Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
32
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 December 2012
By the time you have followed Sansom's advice, you will have deleted everything you have ever written, but will probably have written at least one decent poem ( which he recommends you don't show anyone for 6 months). Whilst you are waiting, time will be well spent working through his recommended reading list. His chapter on metre seems erudite and clear and there is also a chapter giving teaching suggestions...useful whether you are a teacher or not. This sits well alongside Astley's trilogy of poetry anthologies ( Alive x 2; Human ). Recommend.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2011
Clearly written with sections on metre, rhyme, various poetic forms, writing exercises, suggestions for further reading and a useful glossary.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2016
The book itself is very good but it was in a poor condition. The cover and some of the pages were torn.
As it was only for my own use and I needed it immediately, (and didn't want to go to the bother of returning it!)
I managed to repair it with 'Magictape'. It's not perfect by any means but it will suffice.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2013
The book covers the technicalities of poetry writing well with passages on rhythm, meter, rhyme and stanza types. It has a wider range of poem structures and looks at more contemporary approaches than 'The Ode Less Travelled' by Stephen Fry. The glossary is good and the book introduces the work of Poets of established standing but they tend to be male and writing at their peak 20-30 years ago; some have passed away. What Stephen Fry offers is a lot more wit and a 'poetry is delightful' approach (although most of his poets have also shed this mortal plane). Peter Sansom offers a professorial approach telling his reader what is good.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2013
a lot of talk but not a lot of content the ode less travelled by fry better value for money
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2014
Full of excellent and sometimes pithy advice.
All aspiring self-publishing poets should read this book and either raise their game or stop inflicting their work on a defenceless general public.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2013
I have a had a good response from the writer friend I sent this book to. She says its great. So I pass that assessment on to other Amazon customers.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2014
A really brilliant academic read, I've actually enjoyed it. The book itself is in very good condition aside from a small stain and a couple of notes inside, none of that bothers me though :) thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2016
Super aid to writing poetry, particularly its discuss of different forms. Also a good book to help you become more self-critical in order to improve your own work. Great book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2014
This book was on our suggested reading list for university and I now know why. It is a brilliant book and very easy to understand. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse