Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Connery
I enjoy movie star bios - currently reading George Lucas. I went on to this book after Callan's recommended book on Redford. Connery was a huge asset to twentieth century films. He brought integrity and gravitas ... and the kind of "man" power not seen since John Wayne. Today his shoes are filled Daniel Craig (as Bond, drawing much from our favourite misogynist!) and, in...
Published on 30 May 2012 by Calvin Sokkan

versus
0 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars getting worried i ever used Amazon
Lost this book at a cottage in August, it had to be returned to my library.
Easy option seemed to buy it on Amazon ., (which i duely did)
Its been ages now , have written to seller who tells me the book was unable to be posted through my letter box and was returned to him (cough)....erm..excuse me...its only a paperback !

He has promised to send it...
Published on 4 Nov. 2009 by Mr. R. D. Bowden


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Connery, 30 May 2012
This review is from: Sean Connery (Hardcover)
I enjoy movie star bios - currently reading George Lucas. I went on to this book after Callan's recommended book on Redford. Connery was a huge asset to twentieth century films. He brought integrity and gravitas ... and the kind of "man" power not seen since John Wayne. Today his shoes are filled Daniel Craig (as Bond, drawing much from our favourite misogynist!) and, in the wider sphere ... well .... who???? So Connery is really irreplaceable. We miss him and this book is a powerful reminder of all he gave us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sean Connery by Michael Feeney Callan, 9 Mar. 2014
By 
Mr. G. F. Rye "Graham Frank Rye" (Lydd, Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sean Connery (Kindle Edition)
Still by far the most authoritative biography on Sir Sean Connery ever published. Essential reading for all Connery fans!

Graham Rye
Editor & Publisher
007 MAGAZINE
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars bought as a gift for someone so hopefully they enjoy reading it, 20 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sean Connery (Paperback)
Arrived quickly, bought as a gift for someone so hopefully they enjoy reading it, looks ok to me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Ultimate Connery, 2 May 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Sean Connery (Hardcover)
This book is the long awaited reissue (with extensive updating) of the ultimate, intimate Sean Connery biography which was the first and remains by far the best comprehensive study of this accomplished actor. Many Connery/Bond books draw heavily on Callan's work, which was the main credited source on Connery referred to by 007 producer Cubby Broccoli himself in his autobiography, published by Boxtree. Look no further for the true lowdown on the Great Scot himself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable but..., 8 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sean Connery (Kindle Edition)
A great read for any Sean Connery fan but at times feels like the author is trying to cover too much ground so you don't always get the depth and detail you're hoping for. Also analysis of Sean is very reliant on interviews done with Ian Bannen and Michael Caine would have been interesting to see views of other actors/friends etc
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The real Sean Connery, 26 May 2012
This review is from: Sean Connery (Hardcover)
A previous reviewer gives one star .... but he's reviewing the postal service ... and that's just not right. This book is the only fully researched Connery bio out there in the market, with the most thorough interviews with Connery and his family (brother Neil). Still on the shelves after 30 years ... which says it all. Buy it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 1 July 2009
Great book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars getting worried i ever used Amazon, 4 Nov. 2009
By 
Mr. R. D. Bowden (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Lost this book at a cottage in August, it had to be returned to my library.
Easy option seemed to buy it on Amazon ., (which i duely did)
Its been ages now , have written to seller who tells me the book was unable to be posted through my letter box and was returned to him (cough)....erm..excuse me...its only a paperback !

He has promised to send it again in the next few days.........this tranaction has reached BORING preportions.

I am now paying fines on this dam book i never read.

Stay WELL away from buying books on Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sean Connery
Sean Connery by Michael Feeney Callan (Hardcover - 10 Oct. 2002)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews