Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Accurate reprint of an interesting document, 21 Feb 2009
By 
T. Young (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Civil Defence Handbook no.10: Advising the Householder on Protection Against Nuclear Attack (History) (Hardcover)
This is a faithful reprint of the original 1963 document, itself a significant precursor to later booklets such as Protect and Survive. The cover of this edition is a modern re-invention, but the original (rather more plain) cover is reproduced inside.

The only thing I would say is that you can, if you watch out for it, still get the original booklet on auction websites for about the same price as the RRP of this reprint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thanks to this booklet, I survived a nuclear war., 25 Mar 2010
By 
J. Mills "Nuke Trooper" (Plymouth) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Civil Defence Handbook no.10: Advising the Householder on Protection Against Nuclear Attack (History) (Hardcover)
More colourful than Protect and Survive and a little more in depth. Worth getting if you are a fan of the cold war. Contains handy hints on how to bomb proof your home which although optimistic is wholly impractical unless you like living in a bunker and toileting in a bucket. Produced to show that the powers that be were doing something to prepare for the unpreparable it is a sobering reminder of how close we came to the brink. One for the collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting, 11 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Civil Defence Handbook no.10: Advising the Householder on Protection Against Nuclear Attack (History) (Hardcover)
Having grown up in the shadow of the cold war and nuclear destruction I found this a very interesting read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A history lesson, 25 Jan 2014
By 
G. J. Lancaster "Gerry L" (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Civil Defence Handbook no.10: Advising the Householder on Protection Against Nuclear Attack (History) (Hardcover)
it reminded me of what is like to live under a M.A.D. times.
perhaps it might be needed again, if certain terror groups get hold
of a nuclear weapon.I really hope not
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a must-have for all cold war / civil defense enthusiasts, 23 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Civil Defence Handbook no.10: Advising the Householder on Protection Against Nuclear Attack (History) (Hardcover)
My boyfriend absolutely loves this type of thing and he hasnt put it down since i got it.

Excellent value.
Quality product.

Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good book to read., 3 Feb 2009
By 
Mrs. Y. Stanworth (north wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Civil Defence Handbook no.10: Advising the Householder on Protection Against Nuclear Attack (History) (Hardcover)
Anybody interested in The cold war experience, this book is a "Must to buy". Excellant reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, but short, 17 Feb 2010
By 
Jack Napier (Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Civil Defence Handbook no.10: Advising the Householder on Protection Against Nuclear Attack (History) (Hardcover)
I wouldn't really class this as a "handbook," it is more of a pamphlet. It is true to the original, a historical and nostalgic print. But if you are expecting much and possibly useful information inside, then you will be dissapointed. It is very basic and brief. It only touches on the surface of most things regarding a nuclear attack. It will take you probably no less than 5 minutes to read the full handbook.

I guess for the average citizen who is clueless about a nuclear attack, they will learn a few basic points and strategies against an attack. But for anyone serious, or someone who really wants to survive an attack, then you'd need a more in-depth handbook.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Civil defence UK Handbook, 6 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Civil Defence Handbook no.10: Advising the Householder on Protection Against Nuclear Attack (History) (Hardcover)
The book was very informative & for the ideas listed at the time of publication - 1950's, that the government had no idea of the real outcome after nuclear attack-
life would certainly be different- imagine everything that isn't vaporized is radioactive, food can only last for a certain time.

The bombs developed since 1945, are more destructive & mankind had no real idea of the dangers they developed, fortunately in modern times we are now aware of these dangers, but books like this still remind us of how blind people were to something that could've created an outcome not worth imagining yet alone survive.

But have we really learned ??
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Civil Defence Handbook no.10: Advising the Householder on Protection Against Nuclear Attack (History)
4.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews