Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible
To think that some of the garments pictured in coloured detail were done by hand is amazing. The skill, time and effort involved cannot be underestimated. One really gets the sense of what it would have been like to have worn such clothes and the lifestyle and restrictions involved. Although it would have been nice to see the the whole garment as well as the detail this...
Published on 1 Aug. 2007 by Diane

versus
22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lovely to look at.
I am a costume construction student and purchased this book 2007. I have referred to it quite a few times because of its beautiful close up details that have been relevant to assignments but it does frustrate me time over that I cannot see the complete garment. It really is a lovely book but maybe for someone who has interest in costume rather than someone looking for...
Published on 7 Nov. 2008 by Sarah Jayne


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible, 1 Aug. 2007
By 
To think that some of the garments pictured in coloured detail were done by hand is amazing. The skill, time and effort involved cannot be underestimated. One really gets the sense of what it would have been like to have worn such clothes and the lifestyle and restrictions involved. Although it would have been nice to see the the whole garment as well as the detail this did not spoil my enjoyment. One thing (a minor point really considering the eye candy on offer here)I would really love to know from books such as these is, what are the measurements of the garments. What was the bust. waist and length of the dress? Shouldn't grumble though - buy it and just sit and be amazed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lovely to look at., 7 Nov. 2008
I am a costume construction student and purchased this book 2007. I have referred to it quite a few times because of its beautiful close up details that have been relevant to assignments but it does frustrate me time over that I cannot see the complete garment. It really is a lovely book but maybe for someone who has interest in costume rather than someone looking for visual research.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful! excellent pictures and interesting text, 13 Jan. 2010
This review is from: Nineteenth Century Fashion in Detail (Paperback)
as a stage designer I'm always in search of detailed informations about period costume, I found this book really marvelous, plenty of wonderful large coloured pictures and accurate interesting texts. the organisation of costumes in the book is also very interesting: "the male image, historicism, romantic styles, exoticism, innovations, construction details, the natural world" showing various influences of the ninetennth cetury fashion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Visual Feast, 15 April 2009
By 
Io (Cymru, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Nineteenth Century Fashion in Detail (Paperback)
As a lover of historical fashion and a creator of reproduction costume, I find this book an excellent reference manual, showing details of construction. As well as being informative, its clean lay out and beautiful photographs are just as valuable to me and make the book a stunning visual addition to my library.

If you are interested in historical fashion, I cannot imagine you'd be anything but delighted with this book.

My only critiscm is that it's too short, I want more and more...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Clothes, Beautiful Photographs, 11 Oct. 2009
By 
D. Hilton - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nineteenth Century Fashion in Detail (Paperback)
This book is a feast for the eyes. As the title indicates it focuses on details of design, fabric, or construction, rather than whole ensembles, but it is useful for those interested in historical and modern dressmaking, wanting to expand their repertoire of ideas. Beautiful to look at, and inspiring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars superb, 26 Dec. 2005
By 
Tracey Briggs (Rotherham, South Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a sumptuous book with beautiful details concerning 19th century fashion.The skills of fromer dressmakers are consierable. the photography is superb. perhaps more photos of the drees in full would have made it a 5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing book, 11 Jan. 2011
This review is from: Nineteenth Century Fashion in Detail (Paperback)
This book is full of loads of useful images and pictures of Victorian garments, there are technical flats accompanying the pictures with all seam and stitch detailing. I'm a fashion student and I found this book really helpful for my dissertation and my final major project, I would definitely recommend it to anyone who is interested in Victorian fashion or any fashion students who are interested in the construction of 19th century garments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Primark it aint, 24 Nov. 2009
By 
C. Elmore (Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nineteenth Century Fashion in Detail (Paperback)
Even if you have no interest in fashion, design or tailoring, buy this book for the photography and the beauty of the subject. I justified buying it as I am researching mid nineteenth century fashion and fabrics and the detail, although not extensive, has pointed me in the right direction. However even if it had been of no academic use, it would have been worth it just to feast my eyes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazingly informative and interesting book with gorgeous photography., 11 Sept. 2011
This review is from: Nineteenth Century Fashion in Detail (Paperback)
I am so pleased with this book. The text about each item is interesting and gives a real insight into the 19th century fashion conscious man and woman. I only wish this much information had been given on the V&As 17th & 18 century book as these centuries are my true interest. You will not be disappointed with this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must have publication for anyone who loves historical fashion, 17 Dec. 2014
By 
D. J. Dillon (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nineteenth Century Fashion in Detail (Paperback)
Open the pages of this book and be amazed at the dress designer’s art, and the superfine work of the seamstress at the height of her powers. Exquisitely detailed line drawings and high definition photographs in saturated colours are superbly supported by an informative and beautifully typeset text. Some reviewers have expressed disappointment that not all of the items have a full length photograph and focus is given instead to the detail; it is the detail however that makes this an outstanding book. Moreover, there are six full-page and nine quarter-page shots of complete garments to drool over if that is what your desire, and indeed this is no exaggeration, for that was my reaction! A must have publication for anyone who loves historical fashion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nineteenth Century Fashion in Detail
Nineteenth Century Fashion in Detail by Lucy Johnston (Paperback - 19 Jan. 2009)
£22.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews