Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


78 of 79 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My review
This beautifully illustrated book is an essential reference book for people interested in aromatherapy. It is suitable for patients, practitioners of complementary and conventional medicine, pharmacists, and all students studying relevant subjects.
After a few introductory pages and the start of many excellent colour illustrations, a history of aromatherapy is...
Published on 8 Oct 2002 by helcobus

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed
The title for my review maybe a little hash for I only have two complaints about the book. First, out of a 165 oils comprehensibly describe there is no mention of my favourite oil Ravensara but has a listing for oils as obscure as Mugwort. My second quibble is the lack of a table of contents at the start of the chapter on oils its all very well having the oils in...
Published on 22 Sep 2011 by Mrs. J. A. Smith


Most Helpful First | Newest First

78 of 79 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My review, 8 Oct 2002
This review is from: Illustrated Encyclopedia - Essential Oils: The Complete Guide to the Use of Oils in Aromatherapy and Herbalism (Paperback)
This beautifully illustrated book is an essential reference book for people interested in aromatherapy. It is suitable for patients, practitioners of complementary and conventional medicine, pharmacists, and all students studying relevant subjects.
After a few introductory pages and the start of many excellent colour illustrations, a history of aromatherapy is covered. Worth looking at for the illustrations alone!
The next section covers safety and contra-indications. This section should be read through by any potential patient or practitioner before using the remedies.
Then various body systems are considered in turn with a list of effects and a list of oils which produce that effect. There is also an indication about treatment for a specific condition. As before, well illustrated and a good starting point for both patient and practitioner.
A chapter on how to use the herbs for health and beauty follows. This covers massage, skin lotions, compresses, hair care, baths, flower waters, vaporisation, inhalation and douches. Some information about blending and extracting follows. A therapeutic index indicates various conditions and which oils are useful with their applications.
Then follows a major section of the book. The oils are listed in alphabetical order according to latin name. One page is one oil.
This is set out as follows: -
* safety data
* family of plant and related plants
* Herbal/folk applications
* Extraction details with actions and constituents
* uses - including non-aromatherapy uses
* Distribution of the plant
* other species of the plant
A general glossary follows, followed by a botanical classification list. An index using the English names is next. This is followed by references and a bibliography. A list of useful addresses ends the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book for Diploma Level 3 Holistic Courses, 8 Feb 2007
By 
Caroline Watson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Illustrated Encyclopedia - Essential Oils: The Complete Guide to the Use of Oils in Aromatherapy and Herbalism (Paperback)
This book is clearly illustrated and was an invaluable book for our level 3 Holistic Therapies VTCT course. There are illustrations of all the associated plants/herbs/fruits etc. as well as details regarding therapeutic properties, uses and origins.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Aromatherapy and Herbalism, 10 Jun 2011
By 
Gurphy (Brighton, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The book measures 30 x 20 x 2 cm and has 256 pages. It states it's a complete guide to the use of essential oils in aromatherapy and herbalism. Includes history and development, how they work, how to use, an index and an A-Z. It's fully illustrated in colour and very nicely layed out. A nice book.

As to whether this is a book for the expert or someone hoping to become one, I doubt it. So many herbs and plants are included that there is simply not enough space to deal with them in great detail. However for someone like myself who has a general interest in the subject, it's definately adequate.

It's worthy noting that another book by Julia Lawless titled 'Complete Essential Oils, A Guide to the Use of Oils in Aromatherapy and Herbalism.', is actually exactly the same book in every detail as this one, only smaller and thus less easy to read. The contents is identical.

Julia has apparently a somewhat lawless approach to the naming of her books. So don't get caught out as I did, or like me you'll end up with two books that are exactly the same in everything but stature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, 22 Sep 2011
By 
Mrs. J. A. Smith "Jesscat" (norfolk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The title for my review maybe a little hash for I only have two complaints about the book. First, out of a 165 oils comprehensibly describe there is no mention of my favourite oil Ravensara but has a listing for oils as obscure as Mugwort. My second quibble is the lack of a table of contents at the start of the chapter on oils its all very well having the oils in alphabetical order in according to their scientific name but a list of corresponding page numbers and common names would speed up the process of looking up a specific oil.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nicely illustrated, 21 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Nice book, delivery was excellent, as usual from Amazon i find. Lovely illustrations but it is hardly a 'complete guide' there are many many oils not covered in this book but nonetheless is a nice reference to dip in and out of when specific information is needed or just to browse through for the pictures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential oils, 29 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great book. Nice illustrations, good index. Easy to find information. Reasonably priced. I would recommend this book to the beginner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really useful and fantastic refrtence, 4 Feb 2011
This review is from: Illustrated Encyclopedia - Essential Oils: The Complete Guide to the Use of Oils in Aromatherapy and Herbalism (Paperback)
Brilliant layout, good coverage and well informed. Julia Lawless has a great knowledge of essential oils and I use this book as a continual reference. I would recommend this book to those who are just starting out or if you are experienced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars So informative, 22 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love this book; it is easy to follow and the individual essential oil information is so useful. Great indexes too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful book, 15 Nov 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a beautiful book and very informative with a lot of technical information about the popular oils listed that is not always in other books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very pleased with purchase, 18 July 2012
By 
D. Davies "Jeff Davies" (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The book was exactly as described, in excellent condition.
In fact it was virtually as good as new!
It arrived very quickly and I would have no hesitation from
purchasing from this seller again in the future.

The book itself is very detailed, pleasing to the eye
with excellent clear colour pictures of herbs and spices.

If you purchase this book, you will not be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews