Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, honest, taboo breaking poetry
Jackie Kay writes about subjects often not dealt with by poetry - such as, here, adoption, cultural identity, racism, sexuality.

This is an highly enjoyable, original, stimulating, accessible collection. A must have for your poetry library, even if you don't normally read poetry.
Published on 16 Sept. 2010 by Ray Smith

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Want grim, dull and humourless? Step right this way...
Kiwi poet Fleur Adcock of The Sunday Times says these dire poems are "..very funny."

I tried hard to find amusement in this "pee and cardboard" selection. I failed to find anything that even resembled humour...or interest for that matter.

I could be wrong, so if you DO find anything to giggle about please flag it up in a review. Then, maybe, there...
Published 19 months ago by M. Boost


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, honest, taboo breaking poetry, 16 Sept. 2010
By 
This review is from: The Adoption Papers (Paperback)
Jackie Kay writes about subjects often not dealt with by poetry - such as, here, adoption, cultural identity, racism, sexuality.

This is an highly enjoyable, original, stimulating, accessible collection. A must have for your poetry library, even if you don't normally read poetry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Want grim, dull and humourless? Step right this way..., 11 July 2013
By 
M. Boost "Boostie" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Adoption Papers (Paperback)
Kiwi poet Fleur Adcock of The Sunday Times says these dire poems are "..very funny."

I tried hard to find amusement in this "pee and cardboard" selection. I failed to find anything that even resembled humour...or interest for that matter.

I could be wrong, so if you DO find anything to giggle about please flag it up in a review. Then, maybe, there won't be 40 Amazon sellers desperate to offload "The Adoption Papers" for a single penny hoping to recoup on the postage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 44 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Serious poetry?, 11 Feb. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Adoption Papers (Paperback)
I studied this collection of poetry last year, having not really read any of Jackie Kay's poetry before. The first thing which struck me was how Kay is able to put ideas forward in a way which includes her reader completely; it is very easy to see where she is coming from. "The Adoption Papers" is actually the title of a poem, seperated into 'chapters', which relates the story of a white couple adopting a black baby (Kay is a black writer who was actually adopted, although how 'autobiographical' this poem may be is debateable). This poem makes up the first section of the poetry volume, "Severe Gale 8" is the second half. Severe Gale 8 is a collection of shorter poems, some re-exploring themes from the previous section.
Both of the sections deal with issues such as the question of how important origins are to peolpe as they grow up as well as what constitutes a 'normal' family unit.
What I liked about this collection of poetry is that it is modern, it deals with issues which remain to be very relevant to today's society. Contentious issues are discussed instead of being shied away from, and are done so in a way which makes you stop as you read the poems, in order to consider what is being said.
Although Kay may not have the same direct humour as other poets, such as Carol Ann Duffy, her poetry is still very entertaining. A good read generally.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating book!, 21 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Adoption Papers (Paperback)
Having an adopted son, we are particularly interested in Jackie Kay's writing, and she has great talent. But her writing is for EVERYONE.
Ann
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I thoroughly enjoyed this book which covers the author, 22 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Adoption Papers (Paperback)
I thoroughly enjoyed this book which covers the author;s search for her birth parents with humour and honesty. It describes the emotions, fears, disappointments and joys of an adopted person's journey to discover their roots, and throws light on an experience not often made public. Too often 'reunions' between adopted people and their birth familes is treated in a shallow and romantic way, and problems and realities are not explained.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A poet for the people, 21 Feb. 2009
By 
Ms. M. Kolodziej "meeshkol" (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Adoption Papers (Paperback)
Moving and humorous, JK uses language skilfully and evocatively. She is an exceptional poet in that anyone can read and appreciate her without being a big fan of poetry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Book, 20 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Jackie Kay writes the three perspectives of Mother, Daughter and Adopted Mother thoughtfully and beautifully. This ebook accurately portrays the paper back (no missing words or misinterpretations) and is easy to follow.

If you like thought provoking poetry that grasps you from the first page than I would highly recommend 'The Adoption Papers'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great collection of poems, 29 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was given a choice of three poetry collections to read and review as part of my university course, and I chose The Adoption Papers. Honestly, it was all down to price and the fact that I could get this one delivered to my Kindle app for Android. I knew nothing about the collection and had never heard of the poet before my tutor mentioned her name to me.

The Adoption Papers is split into two halves; the first, the eponymous poem 'The Adoption Papers', detailing the poet's own emotional journey through finding out about being adopted and how she, her foster mother and her birth mother came to deal with that. The poem is written from the three females' points of view, denoted through different font faces. The story is well detailed, the poem is not what you expect, and, most of all, is riveting.

The second half of the collection is a series of individual poems, which are also good reads; though I much preferred the first half of the collection. There are multiple poems grappling with the idea of homosexuality and the effect on one's life this has.

I heartily recommend the collection to new poetry readers, experienced readers and everything in between.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars The Adoption Papers, 8 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you enjoy something different you may like this book. It is not funny, joyous, informative or a chance to enter a different world through reading.The changes of typeface to represent different speakers cause confusion and annoyance There are positive points to draw from ehe situation but the book finds none. I found the book to be depressing and ugly in style. Others have enjoyed it so good luck
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Jackiei Kay: The Adoption Papers, 8 Aug. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Adoption Papers (Paperback)
Jackie Kay: The Adoption Papers: the volume makes a sensitive contribution to the poetry of insecurity over an individual's identity
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Adoption Papers
The Adoption Papers by Jackie Kay (Paperback - 3 Jan. 1998)
£7.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews