Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


46 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fashion students and costume makers buy this!!!
If you are into 17th and 18th century costume then this is the book for you. It shows you in very good detail how cuffs, collars, pockets, button stands, seam detail, pin tucks etc of this period were done at the time. The photos are all excellent quality close ups and there are full garnment flats for each one as well. I am a degree fashion student and love to design...
Published on 18 Dec 2005 by Naomi Smith

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Fab pictures but a little frustrating.
Whilst this book has amazing close up pictures unlike many other books, I found it frustrating that a whole picture of the costume wasn't also shown, especially as there was plenty of white page left. The line drawings are nice but the descriptions are rather bland when compared to the V&A 19th Century book. However, still a book definitely worth having in your collection.
Published on 11 Sep 2011 by CinnamonPhoenix


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

46 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fashion students and costume makers buy this!!!, 18 Dec 2005
By 
Naomi Smith (Middlesbrough, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If you are into 17th and 18th century costume then this is the book for you. It shows you in very good detail how cuffs, collars, pockets, button stands, seam detail, pin tucks etc of this period were done at the time. The photos are all excellent quality close ups and there are full garnment flats for each one as well. I am a degree fashion student and love to design from this period. Now I have a much better understanding of how to make my designs into actual garnments. I think its a great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


61 of 63 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars very good but could have done with overall view of costumes, 17 Dec 2000
By A Customer
219 pages of colour pictures spanning 17th and 18th centuries, sections include seams and stitching techniques,collars and cuffs, quilting, stomachers, gloves and shoes. The notation is precise and useful. I think that costume makers will find it useful for construction, however it would have been five stars if an overall photograph of the costume was included.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 17th Century Fashion on Show, 11 Oct 2009
By 
C. Berry-Davies "eager costumier" (Weston-super-Mare, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 17th & 18th Century Fashion Detail (Fashion in Detail) (Paperback)
Being a re-enactor finding source material is quite hard. Seventeenth and eighteenth Century Fashion in Detail is a superb resource for any costume maker to have. The photographs are very clear and colourful and the book has been an inspiration to us as we research our costumes, I unreservedly recommend it to fellow re-enactors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 29 Mar 2011
By 
J. L. Dyke "revenant" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 17th & 18th Century Fashion Detail (Fashion in Detail) (Paperback)
For those with an eye for detail and an historic bent, this stunning book allows you to get closer to 17th and 18th century clothing than you would ever be allowed in a museum. The stunning plates show the precision of the embroiderers and the crispness of the makers tiny stitches. I Recommend this book to costume designers, fashion designers, Reenactors or anyone with a fascination for this wonderful period and its complex fashion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting, 6 Feb 2010
By 
SOFIA B. Kr (Vila Nova de Gaia, Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 17th & 18th Century Fashion Detail (Fashion in Detail) (Paperback)
This is a very interesting book, specially for those people who are in the area, also great for students. The photos are impressive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love this book, 4 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 17th & 18th Century Fashion Detail (Fashion in Detail) (Paperback)
Just loved this book. It has all I was looking for from point of fashion. All dresses are in color and has explained. Some got close-ups, where I could see all the details. Very good book if you are looking for fashion in pictures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A textile-lover's dream, 4 Jun 2013
By 
C. Cole (Leigh-on-Sea, Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 17th & 18th Century Fashion Detail (Fashion in Detail) (Paperback)
Sumptuous close-up photography and detailed sketches of this exciting era of costume. One can only marvel at the skill and time-consuming effort of the original embroiderers and dressmakers. The fabrics and style details will inspire modern designers afresh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent reference book, 4 Jan 2013
By 
Nicola Reeve "Nic" (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 17th & 18th Century Fashion Detail (Fashion in Detail) (Paperback)
This book has been a constant reference during my costume course. The photographs are of the close up details which would normally be overlooked, even on a museum visit, not the complete garments. However each photograph is accompanied by a working drawing (black and white line drawing) showing both front and back views of all style lines and trim positions, which is especially useful for me and something you do not normally get in other books. If you have any interest in historical fashions this book is a must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, 19 Nov 2011
By 
This review is from: 17th & 18th Century Fashion Detail (Fashion in Detail) (Paperback)
Only V&A can manage such an amazing quality and detail in photography. I just wish I could touch it all! Amazing book, great inspiration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Fab pictures but a little frustrating., 11 Sep 2011
This review is from: 17th & 18th Century Fashion Detail (Fashion in Detail) (Paperback)
Whilst this book has amazing close up pictures unlike many other books, I found it frustrating that a whole picture of the costume wasn't also shown, especially as there was plenty of white page left. The line drawings are nice but the descriptions are rather bland when compared to the V&A 19th Century book. However, still a book definitely worth having in your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

17th & 18th Century Fashion Detail (Fashion in Detail)
17th & 18th Century Fashion Detail (Fashion in Detail) by North S. (Paperback - 9 Mar 2009)
17.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews