Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars35
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: HardcoverChange
Price:£22.75+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 December 2012
A very elegant and well crafted book. Some describe it as a coffee table book but for those who love costume and drama this is an excellent reference book. It certainly is heavy but don't let that put you off.

As the V&A Hollywood Costume exhibition curator, Deborah Nadoolman paved the way for many costume designers, setting the standards extremely high. Deborah was credited for Raiders of the Lost Ark, The Blues Brothers, Coming to America and many others. This lady is no stranger to Hollywood.

A lesser known point on the author is that Deborah also wrote the first doctoral dissertation in the field of film costume design and graduated with a PhD in the History of Design from the Royal College of Art in 2003.

Owning this book gives you a first class ticket to travel through this era of Hollywood
0Comment7 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2013
Really enjoyed the V&A visit and this is a high quality companion book that stands on its own two feet for any movie buff's bookshelf. The forward explains that the heart of the exhibition originally formed part of Debbie Reynolds MGM collection that she had to sell in 2011.There are some minor quibbles -even more/ larger pictures would have been great and it is a little repetitive in places (we certainly know that many actors find it easier to get into character once they don the carefully crafted outfit...) . The text explores the unquestionable art of the costumes, but there seemed scope for some more research and movie trivia. For example, there are some stills from Cameron's 1997 'Titanic', and reference to many silent era films being costumed by 'Lucile' of New York, but I suspect that the two are linked to Lady Cosmo Duff Gordon, a survivor whose lingerie company presumably went on to supply the costumes for the emerging Hollywood industry.
A great book to look at, if weighty to hold. I only docked half a star because I wanted even more out of it.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2013
I really enjoyed the exhibition and was disappointed that there was no catalogue or many postcards of the costumes on show. I found this book disappointing, largely due to the editing. It is a collection of articles illustrated by costumes from the exhibition and my problem was the repetition, especially in the section on historical costume, we are told the same thing over and over again, using the same examples. Basically historical accuracy is less important than appealing to the contemporary audience and this is explored in at least three of the articles with examples from movies about Elizabeth 1 and Marie Antoinette.We are informed at least twice that the palette in Sofia Coppola's film was based on the colours of macaroons.
Another downside is the quality of some of the illustrations. One of the chapters is based around Hogarth's paintings and talks about details in the paintings, but the reproductions are too dark to make anything out.
Lastly some of the costumes are under represented, only one small film still of Darth Vader whose costume was a star of the show.
0Comment7 of 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2013
I adore this Book, and wish I had read it before I went to see the Exhibition at the V& A as it would have enhanced the experience! As a coffee table book it ticks all the boxes with a beautifull cover, silky pages and stunning photos.
The book is complied by Deborah Landis, the wife of John Landis and as a Costume Designer she has worked on many of his Movies. The book charts the very beginings of Hollywood and the influence of costumes on a Movie right the way through to modern CGI and how there is still a need for Costume Designers in that field (something that never even occured to me!) Deborah writes many of the chapters herself, but there are plenty of contibutions from other experts in the field.
If you have an interest in Hollywood I would highly recommend the book.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2013
Good pictures, well chosen. Many are quite rare, I think, suggesting some meaningful research
Text is authoritative . Not surprising as the author is well qualified.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2013
We saw this book at the V&A after visiting the Hollywood Costumes exhibition. We decided to see how much it would be on Amazon so left it on the day. We were pleasantly surprised to find that we could buy this hardback edition on Amazon for less than the softback edition in the gift shop. Good quality printing and images makes for a good memento of the exhibition.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2013
Hollywood Costume is the book which accompanied the exhibition at the Victoria & Albert Museum during Autumn 2012. It was a gift for my daughter who loved the exhibition and works in the Costume industry herself. She was thrilled to have it .
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2013
This book is fabulous and a great follow up to the exhibition at the V&A which unfortunately has ended. It tells the story of hollywood costumes with lots of photographs and great dialogue bringing the careful process of film making to life.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2012
This is a lovely coffee table book for anyone interested in the glamour of film and costume. It was far more scholarly than I had expected and plenty of lovely illustrations, well worth the money I thought.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2013
well ehm,! its a good souvenir of the exhibition, at a great price and in excellent condition I highly recommend it
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£16.58
£26.00

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)
  -  
Fast Shipping & Price Matching. Save Up To 90% on Select Products!
  -  
Costumes, accessories & balloons Dance wear & dance shoes, kites