Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
32
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
24
4 star
8
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 December 2010
What I wanted was a selection of patterns that gave a flavour of the Fities - and this little book amply provided that. The small amount of text is relevant and informative; there are over 60 colour reproductions of textile and fabric designs in the book itself and 70 patterns on the CD which comes with the book - some of them repeats of the ones in the book.
The CD should open in most image software.
While you are invited to use the images as inspiration and a resource,you are also asked to respect the V&A's intellectual property. Whilst permission should be sought for commercial use, the museum's commitment to design means that "securing permissions should be reasonable and quick".
As an initial dip into Fifties patterns, I think this is really excellent value. The short bibliography looks helpful.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2011
This is a great small book. It has beautiful bright and vivid images of some of V&A museums collection of wallpaper, prints and textile designs.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2011
The images are stunning and the free CD was a real bonus - high definition images you can use at home.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2011
If you like patterns then the book gives you paterns, gave it as a gift seemed popular and still floating under the coffee table.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2014
A pocket guide to the 1950s. A real little gem, clear whole page prints to make you go OO! for myself it was nostalgic, but for anyone it is a real slice of grandma's house. I could feel the itchy uncut mochete sofa as I flicked through the pages and touch the crisp cotton of the Horrocks' dresses my mother wore. Liberties, Heals and many more. Wonderful and the CD is very useful too.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2014
With an understandable Text that's informative and very interesting - i wasn't very familiar with this period as it's just before my time but i've always been aware of its influence on 20th Century fabric and Textile Design .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2011
This book is compact but clearly demonstrates an array of fifties print. Some are easily recognised such as Lucian Day and others are more obscure. The CD that neatly slots into the back cover contains the prints at a higher resolution which is useful for designers.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2011
Whe I purchased this book I assumed it was going to be more substantial than a teeny weeny pocket book BUT this is a good little book! It is a good one for an introductory taster on 50s fabrics and for referencing specific designs with their designers and dates etc, but its not the only book you'll want to look at if you're serious about Mid-Century surface design. The main reason for this is that even though it covers some absolute classics that '50s fans will already know well, it is more of a modest catalogue of designs and it doesnt go in to any real detail on the subject. Its a good one to have in your collection, and you cant go wrong with a V&A publication, although I do hope they do a more in-depth version on the subject (or perhaps they have and I havnt seen it yet?)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2012
On her wishlist of books again so I couldn't go wrong and she absolutely loved it.

It sits on the bookshelf in the main room of the house - that's how well she regards it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2013
I was looking for inspiration and I did get some (but not a lot). I had forgotten just how abstract and wild some 50's designs were. It was certainly a blast from the past.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)