Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars V&A Pattern: Spitalfields Silks
An amazing book, neatly packaged with the bonus surprise of the DVD in the back cover, which somehow I hadn't noticed when choosing the book.
A great asset for anyone with an interest in Silk production designs in the UK. Key names included from the Spitalfields community of its time.
Having been to a visit at the Macclesfield silk museum near Manchester last...
Published 13 months ago by nancy clark

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
very small book . only found a couple of patterns interesting
Published 10 months ago by Maria Du Gard


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars V&A Pattern: Spitalfields Silks, 13 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: V&A Pattern: Spitalfields Silks (Hardcover)
An amazing book, neatly packaged with the bonus surprise of the DVD in the back cover, which somehow I hadn't noticed when choosing the book.
A great asset for anyone with an interest in Silk production designs in the UK. Key names included from the Spitalfields community of its time.
Having been to a visit at the Macclesfield silk museum near Manchester last year, it was hard to believe how technologically cutting edge the weaving process was in its day. When you see the range of designs up close, and the way they were using graph paper to expand or reduce them, then put this process into production, they come across as being exceptionally highly skilled.
Hopefully with the forthcoming focus on the Georgian period being promoted within museums etc this year, it will bring to light the these hidden talents once again. 2015 is a big Huguenot celebration, so the rise of our London designers, spinners and weavers of the age may shine a light on their talents.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 23 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: V&A Pattern: Spitalfields Silks (Hardcover)
very small book . only found a couple of patterns interesting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great book - but!, 10 Feb. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: V&A Pattern: Spitalfields Silks (Hardcover)
I brought this as I'm slowly collecting this great little series of books. Printed content is wonderful, but the CD Rom at the back does not work - opens as a writable disk without content. Not a big deal if it was a one off problem. However, I have now had two replacement copies both with the same issue (hence 2 stars). Not great for the V&A Brand or Amazon. Beware.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Small book, 8 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: V&A Pattern: Spitalfields Silks (Hardcover)
I thought this book would be bigger, it's fine, a nice little book and a beginning for looking at Spitalfields Silks but I won't be in a rush to buy more books from this series. As a textiles student I think it didn't take me far enough along the road.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: V&A Pattern: Spitalfields Silks (Hardcover)
Brilliant book, arrived quick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: V&A Pattern: Spitalfields Silks (Hardcover)
Excellent item
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

V&A Pattern: Spitalfields Silks
V&A Pattern: Spitalfields Silks by Thunder Moira (Hardcover - 6 Jun. 2011)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews