Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

77 of 78 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars worth it!!, 8 Jun 2005
By 
Mayumiwinn (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Vivienne Westwood (Hardcover)
If like me, you are fascinated by Vivienne westwood's achievements in fashion then you wont be disappointed. This book was released to accompany the V&A exhibition last year, which was fantastic. I orginially intended to buy this book at the exhibition as a souvenir of the wonderful show, however i lacked the money at the time and was over the moon when i found it on amazon.
The book itself, is better than any of the attempts at writing a decent biography of her career. This is because of the huge contribution westwood made towards the book, which includes pictures from her own collection- and most notably the foreward at the beginning from the designer herself. She worked closely with clare wilcox, who organised the V&A exhibition so she knows her stuff!
And so it begins with the foreward, then a concise history of her career. From her childhood where she made her own clothes, to her punk days with mclaren and onto the present day.
The vast majority of the book is made up of pictures/photos of her much of her collections up to the present day.
It is such an amazing book, i like to flick through it every now and then to draw some inspiration from this truly amazing designer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sea, Sun and Piracy, 19 Sep 2006
By 
Mr. S. Swift "Caligula77" (Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Vivienne Westwood (VA) (Paperback)
This is a gorgeous,sumptuous book. It works precisely because it let's Vivienne's clothes speak for themselves. The full page glossy pictures of the most influential designer of the 20th Century almost make you salivate. I used to shop at World's End and wore the original Pirate range, but even then I'd still forgotten just how stunning it was. If you are interested in fashion, music, history, art, literature, anarchy and chaos, then this is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brillant!, 8 Jun 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vivienne Westwood (VA) (Paperback)
I purchased this book for my daughters GCSE Art, Design and Textiles course. Good biography and fantastic pictures of Vivenne Westwoods creations over the years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book, 16 Jan 2011
This review is from: Vivienne Westwood (VA) (Paperback)
Bought this book as a christmas gift for my 16 year old daughter and she simply loves it. Appart from having wonderful colour pictures the history and in general the reading is excellent - worth every single penny and of course buying fromAmazon your going to get the best price too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent gift for Viv fans everywhere, 20 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vivienne Westwood (VA) (Paperback)
I bought this for my daughter who loves everything about Vivienne Westwood. A great book, with some fabulous pictures and of a high quality. Am pleased with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for fashionistas, 18 Jan 2010
By 
Mrs. E. Price "a very peculiar person" (united kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Vivienne Westwood (VA) (Paperback)
an in-depth guide to one of our fashion icons, this book accompanied the V & A exhibition of Westwood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Was sorry I hadn't bought this several years ago at the London exhibition, 22 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vivienne Westwood (VA) (Paperback)
Bonkers as always, at least Vivienne's work is different and pushes the envelope. Fun and a great coffee table book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars more then worth the Buy, 28 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vivienne Westwood (VA) (Paperback)
I understand wearing Westwood clothing won't make the statement that it did 15years plus ago when the few creative people admired the power of the look, image and the way it was about thinking outside the box. But Westwood did create some outstanding pieces. The cut & Shape will always stand out for me and i will always think to myself these are pieces to admire and years later look back at something that has had me loving the subject of fashion for more then just clothing but a Art, it way couture without being couture. I'd say this book has many of those pieces, so buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book for all Vivienne Westwood fans, 24 Nov 2012
This review is from: Vivienne Westwood (VA) (Paperback)
An excellent book containing amazing pictures throughout Vivienne Westwood's contribution to fashion. The perfect book for all Vivienne Westwood fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great book about viviennne westwood, 24 Nov 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vivienne Westwood (VA) (Paperback)
Detailed description of her work and very detailed photographs of exhibitions etc. A great read for a Vivienne Westwood fan and anyone interested in fashion or music.

A must have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Vivienne Westwood (VA)
Vivienne Westwood (VA) by Claire Wilcox (Paperback - 26 Sep 2005)
13.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews