Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars11
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
10
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 April 2005
A fantastic poetry book for those that love nature. Easy to read (even last thing at night), a real way with words that both gives pleasure and makes you think about the world and your place in it
0Comment|44 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2012
Mary Oliver is my favourite poet. Apart from my daughter that is. I think she is probably fairly near the top of the list for anyone who is familiar with her work.

Mary's capacity for finding immense beauty in even the smallest or ordinary elements of the world around her is so uplifting that I have found myself crying tears of joy even at times when life has been anything but joyful. She is clearly someone who has experienced deep pain too and expresses it in ways that the reader can both identify with but also feel their soul nurtured.

'Wild Geese' is a great place to experience Mary's uniquely personal yet wonderfully open and warm take on the world. It is a collection of some of her most sublime work, gleaned from other publications and, as the eponymous poem itself says - 'Whoever you are, no matter how lonely, the world offers itself to your imagination, calls to you like the wild geese, harsh and exciting - over and over announcing your place in the family of things.'

Read them to yourself alone or read them aloud with others - her love of life is infectious and beautifully crafted.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2014
I love the poems in this volume. They all generate the spark of connection from the written word to the heart. 'Wild Geese' is a poem I read frequently, particularly when the dark times hit, when you've got to pick yourself up. Even just when it's a winter Monday morning and you just don't want to go out into that dark sky.

Read this book and keep it with you always.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2014
I love this book of poems. My favourite at the moment is The Journey as it is so relevant to life. I have even given copies to people I know who are going through a challenging time due to historical issues and they find it a comfort. I love Mary's ability to be present with the world around her and capture that presence in words.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2014
I love Mary Oliver's simplicity and honesty- she responds emotionally to the beauty and rawness of nature and writes tenderly about life's biggest issues
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2012
Mary Oliver observes the present moment in Nature and its significance for the individual with such richness. Nothing is laboured in her writing it just 'is' and she allows a space for the reader to engage with her.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2013
I love this book of poems because I love the subject matters Mary Oliver writes about and her poems are very inspiring and nourishing. A couple of poems from this book first thing in the morning helps me to have a positive outlook on life for the rest of the day. I just love her lyrical and down to earth way of writing.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2014
I love the poetry of Mary Oliver, and this is a beautiful collection, I would highly recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2015
Just wonderful poetry!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2014
Beautiful
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.