Customer Reviews


62 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


47 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent and informative
Being a book about Real Ale, you won't find any lager recipes in here. Just as well, as properly brewed lagers are more dificult to brew at home. This makes the book an excellent entry into home brewing, having instructions for extract, partial mash and full mash brewing. The recipes are clear and easy to understand and make a good basis for creating your own beers once...
Published on 5 Aug 2001

versus
10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok - Not Great
I've changed this from a 2 star (poor) to a 3 star (satisfactory)
This book is ok...not great...(just)!!!!!

There are worse books out there (but there are a lot of much better ones too)!!

A lot of the award (?) winning recipes use sugars in the grist, and don't even think of reading about any American, New Zealand or Australian Hop (surley with...
Published on 28 Aug 2012 by Hugh Jorgen


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

47 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent and informative, 5 Aug 2001
By A Customer
Being a book about Real Ale, you won't find any lager recipes in here. Just as well, as properly brewed lagers are more dificult to brew at home. This makes the book an excellent entry into home brewing, having instructions for extract, partial mash and full mash brewing. The recipes are clear and easy to understand and make a good basis for creating your own beers once you've gained a bit more confidence. The anecdotes about the history of different types of beers make this book more interesting than a straight instruction book. I would also recommend the CAMRA Guide to Hoembrewing and Brew Classic European Beers at Home by the same author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clear and Concise, 28 April 2009
This review is from: Brew Your Own British Real Ale (Camra) (Paperback)
I have been home brewing ale for over 25 years and there is always something new to learn. This book had some new tips which certainly made my latest brew one of my best. The CAMRA seal of approval gives this book serious authenticity and I would recommend it to anyone who is used to brewing from raw ingredients.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mr Wheeler does it again, 6 Jun 2009
By 
G. Hayden "escapizm" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brew Your Own British Real Ale (Camra) (Paperback)
An excellent intro to brewing technique for the beginner and excellent recipes for the more experienced. For more info on the subject you cannot get better than world wide web dot jimsbeerkit dot co dot uk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best buy, 18 Mar 2010
By 
This review is from: Brew Your Own British Real Ale (Camra) (Paperback)
this book is a must for anyone thinking of going over to malt extract or full mash brewing .full of very usefull info will realy improve your brewing technic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, good new recipes, 16 July 2009
This review is from: Brew Your Own British Real Ale (Camra) (Paperback)
I've got the old edition of this book and was worried that the new edition would not add much information other than the new recipes (my main reason for buying it). However, I was pleasantly pleased to find that the majority of the book has been updated. It's certainly the best book for a beginner as it keeps things fairly simple in terms of water treatment etc, but at the same time shows the areas that can be gone into further if desired. For a novice brewer I'd recommend this book follwed by the hefty How to Brew: Everything You Need to Know to Brew Beer Right for the First Time once they've got a few brews under their belt in order to understand the finner points of brewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars homebrewing, 23 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brew Your Own British Real Ale (Camra) (Paperback)
Lot's of recipes for brewing beers simlar to mainstream beers. If you have a certian beer you like then this book is worth getting the recipe from. You will need a brewing kettle though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 12 Nov 2009
By 
N. Rowntree (Gloucester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Brew Your Own British Real Ale (Camra) (Paperback)
This is an excellent book for those who are first starting off in the world of homebrew. It covers the absolute basics from what equipment to purchase through to more complex matters like formulas for calculating the differences in hop bitterness values.

The book includes brewing from kits, the extract brewing method and explores the more advanced full mash brewing. This book is up to date with techniques and ingredients and in written in an easy to understand way. It also has a large range of recipes for both extract and full mash beers.

Once you have mastered the recipes and techniques in this book I'd recommend How to Brew: Everything You Need to Know to Brew Beer Right for the First Time for intermediate to advanced brewers. This covers a lot more of the chemistry behind beers and is truly a great reference guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brew Your Own British Real Ale (Camra), 6 Sep 2009
By 
C. Elphick (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Brew Your Own British Real Ale (Camra) (Paperback)
If it's Traditional Beer you enjoy, this is the book for you. It's well presented, with clear instructions. The results are excellent. A handbook for fans of British beer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 25 April 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brew Your Own British Real Ale (Camra) (Paperback)
This is an excellent book on home brew and an improvement on the previous editions. I used to have a copy of a previous edition which in my view had typographical and some scientific errors. This edition is much improved and in fact a much easier read. Easy for the beginner and returning brewer alike. The receipies feature traditional british ales - milds, bitters, pales, stouts and porters. If you are looking for traditional british beer and how to make it then buy this book. There are good sections on equipment, yeast and hops amongst the obvious others and a discussion of the different methods used in homebrewing and the majority of the recipies provided can be made in either malt extract (dried or liquid) or all-grain with with the relevant conversions provided.

Not just a beginners book, the chapter on water treatment has got me thinking I might give it a go. Something I thought I would never do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok - Not Great, 28 Aug 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brew Your Own British Real Ale (Camra) (Paperback)
I've changed this from a 2 star (poor) to a 3 star (satisfactory)
This book is ok...not great...(just)!!!!!

There are worse books out there (but there are a lot of much better ones too)!!

A lot of the award (?) winning recipes use sugars in the grist, and don't even think of reading about any American, New Zealand or Australian Hop (surley with the authors experience he could comment on the differences of using Non Traditional hops...like what if Fuggles, Goldings or Target are not available....is he saying you cannot brew a British Ale without them...if not why not and what is the difference....thats what we want to know)

Don't look for anything out of the ordinary (and definetley not modern or new)...and the recipes do not indicate what yeast to use (ie: what yeast do you use for the Ringwood Old Thumper on page 177 or what yeast for Timothy Taylor Landlord on page 183 (dried or liquid...or doesn't it really matter?????...I guess there is no difference between using either!!!!!...or do you just use WLP 023 for everything as indicated on page 29). Has the author in all his experienced noticed any great difference at fermenting at 16 degrees verses 23 degrees...what is the lowest/highest temp he has brewed these recipes at....what has been the difference in taste/quality (if any)....does the temperature effect esters/aromas....when do we need to make a yeast starter (what are his views)

If you want to craft beers I think there are better and more modern books out there (John palmer or Jamil Zainaseff), but I did find the first section of the book good for a general overview (but then again, not nearly as good as John Palmers HTB).

Satisfactory but not great....it's on my bookshelf gathering dust (only because there are better books out there)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Brew Your Own British Real Ale (Camra)
Brew Your Own British Real Ale (Camra) by Graham Wheeler (Paperback - 14 Jan 2009)
Used & New from: £24.69
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews