Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
20
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£14.88+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 September 2010
This is the best book on bass fishing that I have read. John Darling fished with many of Britain's most famous names in sea fishing and, in his most successful season, caught in excess of 140 double figure bass - he got to 143 before losing count.
In this book he explains where to look for bass, their behaviour throughout the season and how and when they feed. He discusses the characteristics of the foreshore and the features immediately offshore, the states of the tide, the weather and the time of day and year and how they affect the fishing.
There is so much information here that I get more from the book every time I pick it up. His logic is compelling and his enthusiasm is infectious; as a result I am a much more thoughtful and imaginative fisherman.
The book is beautifully written and in my opinion confirms John Darling as one of the angling greats. I believe his knowledge of bass and his ability to analyse their behaviour puts him in the same league as Richard Walker, who was possibly the best and most innovative of Britain's course fisherman.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2009
Excellent book with lots of detailed explanation on how to fish for Bass in different situations and times of the season.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2014
This is a thoroughly enjoyable read, full of anecdote, from one of the greats. As well as lots of practical tips it's really the stories and the style that are most fun. I thoroughly recommend this to any U.K. sea bass angler.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2016
I had the pleasure of meeting John many years ago at Lewes station one morning on return from a freezing nights fishing as a young man on Seaford beach. He came over and spoke to us and asked how we thad got on and imparted some "local" knowledge which i have kept with me all these years. Having been away from sea fishing for a long time i am now back into it and ambition os to land a 10lb Bass from the shore. This book is excellent and informative and i recognise the locations John is fishing at. Thanks for the very useful advice. tight lines, Wiggy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2014
This author knows his stuff - gems of information gained from years of real experience. Writing style readable not just a list of tackle but stories of big bass caught.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2014
A book written by a local fisherman based all around Eastbourne and Seaford. Well written with good pictures contains good tips.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
really love this book. Gives some technical stuff along with stories to put things in to context. This is my fav book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2015
Lots of great tips, from one of the great and succesfull Angles, I learned a lot, and still use as a reference book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2015
Good info in book little bit disappointing with quality and size seems a bit dated for the price
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2014
A great read for beginner and expert alike, loads of useful information. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)