Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A necessary book
Despite the alarming cover - one that reads '100 Beers You Die' in dim lighting - this new book is a necessary part of any beer lover's library. Actually it's more than that - I'd go so far as to say a necessary part of any drink lover's library. Anyone who hasn't already become a convert to the deeply lovable and labyrinthine mysteries of Belgian brewing, but loves a...
Published on 21 Sep 2008 by Alba

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Underrated, and I Should Know
My advice when considering buying this book, is to take all the rave reviews with a pinch of salt. I've lived in Belgium every year, triggering my passion for the best beers in the world, in my opinion. Now, back in the UK, having used to be a real ale lover, I now think it tastes like dishwater, and that the draught beers are one-dimensional and tasteless; to the point...
Published 21 months ago by BRWRI


Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A necessary book, 21 Sep 2008
This review is from: 100 Belgian Beers to Try Before You Die! (Paperback)
Despite the alarming cover - one that reads '100 Beers You Die' in dim lighting - this new book is a necessary part of any beer lover's library. Actually it's more than that - I'd go so far as to say a necessary part of any drink lover's library. Anyone who hasn't already become a convert to the deeply lovable and labyrinthine mysteries of Belgian brewing, but loves a fine burgundy, for instance (or even a supermarket screwtop Chilean) should rush to purchase this before their omission is discovered and public shame ensues. Belgian beer is something everybody should know about. It's a "Little world, an everywhere", as is the (much misunderstood and maligned) country from which it springs. Buy this book and rush over there. Stay in a rustic cottage by a watermill, where cows swish their tails in meadows and painterly arrangements of fields and houses disappear into the treeline, and get on your bike or into your hire car and go taste those beers. Alternatively, go to Sainsbury's and hold a kitchen tasting.

It's all here - the breweries, the beers, the tasting notes, but what separates this from the (frankly dull) run of the mill beer volume is not only wisdom but WIT. Joris Pattyn, a Belgian beer writer/activist is partnered here by the superlatively talented Tim Webb, without doubt Britain's most readable beer expert - see also his GOOD BEER GUIDE BELGIUM.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beer book which has found its time and niche, 2 Dec 2008
By 
Stephen D'ARCY "trappist" (Brussels, Belgium) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 100 Belgian Beers to Try Before You Die! (Paperback)
"100 Belgian beers to try before you die" is at once opinionated, witty, informative and one of the best books on beer (Belgian or not) published for several years.

The format is easy on the eye, with the beers well described; sometimes there are as many as five beers from the same brewery (Cantillon in Brussels and Dupont in Hainault take the honours here), while the new-brewer-on-the-block, the Senne Brewery, is represented by their three best beers - an astonishing achievement for a new brewery which has only brewed for two years.

Listings of UK and USA beer importers, and information on visiting Belgian breweries are all helpful. The "head of the glass" for me is the stunning photography: not the photos of bottles and other "easy" shots, which anyone with a digital camera can take these days, but the really atmospheric double-page "action" photos of the interiors of La Porte Noire, Moeder Lambic and Deliriumcafé in Brussels: photos of the very highest quality, taken in specialist "temples of beer" of equally high quality.

Beer fans with long (or out-dated) memories will look in vain for commercial or industrial beers. Hence no beers from the people who put the Grim into Grimbergen, nor the highway Brigands, while In-Bev is, of course, not at all listed as they gave up brewing beer a long time ago.
Authors Joris Pattyn and Tim Webb have shown that there is life after Leffe, and the reader will surely be encouraged to order NOT their usual beer, but one of the hundred beers recommended in this book - maybe a beer fresh, hoppy, spritzy and full-flavoured; words which well describe the book itself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Underrated, and I Should Know, 28 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Belgian Beers to Try Before You Die! (Paperback)
My advice when considering buying this book, is to take all the rave reviews with a pinch of salt. I've lived in Belgium every year, triggering my passion for the best beers in the world, in my opinion. Now, back in the UK, having used to be a real ale lover, I now think it tastes like dishwater, and that the draught beers are one-dimensional and tasteless; to the point where I make a pilgrimage to Belgium every year, to immerse myself in the spectacular beers, and, bringing home a truckload on the way back.

This book falls short of expectations, missing out Tripel Karmeliet for starters - a beer I have converted many people to Belgian beer via, Tongerlo is another one. It also doesn't have boxes to score the different aspects of taste that unfold when you take your first sip, in the same way that the '300 Beers to Try Before you Die', does.

In short, its underwhelming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nice present, 9 Dec 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Belgian Beers to Try Before You Die! (Paperback)
IF you love beer and want to know more about it.. this book is exactly what you need. I gave it as a present for an american Belgian beer lover and he was very happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very useful little book, 11 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Belgian Beers to Try Before You Die! (Paperback)
As a relative novice to Belgian beers (previously sticking to british real ales) I found this book very informative, well written and easy to navigate. It's organised alphabetically by brewery, which makes it easy to find the particular beer you want info on. I know this seems fairly obvious but some beer books are organised, for example, by beer style - well that's fine if you are absolutely sure of the style of beer you are drinking but considering experts cannot always agree on whether a particular beer is a particular style where does that leave us mere mortals? There is also information given on each brewery and its history which is both interesting and informative. The reviews themselves are done with passion and flare and are a great aid to a novice like me when tasting and smelling these wonderful brews. Also useful is the information on who imports the beer, brewery open days and so on. It is just a very well thought out little book. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 100 Belgian Beers to Try Before You Die!, 19 Jan 2012
By 
Geoff Jackson (OLDBURY, W Midlands, GB) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Belgian Beers to Try Before You Die! (Paperback)
this is a very comprehensive list with excellent information about each beer. the only problem is "will i get through them all???"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful incite into some of the rarer and harder to obtain beers of Belguim., 16 Nov 2009
By 
E. Cracknell "Edd" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 100 Belgian Beers to Try Before You Die! (Paperback)
Not all the beers are hard to obtain which are featured in this book, but a fair few are. This is a shame as they seam to be excellent beers and is one of the reasons they are in the book "100 Belgian Beers to Try Before You Die!" Still this makes excellent reading and is well written, being informative and witty. An excellent addition to ones library and something to aim for!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nicely Thought Out Publication, 6 Feb 2009
By 
This review is from: 100 Belgian Beers to Try Before You Die! (Paperback)
This book is well written and researched(wish i had there job!)Lots of colour photos and in the back of the book there are details of the American and UK distributers so you can seek out the beers for yourself.I would recommend this book to anybody who has a passion for belgian beer.A worthy addition to anybodys beery book collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

100 Belgian Beers to Try Before You Die!
100 Belgian Beers to Try Before You Die! by Joris Pattyn (Paperback - 1 Sep 2008)
Used & New from: 14.87
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews