Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

42 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wild Geese, 15 April 2005
This review is from: Wild Geese (Bloodaxe World Poets) (Paperback)
A fantastic poetry book for those that love nature. Easy to read (even last thing at night), a real way with words that both gives pleasure and makes you think about the world and your place in it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book makes my soul sing !, 9 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wild Geese (Bloodaxe World Poets) (Paperback)
Mary Oliver is my favourite poet. Apart from my daughter that is. I think she is probably fairly near the top of the list for anyone who is familiar with her work.

Mary's capacity for finding immense beauty in even the smallest or ordinary elements of the world around her is so uplifting that I have found myself crying tears of joy even at times when life has been anything but joyful. She is clearly someone who has experienced deep pain too and expresses it in ways that the reader can both identify with but also feel their soul nurtured.

'Wild Geese' is a great place to experience Mary's uniquely personal yet wonderfully open and warm take on the world. It is a collection of some of her most sublime work, gleaned from other publications and, as the eponymous poem itself says - 'Whoever you are, no matter how lonely, the world offers itself to your imagination, calls to you like the wild geese, harsh and exciting - over and over announcing your place in the family of things.'

Read them to yourself alone or read them aloud with others - her love of life is infectious and beautifully crafted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mary Oliver at her best, 8 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wild Geese (Bloodaxe World Poets) (Paperback)
I love this book of poems. My favourite at the moment is The Journey as it is so relevant to life. I have even given copies to people I know who are going through a challenging time due to historical issues and they find it a comfort. I love Mary's ability to be present with the world around her and capture that presence in words.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars UPLIFTING AND INSPIRATIONAL, 15 Jan 2014
This review is from: Wild Geese (Bloodaxe World Poets) (Paperback)
I love the poems in this volume. They all generate the spark of connection from the written word to the heart. 'Wild Geese' is a poem I read frequently, particularly when the dark times hit, when you've got to pick yourself up. Even just when it's a winter Monday morning and you just don't want to go out into that dark sky.

Read this book and keep it with you always.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gentleness for the Soul, 19 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wild Geese (Bloodaxe World Poets) (Paperback)
Mary Oliver observes the present moment in Nature and its significance for the individual with such richness. Nothing is laboured in her writing it just 'is' and she allows a space for the reader to engage with her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful poems, 4 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wild Geese (Bloodaxe World Poets) (Paperback)
I love Mary Oliver's simplicity and honesty- she responds emotionally to the beauty and rawness of nature and writes tenderly about life's biggest issues
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Read for Nature lovers, 30 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wild Geese (Bloodaxe World Poets) (Paperback)
I love this book of poems because I love the subject matters Mary Oliver writes about and her poems are very inspiring and nourishing. A couple of poems from this book first thing in the morning helps me to have a positive outlook on life for the rest of the day. I just love her lyrical and down to earth way of writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 19 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wild Geese (Bloodaxe World Poets) (Paperback)
I love the poetry of Mary Oliver, and this is a beautiful collection, I would highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wild Geese (Bloodaxe World Poets)
Wild Geese (Bloodaxe World Poets) by Mary Oliver (Paperback - 28 Oct 2004)
£7.16
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews