Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Scripts with all of the missing bits!
Good Book, which contains the scripts, with all of the deleted scenes. It also contains a funny insight into what doug naylor was thinking about when he was writing the scripts, and what was happening during the filming of the series. pure dwarfing class!
Published on 7 Feb 2000

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars NOT the original scripts!
As people have already commented, the book is full of interesting observations and insights from the writer Doug Naylor himself and this is what I give the 3 stars for. The reason it only gets 3 stars is that in previous Red Dwarf script books the scripts were always the originals, the final drafts that were given to the actors. What I loved about those is that you...
Published on 22 Oct 2009 by Jammm


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars NOT the original scripts!, 22 Oct 2009
By 
Jammm - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Red Dwarf VIII : The Official Book (Hardcover)
As people have already commented, the book is full of interesting observations and insights from the writer Doug Naylor himself and this is what I give the 3 stars for. The reason it only gets 3 stars is that in previous Red Dwarf script books the scripts were always the originals, the final drafts that were given to the actors. What I loved about those is that you could then see where the actors had changed the lines, either because they couldn't remember them word-for-word or because they were changed on set, and often the text was intriguingly different from the lines that ended up being filmed. I really liked that because you learn something about the actors, which ones stick rigidly to the script and which ones tend to improvise for example. In this book, however, the scripts are a transcript from the actual filmed episodes, so they are exactly the same as the lines in the actual show. Maybe this is what you want, but following the 2 previous script books (Primordial Soup and Son Of Soup) I was a bit disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Scripts with all of the missing bits!, 7 Feb 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Red Dwarf VIII : The Official Book (Hardcover)
Good Book, which contains the scripts, with all of the deleted scenes. It also contains a funny insight into what doug naylor was thinking about when he was writing the scripts, and what was happening during the filming of the series. pure dwarfing class!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great read for an avid RD fan, 16 Nov 1999
By 
grindstaff@canoemail.com (Richland, Washington USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Red Dwarf VIII : The Official Book (Hardcover)
The best bits about this book were the parts where Doug explains the reasoning behind what happenend behind the scenes at the beginning of each script. I liked the story of Doug and the killer hotel mint that stabs him in his bum. The scripts also include, as usual, parts of the script edited out of the broadcast which were quite funny too. It was nice to read about RD from Doug's point of view since you don't hear from him as much as say Craig Charles. This is an excellent Christmas gift for a Red Dwarf fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fan-Smegging-Tastic, 14 Dec 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Red Dwarf VIII : The Official Book (Hardcover)
At last they made a book with the scripts from one sereis in. A brillient book. Well worth the money. A large selection of never seen before photo from the series. A good book for all Red Dwarf Fans and other comedy lovers. Keep up the good work Doug.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bliss!, 10 Jan 2000
This review is from: Red Dwarf VIII : The Official Book (Hardcover)
A huge glossy (dare I say it.. sexy) book with the greatest RD pics I've ever seen. Not only the full scripts (including the bits that were cut out for whatever reason), but story boards and behind the scenes info. Red Dwarf fan? gotta have it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The MUST BUY Red Dwarf book!, 1 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Red Dwarf VIII : The Official Book (Hardcover)
This book is THE Red Dwarf to buy. You may have seen several novels, quizbooks and other largish coffee table-type books about Red Dwarf at your local bookshop, but there is none other quite so good as this: particularly for a fan who doesn't want to get bogged down in endless books.
The content is first rate. Each script contains many sections which were (unfortunately) obliterated from the final shows and almost every scene is accompanied by a full colour photo - there are literally hundreds of them. The comments and anecdotes by Doug only serve to improve an already damn fine book, and allow it to be classed not only as a scriptbook, but also as a series companion and a 'behind the scenes' book, too.
Every fan should have a copy - get one now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Smeg Its Red Dwarf!!!!, 26 Jan 2012
This review is from: Red Dwarf VIII : The Official Book (Hardcover)
Order this book and with in one day I got it. Contains scripts from series VIII and is good to read and fascinateing to see all the little bits that were cut form the original script. If your a RD fan than this is for you and at a very good price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In a word: Unbe-Smegging-lieveable!, 18 Mar 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Red Dwarf VIII : The Official Book (Hardcover)
True, it's not Infinity Welcomes Careful Drivers, or even quite as good as the real thing, but wow! In all honesty, though, how could a Red Dwarf-based book be anthing but terrific? This book has everything you (n)ever wanted to know about series 8, all eight scripts, storyboards, things that were left out of the broadcasts (usually for good reason, but often unfortunately), photos, little explainers that give background info on this or explain why such-and-such happened, everything. If only it came with a free cast member with purchase... Anyway, this is a fantastic book and an absolute must-have for any Red Dwarf fan. I already own every Red Dwarf item I could get my hands on, and this is definitely one of the most worthwhile purchases I have ever made. You gotta hand it to Doug Naylor, series 8 and this book are on smeg of a job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Anything Red Dwarf has to be 5 star!, 1 Aug 2008
This review is from: Red Dwarf VIII : The Official Book (Hardcover)
This is basically the scripts for series 8. Sadly probably the worse series of RD - it did go down hill for the latter series. However it still manages to bring a smile to my face as i love all things dwarf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Smeging Good, 2 Feb 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Red Dwarf VIII : The Official Book (Hardcover)
This has got everything a Dwarfer(Red Dwarf Fan) needs. From all the jokes to backstage info about the budget & stuf Its brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Red Dwarf VIII : The Official Book
Red Dwarf VIII : The Official Book by Rob Grant (Hardcover - 4 Nov 1999)
£13.10
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews