Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
12
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
10
4 star
0
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£19.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 October 2010
Another brilliant book from the V&A.

This book is well photograhed and informatively written, with just enough background on the subject matter and details about the garments featured. This is really handy for research into the history of lingerie, as well as wonderfully detailed photographs that are useful and inspirational for the fashion designer.

As a corsetier myself, I've found this book really inspiational. It shows examples of garments I have never seen on show at the V&A with enough detail to understand construction techniques and shows some absolutely wonderful examples of historical lingerie.

Fabulous as research material, great on the coffee table to look at beautiful things whilst enjoying afternoon tea.

X
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2012
I flicked through this book at the V&A museum but the price put me off a bit, I came home and found it on Amazon for much less . I am studying pattern cutting, tailoring and Corsetry at college (as a very mature student)and found every page a joy. It gave me lots of inspiration for trims and finishes as well as different shapes to attempt. Every page is gloriously photographed and there is a diagram of the construction of the garments which gives a wonderful insight into the work involved. It is sheer eyecandy, visually stunning, informative and just makes you sigh with pleasure. For those working in fashion it would be extremely useful as the detail of "what goes underneath" is essential for designing what goes on top. All my college class were impressed with the images and detail. A truly gorgeous book!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2013
I cannot praise this book highly enough. The close up photography is a joy revealing more detail than you would normally see, even on a museum visit. There is enough written information to engage but not overwhelm along with a working drawing to help illustrate the construction techniques. An absolute must buy for anyone with an interest in Historic corsetry or undergarments and a useful resource for costumiers or fashion students/tutors alike.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2011
fantastic book.was exactly what i was hoping for.has shifts,shirts,chemises from 1600,s -1800,s.amazing corsets [how did they wear them],petticoats,crinolines,negligees,nightdresses.also bras from 20th century.something i,d never heard of before sleeve pads from the 1820,s 1830,s.well worth buying
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2010
I love these fashion in detail books! This one has detailed photos of chemises and corsets from the 16th century onwards. I love the photos of the embroidery and other works close up. If you like underwear, are a historical reinactor, or costumer, this book is a fabulous asset.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2011
this is a great reference book for anyone interested in period/ historical underwear / costuming. IT has really beautiful pictures which show alot of detail acompanied by technical drawings and a written drescription. such a lovely book, I would not expect anything less from the V&A!!!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2011
Bought this book for a friends 21st birthday, she`s currently at University studying Fashion and Design.
It`s what she wanted and was absolutely thrilled with it, it has everything she needs to know about lingerie
fashion and styles and is a great help with her course work. Great book
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2015
A delicious book, full of delightfully luscious pictures of clothing in times gone by.
The detail is helpful in understanding the clothes worn in the past
I am more than happy to own it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2015
A great book to have for shear enjoyment and as a reference book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2013
Has lots of vintage lingerie, but it is not the prettiest stuff I have ever seen. Lots of writing - I prefer these books to be more visual picture books rather than have loads of writing to accompany the pictures. I am not really intersted in the history of the garments, just like looking at the pictures. If only all the lingerie inside was as nice as the corset on the front......
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)