Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars WELL WRITTEN, BEAUTIFUL BOOK
This well written, very readable book is the most compelling I have read on the mythology, religion and what is known of the history of the Maya. I'm not much into mathematics or arithmetic but found the ideas very interesting, especially as related to nature (the cross motif from the skin of the rattlesnake and the sun-spot cycles). Not everything here is new, Von...
Published on 4 Sep 2000 by Pieter Uys

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Thought provoking but drags on.......
I started off enjoying the journey into the strange and exciting temples but when the author starts to talk about his discovery with his templates on the tomb lid of Pelanque, it all went down hill.
I didnt understand what these templates were showing it wasnt clear on the photos,they looked like ink splodged on paper and you have to guess what animal it...
Published on 26 Mar 2012 by lesley


Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars WELL WRITTEN, BEAUTIFUL BOOK, 4 Sep 2000
By 
Pieter Uys "Toypom" (Johannesburg) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Mayan Prophecies: Unlocking the Secrets of a Lost Civilisation (Paperback)
This well written, very readable book is the most compelling I have read on the mythology, religion and what is known of the history of the Maya. I'm not much into mathematics or arithmetic but found the ideas very interesting, especially as related to nature (the cross motif from the skin of the rattlesnake and the sun-spot cycles). Not everything here is new, Von Daniken already popularised some of these concepts two decades ago - but it is cohesively presented in the right context with a wealth of figures, maps, and the most beautiful colour plates. It makes a worthy contribution to the terrain that Graham Hancock, Robert Bauval etc, are bringing to light. Extensive appendices, a glossary, bibliography and index ensure this will remain a valuable reference work for years to come. As for 2012, I don't believe in scaremongering (many books claimed that Nostradamus predicted a world war for 1999) so I am content to believe that date will signal a change (improvement) in consciousness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Thought provoking but drags on......., 26 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mayan Prophecies: Unlocking the Secrets of a Lost Civilisation (Paperback)
I started off enjoying the journey into the strange and exciting temples but when the author starts to talk about his discovery with his templates on the tomb lid of Pelanque, it all went down hill.
I didnt understand what these templates were showing it wasnt clear on the photos,they looked like ink splodged on paper and you have to guess what animal it represents!
It all got to involved with the different gods and shapes. I preferred reading about the mathematics of the solar cycles, that was very interesting.
I agree with Erich von Daniken that it makes more sense that the King was in some sort of machine with fire and birds and dragons which would have been represented by these creatures and at least he has more interesting finds like little aircraft models that were found in South America made of gold.....thought provoking or what?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible, 19 Dec 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Mayan Prophecies: Unlocking the Secrets of a Lost Civilisation (Paperback)
I knew very little about the Mayan people or the history of South America, nor in fact the influence of the sun and in fact the total control that mother nature has upon the earthe and human race. This book has me addicted. Although the book is very complex in certain areas the authors have done a very good job of simplyfying what must be have taken a very long and hard time to work out. My thanks goes to the authors for opening my eyes, and for writing such an incredible book.
My next vacation will be to visit one by one all the places that are mentioned in the book, not only in South America but also Egypt.
Keep up the good work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 30 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Item was delivered as promised in excellent condition. It is a very good work by the author and I woiuld recommend it to anyone interested in the Mayan culture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Oh Dear, 23 Sep 2013
By 
Hominid (Here, There and Everywhere) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Mayan Prophecies: Unlocking the Secrets of a Lost Civilisation (Paperback)
The 1st part of the book dealing with the Mayan number systems and dates is fine and interesting. The wild speculations that follow, dressed up as "theory" are terrible. I felt dirty after reading them.

"Why People Believe Weird Things: Pseudoscience, Superstition, and Other Confusions of Our Time" by Michael Shermer could have been written with this book in mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars World didn't end., 21 Dec 2012
It's the 21st of December 2012 and we're all still alive... So I don't think everything in this book is entirely true somehow. Sorry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good condition, 8 Nov 2009
Haven`t started to read this jus yet, but am happy with condition the book came in and delivery time. Thanx.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars fascinating approach to personality development!, 3 Jan 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Mayan Prophecies: Unlocking the Secrets of a Lost Civilisation (Paperback)
Although the authors tended to lose me in certain conclusions concerning the influence of sunspot cycles on the rise and fall of cultures, I would like to see more research on the theory of personality development as influenced by solar radiation output at various times of the year. Perhaps some enterprising researcher could use Keirsey's temperament sorter with an eye toward establishing a causal relationship between temperament and solar output...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Mayan Prophecies: Unlocking the Secrets of a Lost Civilisation
The Mayan Prophecies: Unlocking the Secrets of a Lost Civilisation by Maurice M. Cotterell (Paperback - 5 Sep 1996)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews