Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars13
5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
13
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 January 2001
Need a gift for a car lover? Either pay £500,000 for the car or buy this book. Every person who has picked up this book since it arrived at my house has lost an hour of their life in the intricate details it contains. BUY IT - It is not possible to be disappointed.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 1999
A fascinating book about a fabulous car - a feat of british ingenuity. This book, with its limited edition quality (I believe McLaren are preparing a 400 page limited edition!) goes behind the scenes and tells us in detail about the ups and downs, trials and tribualtions of making a supercar. That they achieved this was no mean feat considering it was the very first road car they produced. With beautiful original sketches and reproductions of the acutal correspondence between the designers, component manufacturers and engine makers this is unlike any official story I have ever read about the making of a car. McLaren opened not just its archives but its heart and soul to tell the world of just how far they had to go to make this wonderful car. Yes, I am obviously an admirer of the F1 but surely anyone who loves beautiful design can appreciate the form of the F1. The photography is stunning and the book design original. Highly recommended much more than a book for coffee tables or petrol heads. McLaren set the standard with the F1 far above anything yet achieved and this surely sets a new standard for motoring books. I can just see the brief Doug Nye must have been given - the F1 was unique and so must the book about the car... It will be some time before we see the records set by the F1 beaten and even longer before another manufacturer produces such a great and candid book.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2007
Very lavish and glossy book on the design of the McLaren F1 road car. From original concept to testing of the McLaren F1, this book covers every aspect of the design. Some great pictures not published before. The McLaren was the first of the first extreme super cars and in many ways is still the best. As such it deserves a book like this.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2001
If you are interested in the F1 or in exotic cars in general, GET THIS BOOK. Of the many books on cars that I have read, this one is the best in terms of quality and content. Awesome pictures that you will absolutely never see elsewhere. Every time I look at this book, I shake my head in disbelief at what a mind-boggling car the F1 is!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2000
Even glancing through this book on the first day i got it left me bewildered and amazed.I have to admit i love fast cars so a book about the fastest of them all got my attention pretty quickly.The way Doug Nye with help from Gordon Murray and mr mclaren Ron Dennis went about building the ultimate road car is mindblowing with nothing left out.The information on offer bfrom Murray's sketches to the biluding diagrams and customer options is amazing and if that wasn't enough we get the loedown on the racecar development including the Le Mans win (not bad for a debut!).Overall this is an amazing book for any petrolhead and if you like fast cars you will love it!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2000
The passion of McLaren, Ron Dennis and Gordon Murray combined with the superb technical writing of Doug Nye has resulted in a book which will serve as a poor mans momneto to the unparallelled acheivement that is/was the McLaren F1. Elegantly produced and craftily written, the story is utterly complete, starting at the beginning and continuing on until it reaches the end. If you are in half a mind as to whether or not you should buy this book, then do it because I can heartily reccommend it. As Doug Nye himself wrote many years ago about the TAG-McLarens, it is pure, unmistakable, incontrovertible class.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2000
Having been Employed by McLaren Cars from the early stages of development. I can say that this book is the most comprehensive start to finish documentary of the car you will find anywhere. Very impressed.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2012
Really haven't seen a book that goes into details as much as this one. Explains things like why they did things like they did. When you find a scan of hand written project goals then you know Mclaren shared a lot! Really pleased with my purchase and would recommend to anyone and especially engineers!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2016
Bought this the day it was published many years ago as a teenager. Must have read it cover to cover about five times since. No car book comes close for attention to detail. In a way the book mirrors the car.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2000
If you want to find out anything about the McLaren F1, it is in this book. The pictures are superb, and the writing is brilliant.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.