Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent guide to training all dogs
This book is an excellent guide to training all kind of dogs not just the German Shepherd. It is simple and easy to follow and is well illustrated. It offers a step by step guide to training your dog to whatever standard you are looking for, from basic pet obedience up to competition level, using modern methods.
Published on 24 Feb 2001

versus
30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars BEWARE - the Synopsis makes inaccurate claims!
BEWARE - the Synopsis makes inaccurate claims!

As I'm considering buying a German Shepherd, I was looking for a book specifically dealing with this breed. The synopsis claimed: "Covering all aspects of training and with a strong emphasis on understanding the breed's psyche," which fooled me into buying a copy.

This claim could not be further from the...
Published on 4 Dec 2006 by Reddit


Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars BEWARE - the Synopsis makes inaccurate claims!, 4 Dec 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
BEWARE - the Synopsis makes inaccurate claims!

As I'm considering buying a German Shepherd, I was looking for a book specifically dealing with this breed. The synopsis claimed: "Covering all aspects of training and with a strong emphasis on understanding the breed's psyche," which fooled me into buying a copy.

This claim could not be further from the truth. The synopsis should more accurately read, "For those interested in circuit training, with a few small black and white photos of German Shepherds thrown in for good measure."

I can't comment on whether it does a good job coaching readers to train their non-specific-breed of dog to jump through tyres, weave through cones and skip merrily before the judges, but I can say as a book about German Shepherd dogs, their history, their psyche, specifics of the breed, etc, with particular emphasis on training, it's marginally better than "The Complete Cat Guide," but not much... So again, to summarise:

For circuit training your dog - maybe.

For German Shepherd specific training - no way
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent guide to training all dogs, 24 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Training the German Shepherd Dog (Hardcover)
This book is an excellent guide to training all kind of dogs not just the German Shepherd. It is simple and easy to follow and is well illustrated. It offers a step by step guide to training your dog to whatever standard you are looking for, from basic pet obedience up to competition level, using modern methods.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not too useful, 2 Sep 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I didnt find this book too useful as it didnt tell me much I wanted to know. If you want to train your dog, understand its behaviour and be patient! Use basic training techniques and socialise the dog a lot! Also reinforce good behaviour and ignore bad. Not everyone wants a dog that is a machine!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another brilliant book by John Cree, 20 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Training the German Shepherd Dog (Hardcover)
Good book. Good condition. Good delivery .This guy has written other books on German Shepherds and his techniques and explanation are the best I have read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellant book, 23 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An excellent book for those with an interest in training their dogs and especially for those who wish to go beyond the basic "pet obedience", i.e. sit, down, come etc. There seem to be many books covering basic things but very few that go beyond. As a result of this book I am intending to enter some Working Trials with my GSD and would recommend this book to anyone who is interested in, or thinks they may be interested in the sport of Working Trials. If however you are looking for a book on solving behavioural issues, stopping bad habits etc, this is not the book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dated and not really what expected, 13 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well written book, but somewhat dated and really focuses on the training of the dog for more professional purposes not as a pet. So great if you are training the dog to track and act as a security dog, but not much use for everyday pet purposes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Book for GSD lovers, 11 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you own a GSD, you should own this book, this guy knows what he is talking about. I had never owned a dog so all reading material was welcome. An expert recommended this book and I have not looked back. Simple honest advise that works and works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ahead of its time!, 6 Jun 2009
By 
Ms. J. A. Brown (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Training the German Shepherd Dog (Hardcover)
Really good book - works along the lines of many modern day dog training techniques but its been around for years. John Cree clearly adores working with his dogs and provides really good explanations and ideas for different elements of working with your dog. Its suitable for anyone wanting to take on basic training to those who want to have a go at working trials etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Training the German Shepherd Dog
Training the German Shepherd Dog by John Cree (Hardcover - 29 April 1996)
Used & New from: £4.09
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews