Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The unreachable Darrell?, 20 Oct 2011
This review is from: Unreachable (Paperback)
I am one of the privelidged people to actually know Darrell, hes one of my Pastors at Hope Corner Community Church. I've only known him for the past 3 years so I never knew "bad Darrell" haha. The book goes into great detail about how he grew up and how he led his own life just how he wanted. Drugs, Raves, Violence and Armed Robbery which eventually led him to jail. Whilst on his knees in his prison cell one evening, he challenged God to reveal himself to him and guess what.... HE did. The next morning was the start of Darrells new life. Darrell is living proof that God can reach anyone. Thanks to God Darrell is a new person, a great Pastor, full of life and up for a laugh. This 95 page book is a great example of God at work. Glory to God for what He has done in this mans life. ENJOY THE BOOK :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unputdownable, 4 Feb 2012
This review is from: Unreachable (Paperback)
This book was simply that...unputdownable.
It usually takes me ages to read a book but I did this in just a few days.
It is easy to read and easy to understand. As a serving police officer I can relate to a lot of the text.
This book should be made available to every person who enters the prison and young offender system in the UK and abroad, either in a written format or as an audio file.
A brilliant book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a fantastic testimony as to what God can do, 13 Oct 2011
This review is from: Unreachable (Paperback)
what a great testimony this book is
darrell went from the arms of satan and straight into the arms of jesus
because God had an amazing plan for darrell and anybody reading this book wether in prison or not will definately want to have a relationship with God.
it makes you feel very inspired & you really get an idea of the power of what God can do if you just learn to keep saying yes & keep trusting in him.

once i started reading this i didnt stop and i am now reading it again

*****
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you only read one book this year..., 12 Oct 2011
This review is from: Unreachable (Paperback)
Unreachable is the remarkable testimony of Darell Tunningley's life. The work of Jesus causing a total u-turn in his life is described here in a compelling narrative that is easy to read.

If you think your life isn't worth anything and no one cares, read this and think again.

If you want to learn more about how to reach people and tell them about the wonder of Jesus, our Saviour, then read this book and use it.

There aren't many books I read in one sitting. This, though I literally couldn't put down. It was in the post when I got home from work, I decided to read the first chapter and before I knew it I'd read the whole thing.

If you only read one book this year, make this the one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How God Can Win, 25 Feb 2013
By 
T. T. Rogers - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Unreachable (Paperback)
In reviewing Darrell Tunningley's memoir, 'Unreachable', I should declare a bias. I knew the author in school, albeit vaguely, and, well, people from Knottingley should stick together. I agree with another reviewer on here that this book should be read in all prisons. I hesitate to say I 'enjoyed' the book. There is nothing to 'enjoy' here: this is a very sad book, at times quite unsettling, but at the same time the reader has the satisfaction of watching the author overcome his disadvantages and build a life for himself that is not only stable, but successful. The author has reformed in the truest and fullest sense, resolving to devote his life to others through God.

I am not a religious person: in fact, I am an atheist, and so I might have lost out on some of the more subtle meaning and wisdom found in this book, nevertheless the author's transformative journey has left a profound impression on me. It just goes to show that there is something powerfully good in all of us, it's just a question of finding the 'key'. For some, the 'key' may be religion. For others, it might be a meaningful relationship, or just a chance at a job or a better education. But it's clear that underscoring all of this is a need among each of us for love. For the author, this wasn't just about 'finding religion': that's a simplistic, hackneyed notion, and it's not what happened. In truth, the author found himself, he just needed God's help to do it. This book demonstrates that we all need this help. It needn't be God necessarily. The help could be more prosaic, but behind all of it is love and it is only religion that can provide the intellectual case for a society of helping hands in which morals and values win the day and triumph over baseness, turpitude and evil. In God's love and fury are found the redemption and renewal of all men.

All this reminds me of my favourite chapter in the Bible, Ecclesiastes 3. Perhaps the finest verse is among those that are commonly overlooked, 3:12: "I know that there is no good in them, but for a man to rejoice, and to do good in his life." I would like to think the author has also pondered this verse. To my mind, it simply means live your life and do good deeds. Nothing could be simpler than this, but it is also the truth. And the author has lived this truth in his own rite of passage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational testimony, 3 Dec 2011
This review is from: Unreachable (Paperback)
Unreachable is a moving and inspiring story about the power and the grace of God. Darrell Tunningley spent his adolescence and early adult life on a one way path to destruction until God literally turned his life around.
Darrell's account is frank and at times brutally honest, but the reader is treated to a genuine description of the Holy Spirit in action as Darrell dramatically describes his salvation and subsequent life change.
This book can reach out to a range of audiences; whether you are someone who needs Christ in their lives, someone who needs to be inspired to share your testimony, or someone who works with young people affected by crime and drugs, there is a wealth of inspiration and motivation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, inspirational, hope giving book !, 9 Nov 2011
This review is from: Unreachable (Paperback)
Came across this book by chance whilst looking on twitter for something else, bought it and devoured it. It is a real story of hope in a dark world, so infiltrated by drugs and difficult life choices. I think every parent with a problem teen should read it and encourage them to read it too.
The book shares the story of a young guy who finds himself involved in the seedy world of drug dealing and usage and his eventual downfall into prison. There he found his destiny and became a changed man !
Easy to read, couldnt put it down !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great story well told, 9 Nov 2011
This review is from: Unreachable (Paperback)
An exciting and inspring autobiography from a bloke who had gone through more by his early twenties than most of us go through in a lifetime. A frank account of his early encounters with drugs and extreme violence sets the scene in a fascinating way, but it is his later description of his coming to faith whilst in prison that leaves the lasting impression.

A real page-turner, and a book I have since recommended to plenty of friends (and bought for a couple of them).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read for all who think life has nothing to offer, 10 April 2012
By 
Emily-Jayne - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Unreachable (Paperback)
Life throws all manner of issues and problems at us, some worse than others. Some are of our own making and others are thrown at us by other people. What Darrell has been able to do so well, is put across his story in a way which is easy to understand and grasp. His story of drugs and crime is powerful to be able to touch others either going through the same problem or to direct people away from going down the same path. This is a must have book, for all ministries, schools and other outreach organisations as well as individuals who just need to know more or are going through problems. It is a book which can change lives and no doubt has changed lives. For anyone who is feeling a void in their life and filling it with less savoury practices then I ask you to just stop and read this book, for Darrell explains how that void was filled with something so beautiful, uplifting, positive and amazing. That void was filled by God. For those who think the impossible is not possible then this powerful testimony is bound to make you think again that life can most definitely be better, your life can change and that God is still in the business of providing miracles and transformations! A fantastic book which is a real page turner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read it in 1!, 27 Mar 2012
This review is from: Unreachable (Paperback)
I read it in one!!! A life transformed and changed for the better, with the grace and care of God.

Darrell reveals his existence in the darkest of lives imaginable. Telling his story of a strength and determination against the all persecution prison and more importantly life had to through at him, showing how the strength of a man will be met and more by the strength of God.

The moving, inspiring and un-putdown-able read that is UNREACHABLE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Unreachable
Unreachable by Darrell Tunningley (Paperback - 1 Sep 2011)
5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews