Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 25 May 2012
By 
J. Devaney (CHESHIRE,ENGLAND) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: High Street (Hardcover)
What a great book.Wonderful illustrations and text,evocative of the Pre war high street.Good value,well produced book.Eric Revilious an artist I had not come across before but will now look for more of his work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent ..., 22 Sep 2012
By 
B. Magorrian - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: High Street (Hardcover)
I'd echo want previous reviewer wrote.
This book is a facsimile edition of one first published in 1958. Pictures are printed on paper with no text on reverse in order to increase image quality. Given that the book was published by the V&A of their British Design Season it is of interest that it is printed in China.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars delightful, 21 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: High Street (Hardcover)
I enjoyed the beautiful paintings and along with the write up took me back to my childhood days to when going shopping was a
time of discovery when every shop had lovely window displays. When one could watch the butcher cutting the meat, enjoy the smell of the coffee grinder and the baking of bread. This book took me back to a time which is now part of our history and I am so
grateful that I was part of it and this book has brought back so many happy memories
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fine., 13 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: High Street (Hardcover)
This is a lovely piece of the past, rather sad when you think how our High Streets are now.
This was a smooth purchase, all good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Save our High Streets, 23 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: High Street (Hardcover)
This is a fascinating account of our love of the High Street, evocative and prophetic it recalls many national retail treasures!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A total and utter joy from beginning to end, 30 Oct 2014
By 
Mrs. K. A. Wheatley "katywheatley" (Leicester, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: High Street (Hardcover)
I was given this book as a gift, and the person that gave it to me knows me very well indeed. This is an absolutely beautiful book. The illustrations by Eric Ravilious are delightful, and the accompanying text by J. M. Richards is just the icing on the cake. I believe this was published in the late Thirties, and one of the joys of the book, and indeed the sadnesses too, is that so many of the shops featured here don't exist in the modern high street. It is a joy to read about them. It is a sadness to have lost them.

All the shops featured did actually exist at one point, and the afterword details where some of them were, and tells you that there are two of the shops which are still trading today, which is fairly remarkable.

The language of the book is old fashioned and delicious. It reads like a children's book, but this is part of the delight of it. It reminds me of having found some of my old Ladybird picture books from the sixties and seventies that were about the jobs people do. The language is very similar.

In this book my particular favourite is the taxidermist whose foreman keeps two hundred stuffed mice at home, each in different poses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eric Ravilious............High Street, 8 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: High Street (Hardcover)
Delivered quickly and well packed. A lovely book with interesting illustrations and informative text. This made a nice gift for a loved one with an established liking for the artist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic quality reproductions of the original prints by Eric Ravilious, 29 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: High Street (Hardcover)
This book is packed with high quality colour reproductions of Ravilious' original prints featuring shop fronts from the 1930's. I needed the reproductions for a GCSE art project but the text provides a fascinating insight into the stage of retail in the 1930's just before the all inclusive department store took over and destroyed the specialist shops on the high street of every English town. I recommend this interesting and well presented publication.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good companion to Edward Bawden,s London, 4 May 2014
By 
R. V. Johnson "Manxlady" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: High Street (Hardcover)
Bought this along with Edward Bawden,s London , both compliment each other, and both make excellent reading. Would highly recommend both books. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Worth buying, 25 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: High Street (Hardcover)
A really delightful book that I can highly recommend. The Ravilious pictures show a fascinating way of life that has now completely changed since shopping habits and the way we buy things has altered. The specialist shops shown in the pictures are very well described in the text, and the combination of the Ravilious pictures and their stories make for a really interesting book that in itself is a work,of art.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

High Street
High Street by Eric Ravilious (Hardcover - 5 Mar 2012)
£16.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews