Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars37
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 April 2012
Just finished reading this and felt instantly moved to contribute a review. Joe Boyd was deeply involved in many of the key events of the late 60's Underground Scene, from the Newport Folk Festival to the UFO Club in London and then to managing and producing the likes of Fairport Convention, Nick Drake and the Incredible String Band. In this lively book he tells his story with a refreshing sense of honesty (for example the list of bands he failed to manage!)while providing excellent insights into the people that he worked with. Joe never loses his sense of humilty, you are left with the impression that he was honoured to work with the artistic talents that he did and he does full justice to their memory in this fantastic book. A must read!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2015
Cheating slightly as only halfway through the book but what a great read so far!

Someone criticised Boyd for name dropping, but isn't hat the whole point of the book? Without working with all these people, there would be no book. I did start to read one guitarist's autobiography and he name dropped in such a way that it felt like him saying "I'm so good, look at who I worked with" whereas for Boyd it is just matter of fact.

Highly recommend this book and can't wait to read more.

Thanks also to Wordery who despatched the book very promptly
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2015
Great coverage of that era which is well written by a man that was involved at the very centre of it all. He doesn't focus on one specific band, but rather details inter-actions with everyone that crossed his path between the early sixties and the early seventies. I bought it with the expectation of finding out more about Nick Drake and there were some snippets, but it was not extensive, however, that said, it was still full of intriguing anecdotes, and on occasion, the subsequent paths that those individuals followed. Look out for the interesting ABBA connection .. or not ...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2009
What an inspiring book. Yes, it has confusing chronology, yes it's opinionated. But as a memoir of music making or of the 1960s UK music scene, it is up there with the very best. Sure, you have to love Boyd and the music he made, but given the great roster of acts he's worked with, this ain't hard. He is insightful about music making, about the Underground scene and about the music industry. And, by not hiding his personal flaws or quirks, we are able to identify with him, helping us feel part of his musical journey.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2013
This is probably one of the best music-related books I've read. I'm a fan of many of the artists Joe Boyd worked with so I'm sure that helped but I think anyone with even a passing interest in the music would enjoy reading this. Joe comes across as intelligent, knowledgeable and likeable and you never feel that he overestimates his role in the music he helped the artists to create. Some of it is very funny and there are some very moving passages too.

Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2015
I love this book, so much so that i then went on to read a bunch of other autobiographies from other record industry figures. For me this is the best, (the rise and fall of EMI coming a close second).

Joe Boyd is articulate, extremely well connected and very engaging, if you like this you should also check out his weekly podcast or the BBC recording of the show he did with Cerys Matthews.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2015
Being an avid reader of anything music-related,particularly the sixties/seventies era i can say this book is an hidden gem.I was aware of Joe Boyd's production work, but the "full story and great photographs is a top notch read! Get It !!.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2014
Gives a great insight into the music business by one of the greats behind the scenes. Must-read for anyone listening to music in the 60s and 70s.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2014
A great insight into Boyd's career, and London's music scene in the late 60's. Highly recommender if you're a fan of Nick Drake & the Floyd.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2013
It's an interesting collection of memories and very interesting for someone who follows this sort of music and the 1960's era.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)