Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful
Generally, when rock stars write an autobiography, it is little more than a huge ego trip. However, on reading Meat Loaf's autobiography, it is clear that there are very different, moral reasons involved here. Once and for all, he wants to set the record straight about all of the ups and downs of his career, as well as his sordid past.

The writing throughout is...
Published on 13 Sep 2002 by noel1848

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Been through hell
Probably the worst autobiography I've tried to read. Tried, in that I gave up when the story reaches the Bat Out Of Hell period which should be the most interesting. Unfortunately the whole book is broken up into chapters of only a couple of pages each, and there are far too many photographs that add nothing at all and endless tales of his concussions. Must have been...
Published 4 months ago by mike half


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 13 Sep 2002
Generally, when rock stars write an autobiography, it is little more than a huge ego trip. However, on reading Meat Loaf's autobiography, it is clear that there are very different, moral reasons involved here. Once and for all, he wants to set the record straight about all of the ups and downs of his career, as well as his sordid past.

The writing throughout is excellent, and makes it a joy to read, although this is most likely due in a large way to the talents of Meat Loaf's co-author. Of course, the material itself is incredibly entertaining, and full of incredible facts and information (for example, Meat has had concussion seventeen times). Whether you're a huge fan of Meat Loaf, or even if you hate his guts - this book will give a huge insight into his background and his mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Climb aboard the rollercoaster and go Into Hell and Back, 29 May 2002
You could not get any closer to Meat Loaf unless you were sitting next to him. A fantasic voyage into the life, of an larger the life Artist. They say everything is bigger in Texas. Meat's life and career would testify to that.
I'd laughed, i'd cried reading this book. A true strugle of a artist trying to get his dream and vision to become a reality. His fight, against the system (The Music Exec's) and his own deamons. This is the ultimate in getting up close and personal with somebody.
It's Deeply honest and very frank, even if you don't like the big man's music, from the first page you can't but this down, this book is a must read.
You'll never regret the day you went into Hell and Back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an honest account of the big man himself, 9 Nov 2001
By A Customer
One of the most honest, thought provoking autobiography's i have ever read. It made me laugh, it made me cry and i just could not put it down. A very moving account of one of the greatest men in music. A definate must read for meatloaf fans and book lovers in general.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Meat Loaf & Charles Manson Never Did Do That Duet... Shame, 25 April 2003
By 
John Tansey (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Meat Loaf, a man of many vocal registers and apparently, many many stories. He's had an incredible life, even before he became famous. His father once tried to kill him with a butcher's knife, he picked up a crazy hitch hiker called, he found out later, Charles Manson AND he got involved with the JFK assasination.
You don't have to be a fan of his music to like this book, but it helps. Meat focuses on his music but we do learn some interesting showbiz and celebrity tit-bits. For those who aren't a fan don't rule this out as a no-go purchase just yet, think of it as a collection of humourous anicdotes about the music industry. And let it be a lesson to you, NEVER trust your manager!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Bat out of Hell for every book shelf..., 16 Sep 2006
By 
Ghost of Kai (South Devon, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Meatloaf has the kind of life story that grabs you by the neck and doesn't put you down until you've finished reading. Every MeatLoaf fan should have a copy of this book. The way it is written you'd think he was right there telling you the story himself...

It's a wonder why MeatLoaf hasn't updated this in recent years or released an audio book...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars To Hell and Back: the Autobiography of Meatloaf, 25 April 2003
This review is from: To Hell and Back: the Autobiography of Meatloaf (Hardcover)
wonderful read could not put it down. lets you see all is not easy on the way to the top and at the top. story of one of the best recordest of our time. strongly recomend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A GREAT REVIEW OF A GREAT ENTERTAINER, 25 Oct 2000
By 
STEVE ROBINSON (Blackpool England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: To Hell and Back: the Autobiography of Meatloaf (Hardcover)
A GREAT BOOK THAT HAS TO BE IN EVERY KEEN BIOGRAPHY READERS COLLECTION ALSO A WELL PRESENTED BOOK OF GREAT QUALITY IT TELLS YOU EVERYTHING YOU NEED TO KNOW ABOUT THE MAN AND ALSO THINGS YOU DONT. STARTING WITH HIS NEAR DEATH EXPERIANCE WITH HIS DRUNKEN FATHER AND HIS DETERMINATION TO MAKE IT BIG WHEN NOBODY WAS GOING FOR HIS STYLE OF MUSIC ALSO IT OUTLINES HIS MAJOR FALLOUT WITH WRITER JIM STEINMAN THIS BOOK LEAVES NO STONE UNTURNED BUY IT NOW WHILE YOU CAN
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Larger than Life Biography, 30 Oct 2003
By 
David A. Nash "Nash aka Taker" (Chesterfield) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
I took this on holiday with me, to read over the week.
Completely gripping, finished it by Tuesday.
The way it is written in his words makes you feel like you know the singer better.
Some things have been uncovered again such like the Guitar Motor Bike in "Bat Out of Hell" but also other things you may not know about ML his presonality which he openly talks about and the strife he went through to get where he is today.
I have more admiration for the guy now that I understand where he comes from. Try not to miss his last tour! (Sheffield 22nd Nov 2003)
He did go on about the concussions a bit too much though!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great, 9 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
bought for a christmas present, came very quickly and was great price too so no complaints, and would defo recommend and buy again x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprising stuff, 16 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Meatloaf always was a legend, but this book shows just how far that was from the reality and when the world thought he was riding the crest of a wave, he was actually struggling to survive. Let down and betrayed by so many people, its amazing this man still has a glint in his eye. I loved this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

To Hell and Back: the Autobiography of Meatloaf
To Hell and Back: the Autobiography of Meatloaf by Meat Loaf (Hardcover - 21 Oct 1999)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews