Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Poetry on Fire
To read the poetry of Pablo Neruda is to feel the pulse and beat of life so strongly that you would swear his poems were living breathing beings. His language is that of the land, and of the body combined; love, death, life, the land, the world and Chile are his subjects. There is the texture of stone, the violence of water, the swiftness of wind, the colours of blood and...
Published on 29 Nov. 2009 by LittleMoon

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Good selection of poems but a bizarre typeface, and some translations to be wary of.
Published 20 days ago by Rorshak


Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Poetry on Fire, 29 Nov. 2009
By 
LittleMoon (loving my life in the rain) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
To read the poetry of Pablo Neruda is to feel the pulse and beat of life so strongly that you would swear his poems were living breathing beings. His language is that of the land, and of the body combined; love, death, life, the land, the world and Chile are his subjects. There is the texture of stone, the violence of water, the swiftness of wind, the colours of blood and the splinters of bone; it is poetry of fire and intensity that once read will never be forgotten.

This volume beautifully brings together, side by side, the original Spanish and the English translations of a selection of 50 "essential" poems written over a 40 year period. They include some of the passionate, sensual "Twenty Love Poems" and also the splendid, soaring grace of his "Macchu Picchu" collection. Everything about this book is perfect, from the symbolic red poppy on the cover to the elongated font it is printed in.

I have read many, many poets, and I am struck by an incomparable, almost uncontainable vigour, energy and spirit that sizzles from every Neruda poem; they almost burst. This is poetry that works on a visceral level, and once in your blood, it will never let you go.

This is not just essential Neruda; it is essential poetry.

From: Heights of Macchu Picchu: VI

And then on the ladder of the earth I climbed
through the atrocious thicket of the lost jungles
up to you, Macchu Picchu.
High city of scaled stones,
at last a dwelling where the terrestrial
did not hide in its sleeping clothes.
In you, like two parallel lines,
the cradle of the lightning-bolt and man
rocked together in a thorny wind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best edition of selected Neruda poems, 12 Jan. 2006
By 
I love Neruda and I love this book.
"The call for a more accessible collection of Neruda's important poems is answered with City Lights' The Essential Neruda, a 200-page edition that offers 50 of Neruda's key poems. The editors and translators know how to extract gold from a lifetime of prolific writing. If you want a handy Neruda companion and don't know where to begin, this is it." – The Bloomsbury Review
From the back cover "What better way to celebrate the hundred years of Neruda's glorious residence on our earth than this selection of crucial works - in both languages! - by one of the greatest poets of all time. A splendid way to begin a love affair with our Pablo or, having already succumbed to his infinite charms, revisit him passionately again and again and yet again." -- Ariel Dorfman, pulitzer prize winner
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Splendid!, 13 July 2012
This review is from: The Essential Neruda: Selected Poems (Paperback)
This book is an awesome work with splendid poems that have something to say to everyone.

Side-by-side texts with their translations are great in making the reader evaluate the meanings and nuances in both languages.

I love these verses:

"And the air came in with orange-blossom fingers
over all those asleep:
a thousand years of air, months, weeks of air,
of blue wind, of iron cordillera,
that were like soft hurricanes of footsteps
polishing the lonely boundary of the stone."

The imagery is vivid and thrilling, like in these verses:

"Full woman, carnal apple, hot moon,
thick smell of seaweed, crushed mud and light,
what obscure clarity opens between your columns?
What ancient night does man touch with his senses?"

I can recommend this poetry to anyone.

Joyce Akesson, author of Love's Thrilling Dimensions and The Invitation
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Neruda, 29 Sept. 2010
This review is from: The Essential Neruda: Selected Poems (Paperback)
Brilliant book, especially to get you started on the journey that are the works of Pablo Neruda
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love is, 30 May 2011
This review is from: The Essential Neruda: Selected Poems (Paperback)
I loved this book. Pablo Neruda is a fantastic Poet. He has a magical gift for words. His love poems are second to none and after reading the ones in this book I realised why he had such a huge female fan base. I would thoroughly recommend this book. I can't get enough and will be buying more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful poems and a great way to practice ones Spanish, 31 Jan. 2015
By 
Ms. Simone Plaut (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Essential Neruda: Selected Poems (Paperback)
Beautiful poems and a great way to practice ones Spanish.... It's English on one page and so ish on the other
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 7 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Essential Neruda: Selected Poems (Paperback)
Good selection of poems but a bizarre typeface, and some translations to be wary of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 Aug. 2014
This review is from: The Essential Neruda: Selected Poems (Paperback)
lovely. even to speak aloud if you dont understand the Spanish it sound great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 10 Dec. 2014
By 
S. K. Sangar (London, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A wonderful anthology of the greatest Spanish-speaking poet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 8 Dec. 2014
Not bad
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Essential Neruda: Selected Poems
The Essential Neruda: Selected Poems by Pablo Neruda (Paperback - 30 April 2010)
£9.60
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews