Time once they've got a few brews under their belt in order to understand the finner points of brewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mr Wheeler does it again, 6 Jun. 2009
By 
G. Hayden "escapizm" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brew Your Own British Real Ale (Camra) (Paperback)
An excellent intro to brewing technique for the beginner and excellent recipes for the more experienced. For more info on the subject you cannot get better than world wide web dot jimsbeerkit dot co dot uk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty Good For Recipe Ideas, 24 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brew Your Own British Real Ale (Camra) (Paperback)
A good basic book with not too much science to baffle newcomers. I like the idea that there are recipes to get close to brands we all know but I would use them as a guide only. There is no way I'm using sugar in my all grain brews.

Whilst there is not too much science pushed in the book, the section about the ph of the mash was actually wrong I think. The target ph was quoted as being at ph 5.3 but that is the target ph at mash temperature. The book says to take a sample of fluid, let it cool and then use test papers. At room temperature the mash ph would read closer to ph 5.6
ph increases as temperature drops so the ph measured directly in the mash tun may be 5.3 but at room temp it would be about 5.6-5.7
If you followed the instructions you could end up adding gypsum when it's not needed.

That said, a useful book for a beginner. I would then recommend How to Brew: Everything You Need to Know to Brew Beer Right for the First Time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 25 April 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brew Your Own British Real Ale (Camra) (Paperback)
This is an excellent book on home brew and an improvement on the previous editions. I used to have a copy of a previous edition which in my view had typographical and some scientific errors. This edition is much improved and in fact a much easier read. Easy for the beginner and returning brewer alike. The receipies feature traditional british ales - milds, bitters, pales, stouts and porters. If you are looking for traditional british beer and how to make it then buy this book. There are good sections on equipment, yeast and hops amongst the obvious others and a discussion of the different methods used in homebrewing and the majority of the recipies provided can be made in either malt extract (dried or liquid) or all-grain with with the relevant conversions provided.

Not just a beginners book, the chapter on water treatment has got me thinking I might give it a go. Something I thought I would never do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Advice from the headteacher, 31 Aug. 2010
This review is from: Brew Your Own British Real Ale (Camra) (Paperback)
I bought this book before I bought any brewing equipment. Now I have read it and other books and comments on home brew forums I think it is an excellent resource. It is informative and clearly written. It just isn't written as a complete beginner's guide which is what I was looking for - to be fair it isn't described as that.

The book is full of very useful advice on all aspects of brewing and I have made many "must buy one of those" notes to self whilst going through it. I like Graham's style. He is obviously comfortable with giving an opinion. My favourite is his description of top tap kegs being "an abomination". I can accept that straight talking because in most cases it is supported with cogent reasoning.

As I said probably not the first book to read on home brewing but definitely the second.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to follow, well written in a logical sequence., 9 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brew Your Own British Real Ale (Camra) (Paperback)
This is a book for anyone who wants to take home brewing a stage further by using 'dry' ingredients. It is well written, easy to follow and explains everything you need to know including making a mash tunn from a cool box. I bought this book for my son who is really getting into home brewing by modifying proprietry beer kits; something else that this book covers. I've had my copy now for about a year and still find it useful. I can highly recomend this book and encourage you to try your hand at brewing with grains and different hops. You'll enjoy the experience and even better, enjoy the fruits from your labours! When you tire of reading this book have a crack at The Microbrewers Handbook by Ted Bruning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Brew Your Own British Real Ale (Camra)
Brew Your Own British Real Ale (Camra) by Graham Wheeler (Paperback - 14 Jan. 2009)
Used & New from: £18.34
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews