Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Underwear: Fashion in detail, V&A publishing
Another brilliant book from the V&A.

This book is well photograhed and informatively written, with just enough background on the subject matter and details about the garments featured. This is really handy for research into the history of lingerie, as well as wonderfully detailed photographs that are useful and inspirational for the fashion designer...
Published on 23 Oct 2010 by Chrissie Nicholson-Wild

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars underwear book
not what I expected but an interesting read
Published 5 months ago by diva bubble


Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Underwear: Fashion in detail, V&A publishing, 23 Oct 2010
This review is from: Underwear (Hardcover)
Another brilliant book from the V&A.

This book is well photograhed and informatively written, with just enough background on the subject matter and details about the garments featured. This is really handy for research into the history of lingerie, as well as wonderfully detailed photographs that are useful and inspirational for the fashion designer.

As a corsetier myself, I've found this book really inspiational. It shows examples of garments I have never seen on show at the V&A with enough detail to understand construction techniques and shows some absolutely wonderful examples of historical lingerie.

Fabulous as research material, great on the coffee table to look at beautiful things whilst enjoying afternoon tea.

X
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars visually stunning, 3 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Underwear (Hardcover)
I flicked through this book at the V&A museum but the price put me off a bit, I came home and found it on Amazon for much less . I am studying pattern cutting, tailoring and Corsetry at college (as a very mature student)and found every page a joy. It gave me lots of inspiration for trims and finishes as well as different shapes to attempt. Every page is gloriously photographed and there is a diagram of the construction of the garments which gives a wonderful insight into the work involved. It is sheer eyecandy, visually stunning, informative and just makes you sigh with pleasure. For those working in fashion it would be extremely useful as the detail of "what goes underneath" is essential for designing what goes on top. All my college class were impressed with the images and detail. A truly gorgeous book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars underwear fashion in detail, 27 Oct 2011
This review is from: Underwear (Hardcover)
fantastic book.was exactly what i was hoping for.has shifts,shirts,chemises from 1600,s -1800,s.amazing corsets [how did they wear them],petticoats,crinolines,negligees,nightdresses.also bras from 20th century.something i,d never heard of before sleeve pads from the 1820,s 1830,s.well worth buying
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars you need this book, 3 Jan 2013
By 
Nicola Reeve "Nic" (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Underwear (Hardcover)
I cannot praise this book highly enough. The close up photography is a joy revealing more detail than you would normally see, even on a museum visit. There is enough written information to engage but not overwhelm along with a working drawing to help illustrate the construction techniques. An absolute must buy for anyone with an interest in Historic corsetry or undergarments and a useful resource for costumiers or fashion students/tutors alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lingerie Styles, 3 Aug 2011
This review is from: Underwear (Hardcover)
Bought this book for a friends 21st birthday, she`s currently at University studying Fashion and Design.
It`s what she wanted and was absolutely thrilled with it, it has everything she needs to know about lingerie
fashion and styles and is a great help with her course work. Great book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fashion in Detail, 15 Nov 2010
This review is from: Underwear (Hardcover)
I love these fashion in detail books! This one has detailed photos of chemises and corsets from the 16th century onwards. I love the photos of the embroidery and other works close up. If you like underwear, are a historical reinactor, or costumer, this book is a fabulous asset.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars beautiful book!, 3 Feb 2011
By 
L. Taylor "Lucy" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Underwear (Hardcover)
this is a great reference book for anyone interested in period/ historical underwear / costuming. IT has really beautiful pictures which show alot of detail acompanied by technical drawings and a written drescription. such a lovely book, I would not expect anything less from the V&A!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars underwear book, 22 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
not what I expected but an interesting read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Okay, 23 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Underwear (Hardcover)
Has lots of vintage lingerie, but it is not the prettiest stuff I have ever seen. Lots of writing - I prefer these books to be more visual picture books rather than have loads of writing to accompany the pictures. I am not really intersted in the history of the garments, just like looking at the pictures. If only all the lingerie inside was as nice as the corset on the front......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Underwear
Underwear by Wearden Jennifer (Hardcover - 4 Oct 2010)
Used & New from: £103.82
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews