Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars10
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
0
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£9.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 June 2009
A book that appeals on two levels. Most of the book is timeless good advice on a gentleman's dress, but the book also has the period charm of a book written in the early sixties. Hardy Amies predicts where men's style will go over the forthcoming years, often with great acuity. He may not have predicted how short-lived some changes in fashion were to be but he frequently sees where the late 60's and early 70's were headed.

Enjoyably opinionated but always knowledgeable. One of the classics tomes on men's style.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2015
I bought this book originally in the 1960s. This hardback reprint is an excellent piece of work, it really feels like an expensive book. This is the second copy of this reprint I have bought. I gave one away to a friend.
For anyone with half an interest in men's clothing and fashion the book is an invaluable piece of history. Hardy Amies writes with a style of his own.
The predicit9ons that he got wrong are as interesting and humourous as the ones he got right .
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2015
I bought this for a friend who is a style guru, he likes it and it is an accurate reference for men who want to dress properly. It is a classic guidebook. Boys should be made to read this at school! Track suits, trainers jeans hanging off backsides is not classic or stylish or attractive unless youre a girl who also dresses like a tramp.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2007
Forget pretenders like Dylan Jones et al, Hardy Amies was the original modfather and coolest bloke ever. This book contains timeless advice for the modern gent and is a must have for any man who thinks he has style, or who needs some.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2010
I am so pleased this gem has been re-publish by the V&A. I had an original copy back in the 60's and this has a more appropriate cover. I refer to this book often, it is always on my coffee table and I have also given copies as gifts and they have been much appreciated. A good idea for those who are challenged by what to buy for birthday's, Chistmas and Fathers day.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2008
This is a fantastic little book which though written quite some time ago contains timeless advice on mens' style and the components of a man's wardrobe. Excellent.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2015
bought this for my husband, he seems to like it well enough
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2011
This is a perfect gift for a person interested in men fashion. Parts of the book as well as the language are a bit archaic but this adds a specific charm to it.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2013
A little out of date but a fascinating insight in to the world of men's fashion. Some really funny stories too such as 'American Fashion'.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2013
I bought this book for professional purposes. Every time I looked up for a word it wasn't there. I don't think it is useful.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)